Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon Challenges, TBR & Progress

Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon Graphic1

Since I got back from my vacation, I realized just how quickly August is approaching. That also means for me, my Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon will be in full swing in just about 5 days! Ah! As you can probably tell from this post title, I’m announcing (a little later than I was planning to) the challenges that some of you lovely people helped me come up with in the Goodreads Group that I’ve created for the Read-A-Thon. Feel free to join it, I’ll be adding discussions for the challenges, etc. in the near future! I’ll also be including my TBR that I hope to read during those two weeks, and I plan to make this my “master post” of sorts for my daily progress. Those of you that have joined: feel free to do something similar to track your progress and see how you do on challenges! If you don’t feel like it, it doesn’t make a difference to me, though! I want this to be a really laid back and fun read-a-thon! 😉

Those of you that have no idea what I’m talking about: here is my post in which I announced the Read-A-Thon, give the rules, sign-up info, etc.


Challenges

With a little help from my blog friends I’ve got a few challenges that you can participate in if you want to! A little incentive to pick up something that’s been sitting around that you haven’t thought about lately.

  • Read a book set in the past.
  • Read a classic.
  • Read a book written before 2010.
  • Read at least 100 pages a day.
  • And of course…the books must be neglected by you! One that’s been sitting unread for quite a while!

My TBR

  • Read a book set in the past: The Diviners by Libba Bray
  • Read a classic: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen // The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck (School summer reading book, but if I can make it count, I’ll do it!)
  • Read a book written before 2010: The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • Others:
    • Fear by Michael Grant
    • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
    • Pandemonium Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Progress

Check back to this post to keep track of my progress throughout the Read-A-Thon! Link me to your progress posts in the comments so I can see how you’re doing, too!

On Twitter use the hashtag #DustingofftheShelf so we can all chat and keep each other motivated!

August 1st:
Pages read: 58
Books completed: None
I started The Maze Runner by James Dashner today, but didn’t have much time to read, as you could probably tell from my page read count. What I did read though I am really enjoying so far!

August 2nd:
Pages read: 234
Books completed: None

August 3rd:
Pages read: 14
Books completed: None
😥

August 4th:
Pages read: 68
Books completed: The Maze Runner by James Dashner

August 5th:
Pages read: 0
Books completed: None
:”(

August 6th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 7th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 8th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 9th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 10th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 11th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 12th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 13th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 14th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

August 15th:
Pages read:
Books completed:

xo, emily

28 thoughts on “Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon Challenges, TBR & Progress

  1. Best of luck Emily and thanks for the hashtag. I will try to remember to use it when I tackle my own #dustingofftheshelf reads. I’ll be diving into a classic, 1984. with my son in August after I finish my current classic, Their Eyes Were Watching God, which is so good but hard to read.

  2. I have to do this! Great idea and I’m definitely getting involved! I will have to think of a good TBR soon!

    I am loving some of the selections on your list, and was considering doing similar things!

    Pride and Prejudice is really good! I need to read the Delirium series, and The Maze Runner … my brother keeps bugging me to do so.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!