Top Ten Books If You Like Reign

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish!

This will be my first ever Top Ten Tuesday post! Yay! This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books If You Like [X]

I chose my latest guilty pleasure TV obsession – Reign on The CW!

1. Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber

A wonderful and creepy historical book with aspects of paranormal!

2. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale

Although it’s a middle grade book and it lacks the steamy romance in the TV show, this reminded me of the early episodes.

3. The Sweetest Spell by Suzanne Selfors

A historical fantasy I read a while ago, but I think that those that watch the TV would enjoy this one.

4. The Selection by Kiera Cass

Although this takes place in the future, it has the same royal drama that Reign is full of!

5. Wither by Lauren DeStefano

A dark dystopian/post-apocalyptic book with a really strong main character.

6. Chantress by Amy Butler Greenfield

Magic! And Alchemy in a historical setting! A much lighter choice.

7. The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

Another dark and creepy historical book. Very gothic!

8. Entwined by Heather Dixon

A retelling of The 12 Dancing Princesses with a darker paranormal spin.

9. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Historical fantasy with tons of royalty, and characters were named after and very loosely based off of real historical figures!

10. The Falconer by Elizabeth May

A historical/paranormal book with yet another strong and kick but female lead!

I chose all of these books with darker, historical, and royal story lines in mind. All of the books have romance in them, too, for all of you that watch Reign just for the steamy kissing scenes! πŸ˜‰

Hope you liked my choices! Do you watch Reign? How did I do? Which books would you have chosen? Let me know in the comments!

xo,

Emily

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books If You Like Reign

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you!! So many recs!! I am definitely going to be looking into these and seeing which ones really catch my eye. The only one I have read is The Selection (which I loved). I actually have a few of these sitting on my shevles at home so I may start with them. Thanks again! So happy to have found another Reign lover!!

  2. I love this post! I watch reign religiously and studied early English history relating to the Tudors for my degree. These books sound really interesting and I’ll have to check them out!

  3. I too am obsessed with Reign! I read Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber that you suggested. It was what I had hoped for and more! Thank you so much for sharing!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

