Update: I’m back from vacation!

Oh how I’ve missed typing blog posts, reading other blogs, and chatting with you guys! I had a lovely time on vacation, but taking that week off made me realize just how much blogging has become a part of my life and how much I love it. I’m so happy to be back and I’m ready to pick up with the blog right where I left off.


The Vacation

While away, I read less than I was hoping to (only about two and half books in total), but I did get to spend a lot of time with my friends from another country that I only see once a year, which was amazing. I started Frozen by Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston but I just wasn’t feeling it so I put it down about halfway through. I visited the local indie store which I’ve come to know and love, and bought (after a HUGE recommendation from my friend), Stolen by Lucy Christopher and DEVOURED it. When I say I devoured it I mean I stayed up until 12 at night finishing it. I plan to post my review of it Monday and as soon as I write this post I plan to dive right in to writing my review. I have lots of love for that book, but you’ll find out why on Monday. 😉 Then, I still wasn’t in the mood for Frozen…I wanted something with a little more romance. SO, I read The One by Kiera Cass. EEEE! I really enjoyed the conclusion to the series and I cannot wait to review it for you guys! I had to hold in my giggles while reading. That’s all I’ll say at the moment.

I was trying to upload/embed pictures I took from Instagram while away, but WordPress is acting up… SO, you can visit my Instagram to see a few pics I took while away!


The Books

Although I only bought one book while away, I stumbled upon a few review copies that I just couldn’t resist…

  TheLegacyEbook

  • The Empress Chronicles by Suzy Vitello (Netgalley)
  • Zac & Mia by A. J. Betts (Netgalley)
  • The Legacy by Necole Ryse (blog tour)

In other news…

  1. WordPress – I was alerted by the wonderful Patty @ Imaginative Minds that WordPress is shutting down blogs that frequently post promotional posts such as guest posts, blog tours, book blasts, etc. I was really nervous although I’d only had 2 posts that fell into that category. I’ve since renamed them and/or put them on private, but I’m still nervous about what WordPress plans to do. As soon as I got home I exported all my blog’s content and looked a little more at what qualifies to be taken down. This link, if you scroll to the bottom, will show you the kinds of blogs that are subject to be taken down if WordPress is notified about your content. Here’s what is mentioned specifically about book blogs:

    Book tour blogs: Blogs that consist of scraped, pre-written content, as opposed to original book reviews, for the purpose of promoting books and driving traffic to other promotional and giveaway sites.

    I’m still not quite sure what my next move is. I’ve set up a Weebly account and snagged the domain of the same name here but .weebly.com instead. I’ve been trying things out there, and while I like it, I love WordPress, and I can’t see myself leaving anytime soon.

  2. Go “Behind the Blogger”! – The lovely Caroline is spotlighting Books & Cleverness and I on her blog, The Attic Reviews today! I’d like to give a HUGE thank you to her for giving me the opportunity to be featured on her blog! Go and check out her blog, too. You’ll love it! 😉
  3. Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Geek is “Sharing the Bloggy Love!” – She’s started writing these wonderful posts in which she features other blogs and bloggers she has come to love reading and telling her readers a little bit about them! I was featured, but I also discovered so many other awesome blogs thanks to her post! I love what you’re doing Rachel! ❤ Yvo @ It’s All About Books is doing something similar, too! Make sure to check out both of their posts and continue to spread the love!
  4. Blog Awards?! Oh my! – Yvo of It’s All About Books and Victoria of Coffee. Write. Repeat. both nominated me for the Liebster Award! I couldn’t be more grateful and I thank you both SOOOO much! ❤ Unfortunately, as I’ve been away I’m just trying to catch up on normal blog things, so I don’t think I’ll get to writing a post. But that doesn’t mean I’m at all ungrateful. I wish I could reach out and give you both a hug! 🙂
  5. “Renewing Excitement” – Alena @ AlenasLife wrote a wonderful post about how she was inspired by fellow bloggers to pick up some books that have been just sitting around, unread, for too long. I’m so happy that I’m one of those bloggers that inspired you to do so, Alena! I hope you find some gems in the forgotten depth of your bookshelf! 😉

How have YOU been?

I’ve felt so out of touch while I was away, and I want to know what’s been going on with you! I’d absolutely LOVE it if you linked me some of your favorite posts that either you wrote, or read from another blogger, that I’ve missed while  I took the week “off.”

I missed you all so much more than you could know and I am SO HAPPY to be back and blogging and reading my butt off! 😀

See you VERY soon!

xo, emily

19 thoughts on “Update: I’m back from vacation!

  1. WELCOME BACK EMILYYYYY. I missed your feed on my dashboard, truth be told. You also got Zac & Mia on Netgalley?! I was jumping for joy when I got the email. And this is the first time I’ve heard of WordPress shutting down blogs? Yikes, I hope I get spared, but I don’t really have that much promotional posts anyway. WELCOME BACK AGAIN!! 😀

  2. Welcome back Emily! I’m glad you had a good time. You were missed! I’m still on vacation! (Writing on my phone) Sounds like some good books, can’t wait for your review. I’ve only read 1 1/2 books while I’ve been away, so good job. That’s scary abot wordpresss, maybe I’ll have to move to blogspot. I hate change! (I also hate autocorrect, stupid phone!) Glad you’re back!

    1. I hope you’re having a good time on your vacation too! And yes, but I’ve heard that Blogger does the same kind of thing, so I’m not sure if anything is really safe. Oh well, the best we can do is hope I guess. And thank you!!! 🙂

  3. Welcome back! I’m glad to hear you had a great time. 😀 I will be having my own mini-vacation too starting tomorrow… Stolen sounds really good by the way, I will be adding it to my TBR list and I will be looking out for your review.
    Thank you for your kind words! You’re very much welcome, you absolutely deserve the Liebster award! 😀

      1. Thanks, I’m sure I will! 😀 And I will be checking your review when I come back, I definitely sounds like a book I would enjoy too. 🙂

  4. Thanks for mentioning Behind the Blogger! And WordPress is shutting down blogs?! That’s scary. I went through the same fear when I heard about Google shutting down Blogspot blogs. That’s what ultimately lead to me self hosting. Good thing you’re making a back-up site! Although I’m sure you’ll be fine. 🙂

    1. Of course! And yes, it is. I would love to self host but as I’m a student and don’t have a job, I know it can be expensive. I’m hoping I can hold out as long as possible, but the chance of the blog getting shut down is definitely frightening.

  5. Glad you like it! It’s definitely becoming a regular feature, and thanks for highlighting the WordPress issue with blog tours. I wonder if it is for blogs that are specifically ALL blog tours, and not for ones that incorporate them along with original content? I also wonder would it count if additional content is added to the tour post. I’ve started doing that – adding a section on why I found the book interesting enough to want to take part in the tour. Tours, blitz’s etc. can be an integral aspect of blogging, and effective when not overused, so I’d like to think unless it’s a spammy blog full of tours and nothing else that it wouldn’t count. Maybe someone could ask WordPress for clarification and then post their response?

    R x

    1. I’m beginning to think so, because it says no unoriginal content. I think they mean more promo type posts like blitzes, etc. When I do sign up for blog tours I always try to get a review post, or else I opt out of the tour. I don’t particularly like guest posts or pre-written posts anyway since I like my blog to be original content from my brain. I think if you add additional content you should be fine. I don’t do blog tours often, though so I don’t think I have much to worry about either. Better safe than sorry though! Asking WordPress is a good idea. I’ll take to the forums and ask sometime soon.

  6. Sounds like we were both on vacation at the same time, but I haven’t quite gotten back in the writing groove yet. Many reviews to write, plus Days 11-20 of #100HappyDays. I’m so glad you liked the post. I’m excited for the new monthly challenge.

    1. I was really surprised out of blogging I was when I tried to write a review or a post! It definitely takes some time to get back into it. And I’m so happy that you’re doing that every month! I may have to try and join you in that venture! 🙂

  7. I hadn’t heard about WP but I switched away from Blogger because of similar issues. I went with a self hosted WP blot and absolutely love that I own my site and I can’t post whatever the heck I want to, lol. I got a year of hosting for under $100 and I paid for a medium size hosting package. If you went with a lower package it’s only like $4 a month-might be something to look into 🙂 Besides that the only other cost of my self-hosted blog has been $35 for a custom theme, but that’s not necessary.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

