Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas


25639296The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Published April 19, 2016, by Delacorte Press.

YA > Mystery, Thriller

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

Continue reading “Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas”

Review: Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams


32441709Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams

To be published June 20, 2017, by Crown Books for Young Readers.

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

Continue reading “Review: Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams”

Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

IMG_0343.jpg


31952703Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Published June 6, 2017, by Knopf Books for Young Readers.

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Continue reading “Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley”

Reviews: A Hilarious Memoir, a Heartbreaking Historical Fiction, a Surprising Murder Mystery, and an Addictive Assassin Fantasy!

As promised, here I am with some reviews of some recently (and not-so-recently) read titles! I haven’t written a review in such a long time, so let’s hope I remember how! Also, instead of including all of the book info in the post, I’m going to link to Goodreads for this one, don’t hate me.


29102966MY MAD FAT DIARY: A MEMOIR (Rae Earl, #1) by Rae Earl

Add it on Goodreads!

Special thanks to St. Martin’s for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

Reading a whole lot like fiction, this memoir is a book that I’m so glad I took a chance on. Rae’s writing on her teen life is so relatable, fun, and utterly hilarious. Any fan of YA contemporary will immediately fall in love with Rae and her story, so don’t let the fact that it’s a memoir scare you away! I really can’t picture anyone not enjoying this book.

5 hearts


25614492SALT TO THE SEA by Ruta Sepetys

Add it on Goodreads!

Wow, what an incredible story. This was my first time reading Ruta Sepetys, and I was blown away. Her storytelling is beautiful and heartbreaking. She took me on a journey of survival, love, loss and hardship following a group of individuals whose stories history often neglects to tell.

I’m an avid reader of historical fiction , particularly about the second World War, and this book did not disappoint. I can’t wait to read the companion, Between Shades of Gray.

5 hearts


29995905CITY OF SAINTS AND THIEVES by Natalie C. Anderson

Add it on Goodreads!

Special thanks to Penguin Random House for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

I went into this looking for an intense mystery or thriller, but what I got was so much more. Tina is the definition of a badass female heroine. She’s extremely stubborn, fierce, and can’t be controlled. But among these somewhat common elements of YA are unique and interesting focuses on Africa’s poverty, refugees, and warfare that I’d never read about before.

5 hearts


30011014POISON’S KISS ( Poison’s Kiss, #1) by Breeana Shields

Add it on Goodreads!

Special thanks to Penguin Random House for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

I really enjoyed this book and it was a super quick read! The concept of a kiss that kills is nothing new, but the addition of the Indian folklore was an element that kept the book from being more of the same. It kept my interest but I still had some problems with the ease of resolution to some major events. The ending felt more like an epilogue than a final chapter, but I’m still very excited to see what the second installment brings!

3.5 hearts


As I mentioned above, it’s been a while since I’ve written reviews, so these were rough. But I hope that you enjoyed it, and will check out some of these lovely titles!

xo

Three Things I Loved About TELL ME THREE THINGS by Julie Buxbaum

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: April 5th, 2016
Series: N/A
Pages: 336
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher via First In Line
Genre(s): Contemporary, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Julie Buxbaum mixes comedy and tragedy, love and loss, pain and elation, in her debut YA novel filled with characters who will come to feel like friends.

my rambles

Special thanks to First In Line for providing me with an advance copy of the book for review!


Three Things I Loved About
TELL ME THREE THINGS

1. Jessie’s friendships with Dri, Agnes, and most of all, Scarlett.

Jessie has lots of relationships in this book. There’s family, friends, guys, mean girls, a step-brother… the list goes on and on. But one of my favorite parts about the story was Jessie’s relationship with her best friend pre-move, Scarlett. Their friendship was raw, and definitely not without its flaws, but I loved how it was given a lot of discussion, and made important. I also really enjoyed her friends at the new school, Dri and Agnes. It was clear that they were good friends to Jessie, and their bonds would be lasting. The story also touched on a bit of jealousy over new relationships that formed for both Jessie and Scarlett after they were separated. Everything about how these friendships were portrayed seemed real and full of emotion. Normally I don’t cry over friendships, but Jessie and Scarlett’s was one that I couldn’t help it.

2. The continuous conversation between Jessie and SN (and how it was adorable, yet real).

The mysterious SN was a character that I loved. He and Jessie communicated almost all the time, thanks to instant messaging. Originally he intrigued me because of the mystery, but as the story progressed he became more than just words on a computer screen. Their conversations were so raw and full of emotion, you couldn’t help but root for Jessie to finally find out his identity so they could be together! She poured out all of her feelings to him, and took a leap of faith that he was genuine.

3. Trying to figure out who SN was!

Ah, of course solving the mystery had to make my list. As I mentioned in #1, Jessie makes lots of new relationships, some of which are with guys. There is tons of build up at the end when she’s hoping SN is one person, but worried it may be another. I was biting my nails, hoping that SN would be the same guy that she was falling for in real life. I guess you’ll just have to read it and see for yourself…


Really, I could share more than just three things that I loved about this book, because I have a lot! But in all seriousness, Tell Me Three Things gave me all the feels. I was an emotional mess while I was reading this (but what else is new with me), which I wasn’t expecting to be. But in all honesty, if you enjoy true to life contemporaries with strong friendships and an emotional story, Tell Me Three Things is your book!

9xo