Top Ten YA Fantasy Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.


Top Ten YA Fantasy Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

I am a self-proclaimed fantasy addict, but these books that I have yet to read put me to shame!

    

1. Graceling by Kristin Cashore | 2. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien | 3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor | 4. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan | 5. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I’ve had Graceling on my shelf FOREVER which makes it even more shameful that I haven’t read it. The Hobbit, I found to be really boring when I started it the first time, but maybe I’ll give it a go sometime in the future. DoSaB looks amazing, but I’ve heard the writing is a bit strange, so I know I have to be in the right mood. The Percy Jackson series I’ve just never really had an interest in, to be honest. And Throne of Glass I mentioned in my last WiR post that I’ll be reading next!!!

     

6. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson | 7. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch | 8. Eon by Alison Goodman | 9. Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken | 10. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Mistborn and all things Brandon Sanderson has just come to my attention late last year. Snow Like Ashes got rave reviews when it first came out and it looks like something I’d LOVE. Eon has been on my TBR for a while but its size is a little intimidating. It’s a duology, though, which we don’t see all the time in the fantasy genre. I bought Brightly Woven a couple of years ago when I got to meet Alexandra Bracken, and I loved The Darkest Minds so much I’m excited to see how she does fantasy! Lastly, there’s Falling Kingdoms which I’ve also heard pretty good things about, but that cover! So BA!

Those are some fantasy books I can’t believe I haven’t read yet! What about you?

xo

48 thoughts on “Top Ten YA Fantasy Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

  1. I hope you get to some of these quite soon, there are some incredible YA fantasy novels here! I think The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) is my favorite out of all of the ones I’ve read but I loved Eon, Throne of Glass and Graceling as well. The Hobbit and The Lightning Thief could compete with The Final Empire for the spot!

    All the other ones are on my to-read list as well 🙂

  2. Both Throne of Glass and Daughter of Smoke & Bone are SO GOOD. I loved the Laini Taylor’s writing! Mistborn is at the very top of my to-read list and I’ve heard only the best things about Falling Kingdoms so I really want to get started with that series as well.. There’s just not enough time, as always.

  3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is on my list too. I hope you get to read Throne of Glass and The Lightning Thief soon. They are both great – though I’d say Percy Jackson is more middle grade than YA. I also love The Hobbit!! I hope to read Snow Like Ashes sometime this year.
    My TTT!

      1. I kinda stopped being able to take it seriously when a character with a name like a My Little Pony showed up lol

  4. The Hobbit! I adore that book so much 🙂 And I really should stop talking about Throne of Glass because I’m going to scare people off but THAT BOOK.

    I’m reading Falling Kingdoms this week; I’m really hoping I fall in love because I adore the covers!

  5. I found Falling Kingdoms (the first in the series) to be a bit slow, but the second and third totally make up for the slow beginning and now I’m dying for the fourth book to come out. They’re definitely worth reading.

  6. Eon and Falling Kingdoms are on my list as well! Graveling and Lightning Thief are both really great reads! Throne of Glass, however, is on a whole other level of amazing haha. Really great list!

      1. How exciting! I’m so glad you liked it! Are you going to put up a review of it? I’d love to hear your thoughts on the book. The books in the series only get better and better (even the novellas are fantastic!)

  7. Emily, you need to stop, drop, and roll right over to Graceling right now! It’s such an underappreciated book! Although I’m in the same boat as you with Throne of Glass – own it, never have time to read it.

  8. OMG I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU HAVEN’T READ PERCY JACKSON EITHER. YOU NEED TO GO FIX THAT, GIIIIRL. AND THEN YOU’LL KNOW THE BEAUTY THAT IS PERCABETH.

  9. Oh my gosh— you haven’t LIVED until you’ve read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series! It is absolutely amazing. Read it!!! 🙂 It’s a decision you won’t regret.

  10. I have just started reading YA novels as I have started teaching again. I find reading what the children are reading is a great way to have realistic conversations with them and they recommend some great books from what I’ve already read. I have read very few on your list so thanks for now suggestions to add to my ever growing TBR pile.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!