Review AKA Fangirling: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Release Date: May 5th, 2015
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Genre(s): Fairy Tale Retelling, Fantasy, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

my rambles

WHY DIDN’T I READ THIS BOOK SOONER, PEOPLE?!? A Court of Thorns and Roses totally lived up to my expectations and the hype surrounding it. After reading and loving Sarah’s first two Throne of Glass books (Throne of Glass & Crown of Midnight), I was SO ready for more by her. I do have Heir of Fire sitting on my shelf, but something about ACOTAR was calling to me. Plus, pretty much everyone I trust when it comes to reviewing said I’d love it.

Little did I know that I wouldn’t be able to focus on pretty much ANYTHING else while I was in the middle of it. For a fairly large book (okay, large for the average reader), I was able to finish it in about a day. I basically became a speed-reader, because I just COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!

First of all, like Celaena, Feyre is SUCH AN AWESOME MC. Super badass. From the very first page we get to see her hunting and being awesome. She’s confident with herself. I also liked how prior to the main storyline, she was in a simply physical, I’ll say, relationship with Isaac. In YA we get a lot of female MC’s who make sex a really climactic point in the storyline. Whereas with Feyre, it happens, and it’s not a big deal, which was refreshing.

Of course we can’t forget the world and FANTASY! I loved the conflict between the Fae and the mortals. But I also loved how there was an aspect of inner turmoil within Prythian and between Hybern. I like it when fantasy has bits of political intrigue within their rulers, too. The Fae creatures themselves were awesome. I can’t speak to them all (because there’s a lot — this world has lots of depth), but I will say their distinct abilities are COOL. The other creatures are really interesting, too. I liked the idea of their being less-human-like Fae that are dangerous to the other Fae, as well. Does that make sense? It gets hard to talk about specific aspects without spoiling…

There is romance, too. I know that it’s been kind of controversial regarding the idea that it’s an unhealthy relationship between Tamlin and Feyre. But, I didn’t really get that feeling myself. I can see how others would feel like she was being held against her will, and that at one point was almost taken advantage of. But I think Maas wrote their relationship and story well enough to let the reader know that Tamlin wasn’t doing anything bad when it came to keeping Feyre captive. He tells her multiple times she can leave him, just not the Fae Realm. And regarding the hallway scene: he wasn’t himself then, and was overtaken by magic, so…

I quite liked Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship. Especially when you learn more about how it came to be, I found it really sweet, actually. There are a number of steamy scenes, too, if that’s you’re thing. But, while I loved Tamlin, I still felt like there was a little something missing from him. He didn’t seem completely developed. He was a little dry when he wasn’t expressing his great affections for Feyre or filled with passion!

There’s tons of action, too. Those were some of my absolute favorite scenes. BECAUSE UM, MORE FEYRE BADASSERY!!

I liked the ending a lot, and had it not been for Feyre’s final conversation with Rhys (more on him later), I would have called it pretty finite. BUT, SHE HAS A MOMENT WITH HIM THAT MADE ME GO WHATTTT!?!??!?!? And basically, now I need A Court of Mist and Fury ASAP. I can definitely see a setup for a possible love triangle in the next book, which I’m unsure whether I want or not.

I LOVE RHYS. BUT I LOVE FEYRE AND TAMLIN AS A COUPLE. Rhys is the sexy bad boy that I love, but I just wish there had been MORE of him in the book because then I’d definitely be all: GREEN LIGHT ON THE LOVE TRIANGLE. And shipping Feyre and Rhys all the way to the moon. When they did have scenes together, the sexual tension was on OVERLOAD. But, alas he was not very prominent until the last bit of the book. So I think I will continue to ship Feyre and Tamlin, and just keep Rhys for myself. Sounds good to me!

So all in all, I REALLY liked ACOTAR. About just as much as I like the Throne of Glass series so far. I did have my minor problems with Tamlin being sort of lacking in personality when he wasn’t making out with Feyre, but that didn’t affect my love of the book too much, CLEARLY. I STILL LOVE TAMLIN TOO. ❤

8

xo

Top 10 of 2015 | Best Book Boyfriends

top10_horizontal

It’s Christmas Eve! What better way to celebrate the holidays than with a list of hot, fictional boys? I know what (or should I say who) I’m wishing for under the tree tomorrow…

emmaswoon

All of my boyfriends on this list came into my life in 2015 when their books were released. They’ve endured through to the end of this year, beating out many possible competitors, for the very special place in my fangirl heart. Oh, and I can’t seem to find words to express my love for these men, therefore I’ve resorted to gifs. 

Best Book Boyfriends of 2015

Arin from The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

{source}

Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

{source}

Continue reading “Top 10 of 2015 | Best Book Boyfriends”

Top 10 of 2015 | Best Books I’ve Read in 2015

top10_horizontal

I found out about this week-long event in late November, and I knew I just had to participate. It seemed to me like the perfect way to wrap up my year in books, and highlight my favorites. It’s hosted by a group of book bloggers and you can find out all about on Rachel’s blog here.

Day 1’s topic is “The Best Books I’ve Read in 2015.” It just so happened that I read 10 books this year that I rated a full 5 out of 5 stars. So, here are the lucky books that won my love in 2015!

  1. Salt & Stone by Victoria Scott
  2. Volition by Lily Paradis
  3. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
  4. Girl Underwater by Claire Kells
  5. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven
  6. Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman
  7. These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly
  8. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh
  9. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
  10. The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

All of the titles link to my reviews, so you can read why I thought these books were the best of the best!

What are your favorite books you read in 2015?

xo

Mini[ish] Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: August 13th, 2013
Series: Throne of Glass, #2 | Throne of Glass
Pages: 418
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Genre(s): High Fantasy
Synopsis from Goodreads:

An assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt but her heart never wavers

Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become the King’s Champion. But she is far from loyal to the crown. Though she hides her secret vigilantly, her deadly charade becomes difficult when she realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. No one is above questioning her allegiance—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then, one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie … and whom she is willing to fight for.

my rambles

I’ve put off writing this review, which I am quite mad at myself for because after reading Crown of Midnight I had SO MANY FEELS. I guess that was part of the reason why I didn’t write my review straight away, but still, an incoherent review is better than one with very little words. Oh well…

Crown of Midnight totally lived up to my expectations after reading Throne of Glass. I picked it up because (not going to lie here) I was in need of some Chaol in my life. Once I delved into the book and really got immersed in the story and world again, I was in it for much more than the swoony guy.

Where Throne of Glass was mainly action and Celaena being a complete badass, Crown of Midnight was all that PLUS more magic and fantasy aspects that just make it that much better. There were so many twists and turns in the plot, and as I mentioned before, parts that made me FEEL ALL THE FEELS. Well, pretty much every bit of Crown of Midnight made me feel it all, but you get what I’m saying.

There’s lots of depth to the story, great relationships, friendships, and amazing fantasy aspects. The ending was a killer. (Again with the feels…) I wanted to run out and get Heir of Fire the minute I finished this one.

Basically, if you enjoyed Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight is a must read. While there is something I can’t quite pinpoint that made me knock off a half a star, I believe Crown of Midnight deserves a very high 4.5 rating. It’s a sequel that will not disappoint those who adored Throne of Glass!

xo

Early Excitement: May 2015 (THE MONTH WHEN ALL THE BOOKS COME OUT!)

Early Excitement

ALL THE BOOKS are being released this May. Well, at least all of the ones that I’m OVER THE MOON WITH EXCITEMENT about. Seriously, though. ALL THE BOOKS.

  
May 5th

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas | The Heir by Kiera Cass | The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

These three books are enough to make me flail like the crazy fangirl that I am. I CAN’T WAIT for ACoTaR just like the rest of the world, but I’m also meeting Sarah J. Maas SOON (May 16th) so I’M FREAKING OUT. LIKE, IT’S SARAH J. MAAS PEOPLE! I’m really interested to see where Kiera Cass takes The Selection series, as originally it was supposed to be a trilogy. And Kasie West’s contemporaries are always at the top of my most anticipating when they are coming out!

   
May 19th & May 26th

Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer | Illusionarium by Heather Dixon | The Cage by Megan Shepherd | P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

I read Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and her daughter shortly after it came out and loved it. Ever since I’ve been waiting to hear if there was going to be a sequel or companion, and when I saw that there WAS, I was freaking out! Illusionarium and The Cage are both by authors I have read and previously adored, but they’ve been getting very mixed reviews. I’m still super excited, but I probably will wait until I read more reviews until I pick those up. THEN P.S. I STILL LOVE YOU COMES OUT PEOPLE. THIS IS NOT A DRILL. MORE PETER K!!!

Those are the books that I’m fangirling over for May 2015. What books are you impatiently waiting to get your hands on?

xo