End of Series SPOILER Discussion: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

*image taken from Leigh Bardugo’s Website

WARNING: THIS POST WILL CONTAIN MANY SPOILERS FOR THE GRISHA TRILOGY. IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO BE SPOILED PLEASE DO NOT CONTINUE READING THIS POST.

Instead, you can check out my completely SPOILER-FREE reviews of the SECOND and FINAL book in the trilogy HERE.

Well hello, post-Grisha trilogy readers.

So I just finished reading Ruin and Rising and I can’t tell you how freaking thankful I am that this book did not COMPLETELY ruin me like I was expecting it to. BUT, I didn’t know the ending while reading, so therefore there will be a HUGE amount of caps used throughout this discussion. I apologize in advance.

I’ve never written a discussion before, but if you read my reviews, you’ll know that I said I marked a LOT of quotes in the last book. SOOO… since I have no clue how to write a discussion post, I’m just going to share with you the quote and then do my best through text to imitate my reactions to when I read that part for the first time, and THEN discuss.

Here we go…

In a flash, his hand snaked out and seized my wrist. The room came into sudden focus. He yanked me close, wedging me between his knees. His other hand pressed to the small of my back, his strong fingers splayed over the curve of my spine. -pg. 200

WHAT IS HAPPENING I JUST CAN’T EVEN HE’S SUPPOSED TO BE CREEPY AND I USED TO THINK SO BUT NOW LEIGH BARDUGO DOES THIS AND I JUST DON’T KNOW HOW TO FEEL ANYMORE. THE DARKLING IS SEXY, OKAY? THERE I SAID IT.

The corner of his mouth curled, the faintest suggestion of Nikolai’s wry smile. I could almost hear him say, Really, lovely, what could be worse? Beneath my hand, his heart beat – steady and human. -pg. 344

Nikolai swooped back down, barreling into another of the Darkling’s nichevo’ya. I could almost imagine his laugh. Well, if I’m going to be a monster, I might as well be king of the monsters. -pg. 372

This just made me so sad I just couldn’t handle it. The way she saw the briefest hint of his old self in there it just TORE AT MY HEART. And then when he SAVES TAMAR I JUST. And then in the end he’s okay and I was just so relieved because he deserved it.

I gasped as he grabbed my wounded arm. Despite the pain and the risk, I summoned a weak wash of light, saw his beautiful face streaked with dirt and blood. And the knife in his hand. -pg. 376

WE ALL KNOW WHAT HAPPENED NEXT AND I ACTUALLY GASPED OUT LOUD BECAUSE I REALLY DIDN’T THINK IT WOULD HAPPEN BUT IT DID. I GOT SO NERVOUS. I really thought she had to kill him and he was actually dead. I was so shocked when I read that he was the third amplifier. Mal and Alina’s relationship in this series was developed BETTER THAN ANYTHING I’VE EVER READ BEFORE. I want a Mal of my own, please.

“Alina,” the Darkling repeated, his fingers seeking mine. I was surprised to find fresh tears filling my eyes. -pg. 384

SO MANY MIXED EMOTIONS. I felt so sorry for him here.

“Once more,” he said. “Speak my name once more.” He was ancient, I knew that. But in this moment he was just a boy – brilliant, blessed with too much power, burdened by eternity. -pg. 384

HIS NAME WAS ALEKSANDER. MY EMOTIONS. This moment was so perfect. And earlier learning that Baghra was Morozova’s daughter and her past was such a shock.

And there it was again: the thready, miraculous sound of Mal drawing a breath. -pg. 386

OH THANK GOD. I COULDN’T LIVE WITH ANY OTHER END.

“Alina,” he said and kissed the scar on my palm, “I remember everything.” -pg. 396

*Emily melting*

No one knew his name to curse or extol, so I spoke it softly, beneath my breath. “Aleksander,” I whispered. A boy’s name, given up. Almost forgotten. -pg. 411

*Emily shedding a tear*

Thank goodness it was a fairly happy ending. This series was just so wonderful, don’t you agree?!

Okay, so this wasn’t much of a discussion – more of a reaction – but still. I want to hear what you thought of the end of the Grisha trilogy! Spoilers and all! 🙂

xo, emily

16 thoughts on “End of Series SPOILER Discussion: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I loved this trilogy and I was satisfied with most of the Rising, because though I didn’t like Mal, I expected her to wind up with him. (Even though I kept hoping otherwise.) Alina kept telling me how great he is, but I just didn’t see it. I wanted her to wind up with the prince, (Which is strange for me, I’m not a prince sort of girl, but then again he isn’t the usual prince.) And if not the prince than the Darkling. (Yes, I know he’s technically the bad guy, but I can’t help it. I like him.)

    The whole he’s dead, no wait he isn’t was rather dumb, but I understand the author’s reasons and I expected her to kill the Darkling. (I wish it was done in a way where we were pretty sure he was dead, but there was that hint of uncertainty.) I wanted that priest to die! (so badly!)

    I know Alina hated ruling the Grisha, but I think she could do a good job of it. Maybe not as the sole ruler, but with a council of other Grisha or the Darkling, sure. (Okay, I might have a thing for the Darkling. Can you blame me?) Or she could become the queen, that would be cool too. Even her becoming evil and joining the Darkling would’ve been better than the sappy ending we got and that would’ve been acceptable if only Alina had her powers! (Maybe just the amplifiers broke so she’s back with her natural powers.)

    That’s only part of this book that I HATED! Alina shouldn’t have lost her powers! In my opinion this was about the worst outcome possible, and as if that wasn’t bad enough now dozens of other people suddenly have the sun summoner powers! (So much for special!) Now tell me that’s a happy ending? Everyone who got her powers is a good guy right and wouldn’t cause all manner of trouble for the Ravka now? Right…

    Sorry for the rant. I really did like these books. (Molly backs away sheepishly.)

    1. Don’t worry – rant away! I’m happy you started the discussion! 🙂

      I wasn’t so sure that she’d end up with Mal while I was reading the second book, but definitely while reading Ruin and Rising it became kind of obvious to me that she would end up with him. Don’t get me wrong – I absolutely ADORED Nikolai and the Darkling really grew on me since book two. I actually really began to like him a lot.

      I agree about the Mal being dead part – white it was a bit cliché, I was still really nervous for his character. After reading A Game of Thrones I get REALLY nervous whenever an author fake kills off a character. Haha. And after this book I definitely DON’T blame you for having a thing for the Darkling. I don’t think I would have been able to resist his devilishly handsome charm. *blushes*

      While I didn’t like that Alina lost her powers, I was happy that she got to return to the life she had before everything came about. You bring up a good point about everyone having her old powers now. The Cut could be used for bad…I hope Leigh Bardugo writes some kind of spin-off series set further in the future and tackles that idea!

      Thanks for sharing your thought! I loved reading what you had to say! 🙂

    2. I do agree with you, even when i was reading fanfic i found out that the darkling died in the book while reading the description and a little part of me died my first thought was- she couldnt have kept him in prison or hidden until mal died… SHE’LL BE ALONE FOREVER… LIKE THE DARKLING WAS!!- Given i didn’t know she lost her powers but still. And i do think Nikolai would have been better but i knew she was gonna end up with mal so i guess i was subconsciously rooting for them. And i do think she should have done more, like i love the books but the ending was really unsatisfying.

      1. I hate unintentional spoilers! And yay for Nikolai love! Hey there’s still the possibility of sequels so maybe he’ll get a better girl! I was really unsatisfied with the ending too, which is why I haven’t read Crooked Kingdom yet. Though Six of Crows was amazing!

  2. I was so team Mal so of course am thrilled ;-). I think my favorite part though was how Alina’s power had to be split in order to finally over come the Fold, it was such a great difference from the typical fantasy all powerful hero ending 😀

  3. I thought this was a splendid end to a wonderful trilogy . I love Mal. The problem was never my love for him, but my love for nikolai and the darkling as well! I found the writing to be Damn near flawless in this finale. I’ll be posting my reviews of all three books tomorrow. Hope you’ll check em out 🙂

  4. I hate Mal and I wish he just stayed dead and I disliked that Alina lost her power, but overall it was a satisfying conclusion, haha. I really liked how vulnerable The Darkling was in his last moment.

  5. Ugggh loved this series to death. And I really loved your quotes because Leigh Bardugo is just so quote-worthy. It says something that I can recognize your quotes straight-off without even finishing them. And they were BEAUTIFUL quotes. Especially the Darkling/Aleksander ones. (aaack love that name!) Honestly, I’ve been more of a Darkling kind of person from the start, so the ending was bittersweet to me (but yes, it had to happen). THANK YOU for posting such a beautiful spoiler post. :))

    1. Toward the end of the book I marked almost every page so I didn’t include them all but, yes…definitely quote-worthy! I know, for some reason the name Aleksander with that spelling is preeeety sexy haha *blushes* And thank you for liking my spoiler post!! It was so much fun writing! ❤

      1. I am on page 107 of Ruin & Rising. I will not read anymore. If Alina would of ended w/ the Prince then yes I would of continued. Thanks for the spoilers. I never liked MEL . He was so common and dumb, just a tracker no real passion. I will never read a book by L. B. again.

  6. Omg! I hated it when Alina ended up with Mal. I really wanted her to be with either Nickoli or a good ‘Aleksander’ (God! I really love that name). I was so annoyed when her power split and she had nothing. AAAAAARRGGGHHHH!!!!!!!
    But overall SUCH a great book and I enjoyed every moment (Especially when the Darkling showed human emotions like longing)

I'd love to hear what you have to say!