Review: We Are the Goldens by Dana Reinhardt

Publisher: Wendy Lamb Books

Release Date: May 27, 2014

Pages: 208

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via NetGalley

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Realistic Fiction, Contemporary

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Nell knows a secret about her perfect, beautiful sister Layla. If she tells, it could blow their world apart.

When Nell and Layla were little, Nell used to call them Nellaya. Because to Nell, there was no difference between where she started and her adored big sister ended. They’re a unit; divorce made them rely on each other early on, so when one pulls away, what is the other to do? But now, Nell’s a freshman in high school and Layla is changing, secretive. And then Nell discovers why. Layla is involved with one of their teachers. And even though Nell tries to support Layla, to understand that she’s happy and in love, Nell struggles with her true feelings: it’s wrong, and she must do something about it.

Special thanks to Wendy Lamb Books and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of this book for review!

I went into We Are the Goldens completely unsure about what to expect. The synopsis was very vague, but I was really intrigued to see what this book was all about.

I found myself unable to put this book down! I was drawn in from the first chapter, already formulating questions, and seeking their answers.

The writing style was very unique and unlike many of the books that I have read. The main character Nell, tells the story as if she is talking to her older sister Layla, or in the book, “you”. I think for this reason, the book was such a quick read. It was like someone was talking right to you.

The characters and the story were all in all a very realistic depiction of the emotions of high school teenagers. The conflicted feelings, self-discovery, and decisions that have to be made are all things that I feel like everyone goes through at some time, even if not in high school, and made this book one that could be relatable to anyone.

The ending of We Are the Goldens was left very open-ended. I can see many people coming away feeling like the book wasn’t finished. But, for me, I had a sense of closure and satisfaction after finishing. I liked how the author allowed readers to decide on their own how things turned out.

Overall, We Are the Goldens is a book that I’d highly recommend! One of the best realistic fiction books that I’ve read in a long time!

2 thoughts on “Review: We Are the Goldens by Dana Reinhardt

  1. I’ll definitely put this book on my wishlist after having read this review. Anyways, the cover kind of creeped me out at first!! But the book sounds so promising after all! 😀

I'd love to hear what you have to say!