Review: Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick


26245098Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick

Published May 31, 2016, by Little, Brown BFYR.

YA > Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

Didn’t you ever just simply want to…stop?

Star athlete and straight-A student Nanette O’Hare has played the role of dutiful daughter for as long as she can remember. But one day, a beloved teacher gives her his worn copy of The Bubblegum Reaper—a mysterious, out-of-print cult classic—and the rebel within Nanette awakens.

As the new and outspoken Nanette attempts to insert her true self into the world with wild abandon, she befriends the reclusive author and falls in love with a young, troubled poet. Forced to make some hard choices that bring devastating consequences, Nanette learns the hard way that rebellion can sometimes come at a high price.


Thanks to the publisher for providing me with an ARC for review!

This book gave me so many different, conflicting feelings. It was frustratingly beautiful, relatable, sad, hopeful, funny, smart, and real.

The first thing that stood out to me was Matthew Quick’s writing. I hadn’t read a book by him before, but I can easily understand why his work carries such great acclaim.

His characters are equally as wonderful, if not more. They are unique, quirky, and flawed, but lovable. Nanette, Alex, and Oliver are just like us readers, looking to characters to find validation, sanctuary and, and themselves. Booker was funny, fatherly, and one of my favorite characters.

I’ve been trying to write this review for days now, but I’m still having trouble finding the words to convey just how I feel. While I loved the book, it also left me a bit disappointed at its lack of originality. The dynamic of the characters is special and tries to be unique, yet such relationships are becoming more and more present in YA stories. The “band of misfits” is a trope that’s almost too overused for me right now.

That being said, Every Exquisite Thing is a special book. It punched me in the heart and made me feel, while still being an enjoyable read.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

