Look What You Made Me Do | Taylor Swift Book Tag, Part 2


Oh, look what you made me do!

Way back in 2014, I did the Taylor Swift Book Tag. Since then, it’s arguably been one of my most viewed posts, and it’s one of my favorites here on the blog! I thought I’d adapt the 1989 and (beginning of) the reputation eras into the book tag! If you haven’t heard her new music, listen and then come back! Her new album releases in 10 DAYS I CAN’T WAIT.

I also want to take a minute to acknowledge Taylor’s incredible narrative skill. Each of her music videos are so incredibly detailed and tell such full stories. We need to get a fiction novel from her sometime, please! She’s proven she can totally handle ANY subgenre.


Welcome to New York

“the lights are so bright, but they never blind me”

giphy

Name your favorite city or setting for a book, real or fictional.

Actually, New York City! I’ve never been, but I love the way it’s portrayed in all of the books I read. Also, any book set on the coast by a beach! I love to escape when I’m reading, so places that I’ve never been, or wish I could visit more often are always my favorites. If we’re talking fictional worlds, I mean, Hogwarts, obviously!

Continue reading “Look What You Made Me Do | Taylor Swift Book Tag, Part 2”

Advertisements

Week in Review: October 26th

Week in Review


In Life

My life has been pretty boring this week. I stayed home all week from school due to being sick, spending the majority of my time on the couch, on the computer, watching TV and reading of course! (That’s why I was a little more active in the blogging community, leaving some comments, etc. I plan to comment around more today but I also have like 50+ comments to reply to on THIS blog…)

Also: Is anyone else as excited as I am for Taylor Swift’s, 1989, coming out tomorrow?!?!??!?! From what I’ve heard of the three songs she’s released and the bit in the Target commercial I love it! I know some people are bummed about it being pop, but listening to the lyrics of “Out of the Woods” you can really see the same old Taylor shining through with her lyrics!


In Books

I didn’t get any books this week, but there is one I’m VERY excited for that is coming out this Tuesday…

That would be Diamonds in the Rough (The Secret Diamond Sisters, #2) by Michelle Madow! I read the first book earlier this year in anticipation of meeting Michelle (who is SO NICE, by the way), and I’m a member of her Street Team for the series. But the best part? I’m going to be in the acknowledgements! She announced that she is putting every street team members name in the acknowledgements which I think is the SWEETEST, and also ups my excitement a bit! 😉

READ MY REVIEW OF BOOK 1!

As for my reading, being home sick did have its advantages: I read TWO books this week! Now, for some people that isn’t anything, but juggling school, blogging, and reading makes this number huge for me, as I normally only get to read on the weekends. This first I read was Rush by Eve Silver [REVIEW], which was a fun and exciting alien sci-fi! And the second (just finished this morning) was The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. That book, WOW. I have to continue to process it before I can write a coherent review. It should be up tomorrow though, if I can get my brain to work properly.


In Blogging

Here’s what you missed at Books & Cleverness this week:


I hope you all had a wonderful week! I’d love to chat with you! 🙂

xo

 

Taylor Swift Book Tag!

ecd4c6e99d535905511a2135b3d8ad58_by_rochyystar-d64hxdc

I was scrolling through Kat from Katytastic on YouTube’s recent uploads and I saw that she did a Taylor Swift Book Tag! I got kind of excited and I so I decided that this was a must-do tag for me. Because T-Swizzle is my girl, I don’t care what y’all say! 😛


1. We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together
(pick a book or series that you were pretty sure you were in love with, but then wanted to break up with)

Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth – Let’s just pretend we never were together okay, Allegiant, I’m talking to you! I was in love with this series until I got to Allegiant, and then, well, you can consider us broken up for good now.

2. Red
(pick a book with a RED cover)

Talon by Julie Kagawa – How pretty and rich is this cover?! I love Julie Kagawa’s books so it’s fair to say that I am really really really excited for this one to come out!

3. The Best Day
(pick a book that makes you feel nostalgic)

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – This was a no-brainer for me. I pick these books up at random, flip to a random page, and just read when I’m feeling down and need a pick-me-up. Plus, the blog is named after a quote from one of the books, so yeah, I’m nostalgic!

4. Love Story
(pick a book with forbidden love)

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski – This book has such a beautifully written forbidden romance that I could just not NOT choose this one for “Love Story.” Kestrel and Arin. That is all. [Review here]

5. I Knew You Were Trouble
(pick a book with a bad character you couldn’t help but love)

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo – Did someone say the Darkling? Hello sexy! He just keeps getting better and better with each book, and Leigh Bardugo’s character development with him is perfect!

HONORABLE MENTION: Aaron Warner from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

6. Innocent
(pick a book that someone ruined the ending for)

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin – My friend kind of by accident spoiled me, but still it was spoiled. Oh and not the end, the middle. But yeah it was a big one!

7. Everything Has Changed
(pick a character from a book who goes through extensive character development)

The Summer Series by Jenny Han – Belly goes through some major character development and growing up throughout these books. She becomes so much less annoying and I came to really like her by the end of these books.

8. You Belong With Me
(pick your most anticipated book release)

In A Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis – I. NEED. THIS. BOOK. NOW. Actually, yesterday.

9. Forever and Always
(pick your favorite book couple)

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – Anna and Etienne! I just love them so much they are perfect live happily ever after okay?

10. Come Back, Be Here
(pick the book you would least like to lend out, for fear of missing it too much)

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling – It’s a repeat, I know. But seriously, I would never lend this out to ANYONE EVER.

BONUS QUESTIONS (added by Kat):

11. Teardrops On My Guitar
(pick a book that made you cry a lot)

EVERY BOOK EVER. I’m actually kind of serious, I cry in almost every book I read if it gets the least bit emotional AT ALL. So yeah, pretty much everything that has a sad part I cry.

12. Shake It Off
(pick a book that you love so much, you just shake off the haters)

The Iron Fey series by Julia Kagawa – Haters, take a step back. I know there are a lot of you that hate these books, but I LOVE THEM. They were the first YA fey/faerie books that I’d read, and let me just tell you, I went through a phase and I read the series straight through. So I’m not listening if you don’t like these books! 😛 Haha, just kidding of course I’ll listen…maybe.

taylor-swift-the-end-the-story-of-us-Favim.com-232251

xo

Review: Dirty Little Secret by Jennifer Echols

Publisher: MTV Books

Release Date: July 16, 2014

Pages: 288

Format: Paperback (April 22, 2014)

Source: Author

Series: N/A

Genre(s): Contemporary Romance, New Adult

Synopsis from Goodreads:

I was being given the chance to do the one thing I wanted most in the world. The chance was presented to me by a guy so gorgeous, he turned my skin to fire when he touched me. And joining a band was the one thing I was most forbidden to do, the thing that would ruin my future forever.

Eighteen-year-old Bailey has issues, and not just that she’s lying to her grandfather about playing fiddle in a Nashville bar. There’s how her younger sister Julie’s recording contract makes her family terrified that Bailey will mess the deal up. And why Bailey is acting out. And the way everyone seems mad at her, even Julie. Bailey’s parents don’t want her playing gigs at all, but when they leave her with her grandfather so they can tour with Julie, she lands a job playing old country songs in cheesy costumes at a local mall. That’s where she meets Sam. . . .

Sam doesn’t plan to spend his life playing backup at the mall for his alcoholic dad. He intends to take his high school garage band to the big time, and when he hears Bailey play, he knows she’s what he wants.

Bailey isn’t sure where she stands with this boy who has a lust for music and life, and who may or may not have a lust for her. And yet, suddenly, her life is no longer about what might have been, and a whole lot about what could be. . . .

Special thanks to Jennifer Echols for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

I want to start out my review with saying this: I’m not a music person. I’ve never played an instrument, never really listened to music other than when it plays on the radio in the car. But I am a HUGE Taylor Swift fan. That’s what drew me to this book. I saw a review that had called this book perfect for fans of Taylor Swift, and I was sold. I think the fact that even though I’m not a musical person and still really enjoyed Dirty Little Secret says a lot.

The book pretty much revolves around music, but not just playing it. How it’s there for the characters and how it became and is now a large part of their lives. I liked that about this book. There were other issues going on behind just the musical drama. Underlying family problems, identity issues, relationships, money, etc. It made the book a whole lot more realistic.

While I wasn’t a huge fan of Bailey, the main character, and her choices, I can see how she can be relatable to a lot of people. Fresh out of high school, unsure of what she’s going to do next. But also restricted by her parents and being out shined by her younger sister. Music is the only steady thing that she’s had and that’s been taken away from her. Throughout the book you see her learn to follow her heart and that things can somewhat work out in the end, even if it’s not how she first pictured.

Now of course I have to discuss the relationship between Bailey and Sam. Funny enough with the mention of T-Swift before, I had ‘I Knew You Were Trouble’ playing through my head whenever the Bailey/Sam relationship came up. That song should be their theme. However cliché their relationship was you have to admit that after reading you found their relationship a cute one, although intense at times. Not my favorite pairing that I’ve read, but they way their ending was written I was happy and accepted it.

Overall, Dirty Little Secret is great for musical and non-musical fans alike. It’s short and sweet, while not fluffy at all. Perfect for summer, Dirty Little Secret will make you want to crank up the country music and sing along!

P.S.

For your listening pleasure: