Review: Thicker than Water by Brigid Kemmerer (+GIVEAWAY & BLOG TOUR!)

thicker than water NEW banner 1 .jpg

When I saw the sign-ups for this tour I just knew I had to do it! I was really into Brigid Kemmerer’s Elemental series before I started blogging (LOTS OF HOT GUYS BROTHERS GO CHECK IT OUT), and after reading the synopsis for Thicker than Water I was sold! There’s murder, mystery, and a hot romance…


thicker-than-waterPublisher: Kensington Books
Release Date: December 29th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley (Blog Tour)
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

On his own

Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect.

Not that there’s any evidence. But before Thomas got to Garretts Mill there had just been one other murder in twenty years.

The only person who believes him is Charlotte Rooker, little sister to three cops and, with her soft hands and sweet curves, straight-up dangerous to Thomas. Her best friend was the other murder vic. And she’d like a couple answers.

Answers that could get them both killed, and reveal a truth Thomas would die to keep hidden…

my rambles

Special thanks to YA Bound Book Tours for hosting this blog tour and to Kensington Books for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

Okay, this books was SO addicting! I find Brigid Kemmerer’s books to be that way. But, if I were to think back to when I read the Elementals series and compare it to Thicker than Water, I would say that this was even more so. I read the majority of the book in one sitting, it was that hard to put down.

Continue reading “Review: Thicker than Water by Brigid Kemmerer (+GIVEAWAY & BLOG TOUR!)”

Advertisements

Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: December 9th, 2014
Series: ?
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Mysterious. Magnificent. Creepy. Welcome to Rockford Manor.

“There’s something hidden in the Maze.” Seventeen-year-old Imogen has never forgotten the last words her father said to her seven years ago, before the blazing fire that consumed him, her mother, and the gardens of her family’s English country manor.

Haunted by her parents’ deaths, Imogen moves to New York City with her new guardians. But when a letter arrives with the news of her cousin’s untimely death, revealing that Imogen is now the only heir left to run the estate, she returns to England and warily accepts her role as duchess.

All is not as it seems at Rockford, and Imogen quickly learns that dark secrets lurk behind the mansion’s aristocratic exterior, hinting that the spate of deaths in her family were no accident. And at the center of the mystery is Imogen herself–and Sebastian, the childhood friend she has secretly loved for years. Just what has Imogen walked into?

Combining a fresh twist on the classic REBECCA with a spine-tingling mystery and powerful romance, SUSPICION is an action-packed thrill ride.

my rambles
Special thanks to Delacorte Press and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy for review!

I devoured Suspicion, reading it in practically one sitting! But while it was a quick and fun read for me, I still had some problems with aspects of the book. Although for the most part, the good and entertaining parts outweighed the bad!

Not only did the synopsis for the book initially intrigue me, but Jessica Brody’s (another great author I love, by the way) blurb put me over the edge with excitement:

“If Alfred Hitchcock had directed Downton Abbey, the result would have been this book.”

Other comparisons to The Princess Diaries definitely had me interested, and I wasn’t let down by the fun of Suspicion. The story was entertaining and engaging. The way Alexandra Monir combined the paranormal happenings with the otherwise normal storyline was wonderful, keeping me intrigued and guessing up to the very end. I never expected it to end how it did!

Suspicion has a very historical feeling to it although it’s set during present day. I loved how when Imogen travels to Rockford Manor it’s almost like the reader is brought back in time to the past, and where the secrets are still haunting her.

The one problem that I had with this book was that the romance, a somewhat large portion of the story, seemed rushed for me. Although Imogen and Sebastian were friends from childhood, they were separated for such a long time, and I found they picked up where they left off quite quickly. The revelation and resolution regarding their relationship seemed too good to be true, and was pretty predictable.

Alexandra Monir will really wow you with her mystery and paranormal revelations toward the end of the book, though. Everything really started coming together and the final puzzle pieces were being placed.

All in all, I found Suspicion to be a really fun and entertaining read! It’s not too deep and dark, but has the perfect amount of paranormal and mystery to keep the reader engulfed in the story. I felt the ending to be a little rushed, and if maybe there was one more chapter I would have been just that much more satisfied. But I’d definitely recommend this one to fans of lighter paranormal books with a sweet romance!

xo

Review: The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy

Publisher: Entangled: Teen
Release Date: September 2nd, 2014
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Series: N/A
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

An engrossing, complex, romantic fantasy perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore or Maggie Stiefvater, set in a wholly unique world.

Salome Montgomery fears winter—the cold, the snow, the ice, but most of all, the frozen pond she fell through as a child. Haunted by the voices and images of the strange beings that pulled her to safety, she hasn’t forgotten their warning to “stay away.” For eleven years, she has avoided the winter woods, the pond, and the darkness that lurks nearby. But when failing health takes her grandparents to Arizona, she is left in charge of maintaining their estate. This includes the “special gifts” that must be left at the back of the property.
 


Salome discovers she’s a key player in a world she’s tried for years to avoid. At the center of this world is the strange and beautiful Nevin, who she finds trespassing on her family’s property. Cursed with dark secrets and knowledge of the creatures in the woods, his interactions with Salome take her life in a new direction. A direction where she’ll have to decide between her longtime crush Colton, who could cure her fear of winter. Or Nevin who, along with an appointed bodyguard, Gareth, protects her from the darkness that swirls in the snowy backdrop. An evil that, given the chance, will kill her.

my rambles

Special thanks to Entangled: Teen for providing me with an advance copy for review.

Before I started The Winter People, I read Kayla’s review and I immediately got nervous about going into this book as I do trust her opinions. And while I do agree with a lot of the negatives that she points out in her review, I did actually find the book somewhat enjoyable…?

The two main things that got me were A) that there were THREE love interests. Not one, not two, but THREE. This wasn’t even a love triangle. More love box (as the cast of The Host movie would say). The main character, Salome, was all over the place in the romance department, and quite frankly, I didn’t understand the appeal to ANY of the guys. It was really frustrating reading from her POV because one minute she’s totally in love with one guy, but then she’s hanging out with another and it’s magically love yet again.

And B) the paranormal aspects were so all over the place and underdeveloped it was almost laughably funny. The faerie aspects of the book were only finally introduced by name as it being a faerie book about three quarters of the way through! The first half was really just Salome hearing voices in her head and trying to decide what kept trying to attack and kill her. Oh yeah and trying to pick a guy of the day. When you get to the end of the book and realize what was really going on you’ll want to know more about the world. At least I did. Looking back on this book I would have loved for the author to develop more of the faerie world throughout the book instead of cramming it into the very end. Developing it more thoroughly would have made the book so much better.

This has probably been the most negative review that I’ve ever written, but I actually did somewhat enjoy the book in that guilty pleasure way of knowing how awful it is, but loving it nonetheless. For some strange reason I actually was really into the story while I was reading it. The whole while I knew how ridiculous this book was, but I did like it. I’m still not really sure as to why. And since I’m feeling generous today, I decided on the rating below.

But all in all, The Winter People is not a book if you’re looking for a well-written paranormal. It’s more the kind of book to pick up when you’re in a bad mood, lacking patience, and need something that doesn’t take a lot of effort to read. Or when you wish all of your problems were like Salome’s: which boy is my favorite today?

xo

Before I Blogged (#4) – Black City

Before I Blogged is a weekly feature inspired by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner in which I share a book that I read and loved before I started blogging!

Black City by Elizabeth Richards

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons BYR

Release Date: November 13, 2012

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A dark and tender post-apocalyptic love story set in the aftermath of a bloody war.

In a city where humans and Darklings are now separated by a high wall and tensions between the two races still simmer after a terrible war, sixteen-year-old Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, meet and do the unthinkable—they fall in love. Bonded by a mysterious connection that causes Ash’s long-dormant heart to beat, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.

When Ash and Natalie then find themselves at the center of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to pull the humans and Darklings back into war, they must make hard choices that could result in both their deaths.

Continue reading “Before I Blogged (#4) – Black City”

Review: The Falconer by Elizabeth May

15791085Publisher: Chronicle Books

Release Date: May 6, 2014 (US)

Pages: 336

Format: eARC

Source: Publisher via Edelweiss

Series: The Falconer, #1

Genre(s): Historical Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Steampunk

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Heiress. Debutant. Murderer. A new generation of heroines has arrived.

Edinburgh, Scotland, 1844

Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, was destined for a life carefully planned around Edinburgh’s social events – right up until a faery killed her mother.

Now it’s the 1844 winter season and Aileana slaughters faeries in secret, in between the endless round of parties, tea and balls. Armed with modified percussion pistols and explosives, she sheds her aristocratic facade every night to go hunting. She’s determined to track down the faery who murdered her mother, and to destroy any who prey on humans in the city’s many dark alleyways.

But the balance between high society and her private war is a delicate one, and as the fae infiltrate the ballroom and Aileana’s father returns home, she has decisions to make. How much is she willing to lose – and just how far will Aileana go for revenge?

Continue reading “Review: The Falconer by Elizabeth May”