Cleverly Quoting…Jaclyn Dolamore

Cleverly Quoting

Cleverly Quoting is a new original feature here at Books & Cleverness where I share a quote, sometimes a few, that I’ve loved from recent reads.

~

quote1— Jaclyn Dolamore, Dark Metropolis

When I read this quote it just seemed so magical. I love it when authors can create magic with their words.

About the Book


My Review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Cabaret meets Cassandra Clare-a haunting magical thriller set in a riveting 1930s-esque world.

Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder’s mother is cursed with a spell that’s driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. With no one else to contribute, Thea must make a living for both of them in a sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city’s secrets-even while he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they find a whole new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if they’re not careful, the heartless masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don’t always seem to stay that way.

xo, emily

Advertisements

Guest Review on ReadingTeen: Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Andye @ ReadingTeen is awesome and started a monthly program where she offers up ARCs of books that she didn’t get to for that month in exchange for a review to be posted on her blog! I jumped at the chance for this amazing opportunity to read and review Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore. The review will not be posted on this blog, but you can read my review of Dark Metropolis at ReadingTeen by clicking on the book cover below!

Thanks again to Andye for allowing me to read and review this book on her blog! Be sure to follow her for tons of great YA book posts!

Week in Review: June 15th (with a mini TFiOS Movie review!)

Inspired by Anna @ Anna Reads.

WHAT I DID:

IMG_4209While I was on blog hiatus I didn’t really do much exciting…except for seeing The Fault in Our Stars and crying my eyes out. As you can see from the picture I wore my “Okay? Okay.” shirt to the movie, accompanied by my Starbucks. My friend told me we should take pictures and caption them “The Fault in Our Starbucks,” hence the picture. I’m not planning on reviewing the movie as I don’t have much to say about it other than that skeptical fans of the book will have nothing to worry about. It was beautiful and just as emotionally exhausting as the book was, bringing enough tears to fill a river. Shailene Woodley, Ansel Elgort, Nat Wolff, and Laura Dern stole the show. The movie had me crying sooner than the book did. We left the theater puffy-eyed and stuffy-nosed, people in line for the next show staring at us on the way out.

Continue reading “Week in Review: June 15th (with a mini TFiOS Movie review!)”