Review AKA Fangirling: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Release Date: May 5th, 2015
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Genre(s): Fairy Tale Retelling, Fantasy, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

my rambles

WHY DIDN’T I READ THIS BOOK SOONER, PEOPLE?!? A Court of Thorns and Roses totally lived up to my expectations and the hype surrounding it. After reading and loving Sarah’s first two Throne of Glass books (Throne of Glass & Crown of Midnight), I was SO ready for more by her. I do have Heir of Fire sitting on my shelf, but something about ACOTAR was calling to me. Plus, pretty much everyone I trust when it comes to reviewing said I’d love it.

Little did I know that I wouldn’t be able to focus on pretty much ANYTHING else while I was in the middle of it. For a fairly large book (okay, large for the average reader), I was able to finish it in about a day. I basically became a speed-reader, because I just COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!

First of all, like Celaena, Feyre is SUCH AN AWESOME MC. Super badass. From the very first page we get to see her hunting and being awesome. She’s confident with herself. I also liked how prior to the main storyline, she was in a simply physical, I’ll say, relationship with Isaac. In YA we get a lot of female MC’s who make sex a really climactic point in the storyline. Whereas with Feyre, it happens, and it’s not a big deal, which was refreshing.

Of course we can’t forget the world and FANTASY! I loved the conflict between the Fae and the mortals. But I also loved how there was an aspect of inner turmoil within Prythian and between Hybern. I like it when fantasy has bits of political intrigue within their rulers, too. The Fae creatures themselves were awesome. I can’t speak to them all (because there’s a lot — this world has lots of depth), but I will say their distinct abilities are COOL. The other creatures are really interesting, too. I liked the idea of their being less-human-like Fae that are dangerous to the other Fae, as well. Does that make sense? It gets hard to talk about specific aspects without spoiling…

There is romance, too. I know that it’s been kind of controversial regarding the idea that it’s an unhealthy relationship between Tamlin and Feyre. But, I didn’t really get that feeling myself. I can see how others would feel like she was being held against her will, and that at one point was almost taken advantage of. But I think Maas wrote their relationship and story well enough to let the reader know that Tamlin wasn’t doing anything bad when it came to keeping Feyre captive. He tells her multiple times she can leave him, just not the Fae Realm. And regarding the hallway scene: he wasn’t himself then, and was overtaken by magic, so…

I quite liked Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship. Especially when you learn more about how it came to be, I found it really sweet, actually. There are a number of steamy scenes, too, if that’s you’re thing. But, while I loved Tamlin, I still felt like there was a little something missing from him. He didn’t seem completely developed. He was a little dry when he wasn’t expressing his great affections for Feyre or filled with passion!

There’s tons of action, too. Those were some of my absolute favorite scenes. BECAUSE UM, MORE FEYRE BADASSERY!!

I liked the ending a lot, and had it not been for Feyre’s final conversation with Rhys (more on him later), I would have called it pretty finite. BUT, SHE HAS A MOMENT WITH HIM THAT MADE ME GO WHATTTT!?!??!?!? And basically, now I need A Court of Mist and Fury ASAP. I can definitely see a setup for a possible love triangle in the next book, which I’m unsure whether I want or not.

I LOVE RHYS. BUT I LOVE FEYRE AND TAMLIN AS A COUPLE. Rhys is the sexy bad boy that I love, but I just wish there had been MORE of him in the book because then I’d definitely be all: GREEN LIGHT ON THE LOVE TRIANGLE. And shipping Feyre and Rhys all the way to the moon. When they did have scenes together, the sexual tension was on OVERLOAD. But, alas he was not very prominent until the last bit of the book. So I think I will continue to ship Feyre and Tamlin, and just keep Rhys for myself. Sounds good to me!

So all in all, I REALLY liked ACOTAR. About just as much as I like the Throne of Glass series so far. I did have my minor problems with Tamlin being sort of lacking in personality when he wasn’t making out with Feyre, but that didn’t affect my love of the book too much, CLEARLY. I STILL LOVE TAMLIN TOO. ❤

8

xo

Advertisements

Stuff Those Stockings! | 2015 Holiday Gift Guide #2

The holiday season is one of my favorite times of the year, and what better way to celebrate here on the blog all season long, than by curating my very own (bookish) gift guide for you! Stay tuned for these posts once a week or so until a few weeks before Christmas (which will be here before we know it)! I put prices for every item and all links bring you to the item’s website to purchase. If you don’t like exactly what I have shown, feel free to use these ideas to create your very own personalized gift for that special bookish someone!

Today I’m featuring gifts for…

THE FAIRY TALE LOVER!

Fairy Tale Stocking (1).png

  1. Cinderella (2015) DVD ($17.99) — If you like fairy tales, odds are you like Cinderella. I love this new live action version! Starring Lily James and Richard Madden (swoon), it’s such a sweet movie that everyone will enjoy.
  2. Love is the Most Powerful Magic Art Print ($13.75) — A quote from Once Upon A Time, I think this print is the perfect thing to hang up on the wall, whether you watch the show or not. This artist’s Redbubble shop is full of other pretty typography prints, so be sure to check her out there!
  3. Dainty Arrow Necklace ($22.00) — Not only do arrows remind me of fairy tales and badass heroines, but they’re super chic to wear as jewelry now. This particular one is small and delicate, and completely sterling silver.
  4. Enchanted Forest Coloring Book ($10.07) — Adult coloring books are all the rage. This one features beautiful designs to color that are all in the realm of fairy tales. Not only is this a coloring book, but it also features hidden objects and mazes for an added bit of interactiveness!
  5. Funko Pop! Disney Peasant Belle ($9.99) — The perfect bookshelf buddy, these figures are so fun to collect. I’ve already started and am getting addicted to buying and placing them on my shelf. I chose to highlight my favorite Disney princess, Belle, but of course you’re open to any of the other Pop! figures.
  6. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh ($17.99 from publisher) — Possibly a lesser known fairy tale, TWATD is a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. I read this one earlier in the year and freaked out because it’s AH-MAZING. Being that it’s a 2015 release, it’s likely the person you’re planning to gift it to hasn’t yet read it (unless they’re super active in the book community)!

Synopsis from publisher:

A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all.

That’s it for my second post in my 2015 Holiday Gift Guide series. Have a specific genre you want me to curate gifts for? Let me know! And be sure to check out my first post, featuring gifts for the FANGIRL in your life!

xo