Review: A Taste for Monsters by Matthew J. Kirby


29241322A Taste for Monsters by Matthew J. Kirby

Published September 27, 2016, by Scholastic Press.

YA > Historical Fiction, Horror, Mystery, Paranormal

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

Fear the living more than the dead.

It’s London 1888, and Jack the Ripper is terrorizing the people of the city. Evelyn, a young woman disfigured by her dangerous work in a matchstick factory, who has nowhere to go, does not know what to make of her new position as a maid to the Elephant Man in the London Hospital. Evelyn wants to be locked away from the world, like he is, shut in from the filth and dangers of the streets. But in Joseph Merrick, the Elephant Man, she finds a gentle kindred who does not recoil from her and who understands her pain.

When the murders begin, however, Joseph and Evelyn are haunted nightly by the ghosts of the Ripper’s dead, setting Evelyn on a path to facing her fears and uncovering humanity’s worst nightmares.

Continue reading “Review: A Taste for Monsters by Matthew J. Kirby”

Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas


25639296The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Published April 19, 2016, by Delacorte Press.

YA > Mystery, Thriller

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

Callie never left. She moved to another house, so she doesn’t have to walk those same halls, but then Callie always was the stronger one. She can handle staring into the faces of her demons—and if she parties hard enough, maybe one day they’ll disappear for good.

Tessa and Callie have never talked about what they saw that night. After the trial, Callie drifted and Tessa moved, and childhood friends just have a way of losing touch.

But ever since she left, Tessa has had questions. Things have never quite added up. And now she has to go back to Fayette—to Wyatt Stokes, sitting on death row; to Lori Cawley, Callie’s dead cousin; and to the one other person who may be hiding the truth.

Only the closer Tessa gets to the truth, the closer she gets to a killer—and this time, it won’t be so easy to run away.

Continue reading “Review: The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas”

Review: Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams


32441709Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams

To be published June 20, 2017, by Crown Books for Young Readers.

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can’t imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years—do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better?

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum—the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he’s impossible to figure out—and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he’s promising Phoenix a summer she’ll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?

Continue reading “Review: Trusting You and Other Lies by Nicole Williams”

Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


18692431Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Published September 1, 2015, by Delacorte Books for Young Readers.

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Continue reading “Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon”

Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

IMG_0343.jpg


31952703Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Published June 6, 2017, by Knopf Books for Young Readers.

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favorite book in his family’s bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came.

Now Rachel has returned to the city—and to the bookshop—to work alongside the boy she’d rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can’t feel anything anymore.

As Henry and Rachel work side by side—surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages—they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it’s possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Continue reading “Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley”