Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson


17838528The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?


I finally read this book! And I’m so so happy that I did! It was the absolute perfect read to round out my summer of reading!

I read Since You’ve Been Gone years ago, back when it first came out, and it was my first experience with reading a Morgan Matson book. That one quickly became one of my favorite contemporaries — the friendships are incredible, and the romance is adorable — what else do you need? Well, apparently, dogs.

The Unexpected Everything was just as wonderful as Since You’ve Been Gone. I adored the characters and their friendships, the romance, the scavenger hunt, the doggies, Andie’s father…um, basically everything!

So, these characters. We’ve got main character Andie, her friends Toby, Bri, Palmer, and Palmer’s boyfriend Tom. Then there’s Wyatt, Toby’s long-time crush. Topher, Andie’s friend, and fellow politician’s kid. Andie’s father. And of course, Clark. I immediately loved Andie from the very start. Her group of friends was also so wonderful. Matson writes relationships in such a real way, which I really appreciated. For example, Toby and Bri were the best friends in the group, and Palmer the late addition. I loved how this representation of the friend group didn’t make it seem like the girls were all equally best friends because that’s just not the case for real friendships.But I also loved how the group’s friendship was so strong and solid. While the other girls were definitely side characters, they were clearly such different voices and characters. I also quite liked Tom! He is really such a great boyfriend to Palmer, knowing that his place in the group is second to the girl’s friendship, which I thought was an important message. But I also liked how he was also such great friends with Andie, Toby, and Bri.

But I also loved how the group’s friendship was so strong and solid. While the other girls were definitely side characters, they were clearly such different voices and characters. I also quite liked Tom! He is really such a great boyfriend to Palmer, knowing that his place in the group is second to the girl’s friendship, which I thought was an important message. But I also liked how he was also such great friends with Andie, Toby, and Bri.

As love interests go, I didn’t like Wyatt, and you’ll know why when you read it for yourself. Topher doesn’t really count as a love interest, but I appreciated his and Andie’s relationship. He was there for Andie when she needed it, especially when dealing with the political side of her life. But Clark! I fell in love with him from the very start. He was so sweet, a little awkward, very kind, and just an all-around good guy. The fact that he’s an author of a bestselling fantasy series was just the icing on the cake!

His and Andie’s relationship was smooth sailing for most of the book, which I actually quite enjoyed. I loved how Matson didn’t write in dramatic events to add conflict between them. Much of the story was focused on Andie’s personal struggles with commitment, her family, and friendships. Again, I’ll applaud Matson for being an author of such authentic stories!

For those of you that have read Since You’ve Been Gone (and I believe Matson’s other books as well), you’ll notice some familiar faces make small appearances! Those little nods to her past book made me light up with surprise, and want to reread SYBG!

All in all, I think I may have loved The Unexpected Everything even more than SYBG! This book is full of incredible friendships, relationships, and summer experiences that will light up your day. If you love contemporary, this is a must read. If you love cute couples, this is a must read! Just read this book, because you definitely won’t be disappointed!

14 thoughts on “Review: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

  1. Lovely review! I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this one, I loved it so much. I loved all of the friendships in here and how complex they were especially – and the romance, obviously, was too adorable ❤

  2. I absolutely loved Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, so I’ve been wanting to read more of Morgan’s books. I do have TUE, but I haven’t picked it up yet and I have NO idea why. Your review is definitely pushing me to slide it up on my TBR so that I can hurry up and finally read it. I’m in such a contemporary mood, so it would be perfect timing. Great review btw!!

  3. Great review! Morgan Matson is one of my favourite contemporary authors and I’ve had the hard-cover basically since it came out. I keep meaning to get around to it but it’s one of those books that just–accidentally–gets brushed aside when I get other books. I am officially bumping it up because I already know I will love it!

  4. Aaawww this sounds too adorable! Everyone seems to love this book and I can see why 🙂 I’ve never read a Morgan Matson book before but I really want to ❤ I'm in great need of a fluffy contemporary.
    Wonderful review, Emily!

  5. I read this book last year so I can’t quite remember the plot accurately It was slow but enjoyable for me! ❤ Glad to know you loved it! I loved Andie too and her building relationship with her dad! 🙂
    Haniya
    booknauthors.blogspot.com

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

