Books and Cats, No Better Combination!

book tag (1).png

When I saw this tag on Holly’s blog, Nut Free Nerd, I just knew that I had to do it! I don’t think there’s a tag that is better suited for me or this blog! The tag was created by Kate @ meltingpotsandothercalamities — thanks for creating such an adorable tag!

Also, my adorable kitty Clary modeled for the graphic for this post! Isn’t she just the sweetest?! She just turned 3 in July, and is the best reader buddy and love I could have asked for!


Purr: As cats do this when they’re happy or relaxed, what is the book that makes you happiest or relaxed?

I have to go with the first or third book in the Harry Potter series, Sorcerer’s Stone or Prisoner of Azkaban. I love this first because every time I open it up it feels like going home (J.K. Rowling spoke true words when she said that Hogwarts would always be there to “welcome [us] home”), and I love the third because of Harry’s relationship with Sirius.

Sleep: What is a book that put you to sleep or was just boring?

32261

I hate to use a classic for this because I do like classics! No hate for the classics! But Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy was just so so boring for me. I honestly couldn’t deal with all of the lengthy descriptions. The ending was interesting though!

Twitch while dreaming: Have you ever dreamt of a book you read?

Bringing it back to Harry Potter for this one! I’ve dreamt about being a Hogwarts student, the honorary fourth member of the trio, participating in the battle of Hogwarts, being Draco’s love interest…*sigh* there’s just something about a bad boy!

Seems to play nice…until the claws are out!:  Which book had the biggest plot twist(s)?

33843362

I’ve read so many plot-twisty books in my time, so I’m going to go with a recent read that I really liked: Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart. There were a couple points while reading this that I had to take a moment and let what happened sink in.

Catnip: What’s a book that made you have warm and fuzzy feels?

30312860

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han. Well, any of the books in that series really. They are just so adorable, and there’s baking, and family, and they’re just wonderfully cute stories.

Cat breeds: Your favorite book(s)?

31952703

Well, besides Harry Potter, a book that recently earned its place in my all-time favorites is Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley. Books about books will always have a special place in my heart, and this one is just so beautifully written, I couldn’t not include it!

Getting the cat: How did you find your favorite book(s)?

My favorites pre-blogging, when I was much younger, were found thanks to me wandering the shelves at my school library or the bookstore. But now, I find all the books I love thanks to fellow book bloggers and even publishers! I hadn’t even heard of Words in Deep Blue before it appeared on my porch!

Being in places they shouldn’t: Least favorite cliché?

I guess this isn’t a cliché, but more of a trope: love triangles. Yes, I always say how I don’t mind them, and I often fall victim to their spell, but in retrospect, they’re so unrealistic! Unless of course, you’re talking about Ben from The Bachelor.

I’m also really over the damsel in distress thing. If a book has that, I probably won’t keep reading. Us girls don’t need a man! Get with the times, authors who write those clichés!

The good old cardboard box: Most underrated book series?

20821047

Hmm… book series… I haven’t read a book from a series for a very long time. I’m kind of over series, honestly? I was going to change this to a standalone and say The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore, but then I thought of The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter. I haven’t finished the series yet, but the first book was a stand-out. I haven’t heard that much about the series online — it definitely deserves more praise!


I hope you enjoyed this tag! I had such a fun time filling out the questions. I tag anyone who’d like to participate to do this tag, too! And let’s chat: what do you think of my answers?
8 thoughts on “Books and Cats, No Better Combination!

  1. Omg, this is SUCH a cute tag! (And also obviously a VERY cute cat awwww.) I tried to read Tess of the D’Urbervilles a while ago and I think I made it about halfway before I had to just put it down haha. If you don’t mind, I’d love to do this tag sometime in the future! Because, um, two of my favourite things ever. *nods*

  2. This is the cutest tag ever and want to do it solely to cover my blog in pictures of my cats, lol! Also, I agree about love triangles. Like they truly couldn’t be *more* unrealistic, it’s almost laughable to read a book with them

  3. Clary is such a cute kitty! And such a cute and unique tag too. There really is no better combination than books and cats 😊 It also fits your blog really well 😛 I haven’t read Always and Forever, Lara Jean yet, but judging from the other two books in the trilogy I definitely agree with that answer!

  4. Your cat is so cute! I’ll definitely be doing this tag. 😀

    Words in Deep Blue sounds INCREDIBLE! It’s so great when a publisher sends you a book you might not have picked up otherwise and it ends up becoming a favourite, right? That happened to me with Bone Gap by Laura Ruby. I had requested it from the publisher because I’d heard good things but I wasn’t expecting to love it because magical realism and I don’t always get along but it ended up being one of my favourite books EVER. YAY FOR BOOK BLOGGING!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

