July 2017 in Review

Last month, when I said I couldn’t believe it was already July, I meant it. But I just whizzed through July into August at supersonic speed! Seriously, I blinked and missed it! That being said, there were so many great memories from this July that I’m excited to share with you. Here’s hoping that I can slow down a bit for August because before I know it I’ll be back at college!


Life & Everything Else:

I teased this in last month’s wrap up, but now you get to hear all about it: I went to see Ed Sheeran, and I fell more in love. 100% the HIGHLIGHT of my July, and most likely my summer. It was so incredible!! HE is so INCREDIBLE!!! I’m still suffering major concert withdrawals (seriously, I have to watch at least one concert video a day — I just can’t help myself!). He sang 17 songs (19 if you include the two that he mashed-up) and was on for around 2 hours — just him, his guitar, and a loop pedal — and encouraged us to sing but not to worry if we didn’t know the lyrics (“Don’t worry, sing anything!”). He also was happy to let us know that he had a day off the following day, so he was well-prepared to lose his voice, and wanted to help us lose ours too! He didn’t stop smiling and neither did I! Also, I was thrilled when he started playing “Barcelona,” which I’d been doubting he’d play since it’s not normally on his set list. He told us that our tour stop was the first time he’d played in on US soil!

Here are some pictures and a video from the show (I’m getting all fangirl-y again just talking about it):

 

​​Still on a concert high, I was off to my vacation in the mountains! It was shorter than usual, but I still had a great time. I accomplished NOTHING, no reading, no blogging, but that’s what vacation is for, right?!

I’ve also been shopping for apartment things, because, YES, I’m in an apartment this year! Just me, myself, and I! I have a double bed now, instead of the Twin XL, so I had to buy all new bedding (while annoyingly costly, I always love an excuse to redecorate!).

I almost forgot to mention two more wonderful highlights: I saw Spider-Man: Homecoming and TEEN WOLF IS BACK FOR THE FINAL 10 EPISODES PEOPLE! Spider-Man was everything I’d hoped it would, and I’m even deeper in love with Tom Holland now. It was just so funny and sweet! As for Teen Wolf, I’m super emotional. I’ve been watching this show for years and years, and I dearly love these characters. I’m nervous after the first episode that it’s not going to be as good as the other seasons, or just not filled with the sameness that is Teen Wolf? Like, where was Dylan in the opening credits?!?! He’s been downgraded to a guest star? Um, not OK, no matter how much they were able to get him for filming. Stiles IS and ALWAYS will be a member of the ensemble!!

Another show I’m watching and loving is The Bold Type on Freeform! It’s very The Devil Wears Prada meets Younger! Super empowering for women, and cute guys, so, DUH I’m still watching!


Read & Reviewed:

Eight books this month!

Favorites: Wild Swans by Jessica Spotswood & The Telling by Alexandra Sirowy
Least Favorite: I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn and Allison Raskin

This month I can also say that I really didn’t not enjoy any of the books I chose to read! While Wild Swans and The Telling really stood out to me as new favorites, every other title offered me something special that I really liked. I Hate Everyone But You was still incredibly enjoyable, but just wasn’t at that high level of beautiful writing AND story that the others were. I actually read this one quite early, as it releases on September 5th, BUT you can catch me on the blog tour with a review and giveaway on August 30th! Genuine Fraud was another early read, so you can catch my review for that later in the month of August as well!


Other Postings:

This was another month of just basic reading and reviewing for me! But I did particpate in Scholastics I Read YA Week! I kicked off the week by talking about what #YAStandsFor to me, and then recapped all of my daily social challenges!

Site Announcements:

July marked my 3-1/2 year blogaversary! I started blogging here in February of 2014, and I’ve been awful about celebrating it on that date, so I wanted to make a little note about its half birthday! I’m extremely proud to have stuck with blogging for so long, and I hope to continue for many more years in the future. I really don’t know if I’d be where I am today without it. Because of blogging I’ve been opened up to the world of book publishing, and discovered that what I really want to do for the rest of my life is work in the design department of a publishing company! I’m now on my way to doing so! Also, time to get mushy — thanks so much to all of you that have stuck with me from the very beginning! I still can’t believe that people read my reviews and trust me and my opinions. ❤


New On My Radar:

Now after having read books by Kara Thomas and Alexandra Sirowy, I’m really excited for their two new releases, Little Monsters and First We Were IV, respectively. I just learned about Lucy Keating’s Literally, which looks adorable and just as unique as her first book, Dreamology.

To see what else I add to my TBR, and to see what I’m currently reading, friend me on Goodreads!


Currently Reading & Up Next:

26153925

I’m just starting With Malice by Eileen Cook. I’m only about 20 pages in so I can’t quite tell you how I’m feeling about it yet.

As of right now, I don’t have too many plans for what I’m going to be picking up next. We shall see what I’m in the mood for once I’m done with this one!


That’s it for me! How was your month of July? What have you been reading? I’d love to chat with you!

12 thoughts on “July 2017 in Review

  1. I think the best books I read this past month were ‘The Graveyard Book’ by Neil Gaiman and ‘The Book of Aron’ by Jim Shepard. I was afraid ‘The Graveyard Book’ was going to be really creepy, but it turned out to be more just interesting and unique. ‘The Book of Aron’ was so SAD but so GOOD. The writing was wonderful and I looked the character of Aron SO MUCH.

  2. July went so quickly! I spent a lot of it volunteering, one week of it finishing up some physics work and I read a lot last month which I’m happy about. Ahh, that’s SO AWESOME that you got to see Ed Sheeran – I’d love to see him live! He sings so well it’s actually crazy.

    Let me know what you think of With Malice! They have it at my library and I’m contemplating taking it out! 🙂

  3. oooh how fun that you got to go see ed sheeran! and that’s so cool you have an apartment to yourself this year! i have to start getting sheets & room decor for my dorm which is very exciting too. i’m excited to be living on my own! so glad to hear that the bold type is good. i’ve been eyeing that show for ages & am planning on finally getting down to watching it tomorrow.

    also happy 3 1/2 blogoversary!!!! that’s an amazing feat, congratulations! ❤

    1. Living on your own is the best! I was so proud of myself, and it was so empowering to know that I can do it. Going back to living with the ‘rents over the summer was the hardest part, that’s for sure, hahaha! I can’t wait to hear all about your college experience!

      And YES WATCH THE BOLD TYPE!! I love it more and more each week! Thanks! 🙂 ❤

  4. Oh I’m so jealous that you got to see Ed Sheeran! It’s really hard to get tickets in Switzerland because those concerts are sold out in like 5 minutes ://

    Homecoming was amazing and I’m even more obsessed with Tom now than before :0 😛

    Teen Wolf is so great! The newest episode is bomb and can I just say: STILES FOREVER. I think I’ve read somewhere that he’s only going to appear in 3 episodes in this final season?? :/
    And I’m also really into The Bold Type! Those episodes can’t come out fast enough 🙂

    Happy 3-1/2 years birthday!!

    Here’s my July Wrap Up @ Swissbookworm

    xxx Yasmine

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

