June 2017 in Review

FullSizeRender.jpg

I can’t believe it’s already July! Like, what the heck, (it feels like) I just got home from school? That being said, I’m really hyped for July because A) hopefully it will stop raining every day here, B) I’m going on vacation soon, and mostly just for C) I’m seeing ED SHEERAN in concert SOOOOON!! But you’ll hear all about those happenings in my July in Review post… With that, let’s take a look at what happened in June (and other relevent happenings from while I was still at school)!


Life & Everything Else:

I moved back home from school for the summer (and I miss Providence terribly). But it’s nice to be able to relax and enjoy some free time!

I’ve been binge-watching too much a lot of TV. I’m kind of obsessed with HBO shows at the moment. I finished watching the first season of Westworld after I got home (I started it sometime during first semester and didn’t get a chance to watch TV since). It was crazy good and I highly recommend! Then I started on Girls [review here]. Then I moved on to Big Little Lies. I think I watched this in about 4 days and holycow it was crazy and I loved it! I’ve basically been a vegetable: either reading, watching TV, blogging, or designing.

When I did do something other than those glorious activities, I hung out with some friends, went to the movies (I just saw Wonder Woman!!!! SO AMAZING YAY!!), ate lots of good food, and played with my cat more than is healthy.

Speaking of movies, I just have to mention that back in March (AKA back in school life) I carved out a chunk of time and friends and I went to see Beauty and the Beast and it was PERFECTION. That is all. Also, Spider-Man Homecoming is releasing soon and I’m so ready! Tom Holland is a wonderful human and even more wonderful Peter Parker from what I’ve seen of interviews, clips, and trailers so far.


Read & Reviewed:

I read Lara Jean in May, but it was the last day of May so I’m counting it as June, which makes 7-1/2 books read!

31952703 25639296 20588698

Favorites: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley & The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
Least Favorite: Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

It was really hard for me to pick favorites and least favorites because I can genuinely say that I enjoyed each and every one of the books that I read this month, just to varying degrees. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy my “Least Favorite” pick!


Other Postings:

Uhhh, nothing… If you can’t tell I’m just super happy to have time to read books again! But I do have some ideas for posts and discussions that I’m planning on writing soon…

Site Announcements:

I’m still doing a few more free blog element designs for fun and to keep me designing over the summer! Be sure to check out my Blog Designs page if you’re interested in a fresh new look!


New On My Radar:

There are quite a few new books I’ve discovered the past few months since I was on hiatus! Most of these have yet to be released, but there are a couple that are already out. I’m particularly excited for those two Mindy McGinnis titles, as well as Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood, and the next installment in Libba Bray’s Diviners series, Before the Devil Breaks You. On a lighter note, I found out about Brooding YA Hero and I’m so ready for that satire! There’s probably been many more added since I’ve written this post, so definitely friend me on Goodreads to see what else I’ve discovered!


Currently Reading & Up Next:

30199656 32048554 27274420

I’m currently reading What to Say Next by Julie Buxbaum and enjoying it so far, though I’m not too far in yet. I adored her previous book, Tell Me Three Things last year, so I have high hopes!

Then I’m moving on to Jennifer E. Smith’s new one, Windfall (which also just got picked up by Lauren Graham’s production company!), and Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave. I’m in a very contemporary and summery mood, despite the rainy weather!


That’s all for me today! How was your June? Have you read any of these books I talked about?

7 thoughts on “June 2017 in Review

  1. I saw Wonder Woman the other week and LOVED it. Everything about it was so well done, and I found it hilarious that the actor who played Lupin was so evil haha 🙂 Glad you had a great June– happy July!! 🙂

  2. Your summer sounds perfect so far! I am OBSESSED with Big Little Lies. I watched it a while ago when it was released and it was just one of the best mini series I’ve seen. I love Reese Witherspoon and the California setting was perfection. I’m honestly sort of glad I hadn’t read the book previously so that I didn’t come into the show with any preconceived notions! I’ve heard from most people that the show is better than the book.

  3. Ed Sheeran is AMAZING in concert, I’m so excited for you! I saw him in 2014 and he did all the background vocals + sounds himself. THAT GUY IS TOO TALENTED. Also, those two Mindy McGinnis books are on my radar too! I can’t wait to see what you think about ’em when you get the chance to read 🙂

    1. HE WAS INCREDIBLE!! I really can’t believe he does it all himself so seamlessly! He was such a sweetheart and you could tell he genuinely loves performing — he didn’t stop smiling once! And I’m getting so behind on reading Mindy’s books, I really have to get to them soon!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

