Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


18692431Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Published September 1, 2015, by Delacorte Books for Young Readers.

YA > Contemporary, Romance

ADD IT ON GOODREADS!

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


I finally read this book! While I got this one shortly after its release, I must admit that I finally just got around to reading it now with all of the hype surrounding the movie, which was released this past May.

Since it’s been out for a while now, I’ve read quite a few book reviews, most of which were positive, but not overwhelmingly so. I’d have to agree.

I found Maddy and Olly to be really sweet characters. Their relationship fell into the category of the classic boy next door romance, and in turn, they captured my hopeless romantic of a heart. There’s adorable banter (I’m a sucker for banter), and conversations told through IM!

I knew going in that this was going to be a romance-driven story, but I also had expectations that SCID would be talked about more than it was, especially toward the end. The ending came pretty quickly, and while there were some resolutions, I would have loved it if certain aspects of the story were taken further.

It’s also an extremely fast read. I finished it in a few hours on a rainy day.

If you want a book to put a smile on your face, this will definitely do so! It’s just a super cute, feel-good romance!

[I’m also really looking forward to seeing the movie now that I’ve read the book. I’ve heard wonderful things, and I love the two main actors.]

10 thoughts on “Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

  1. WHY DO I AGREE SO MUCH?

    Personally, I think it was a good, light, fluffy (took me a few hours to read too) read with a kinda-predictable plot twist. Maddy and Olly were the sweetest and I think the format of this book along with the dialogue made it such a sweet and fun read! I was really bummed that there was literally ZERO about SCID because I was so looking forward to that. I think I will be watching the movie adaptation, I’m curious.

    I gave it 3 stars because WAS IT WORTH THE HYPE? I get super annoyed and angry at books that get popular when they are not that great and then there’s fantabulous books that get like such little recognition – it’s so unfair. There’s been so much hype around it previously, but like you, I only read it recently because of the movie release! It was GOOD, but just a little lacking.

  2. I STILL haven’t gotten a chance to read this one but I’ve really been wanting to. I think it had so much hype that I was afraid to read it at first. lol! I’m one of those people that refuse to watch the movie until I’ve read the book so I really need to get on this one. lol! Great review!

  3. Wonderful review! I just finished Everything, Everything and I definitely now see what all the hype was about. I understand that many people thought it was a bit tooooo cliché and lovey dovey but I personally adored Maddy and Olly’s romance. The dialogue in the novel felt so real and raw that it was hard not to feel as though I was in the story myself!
    I look forward to more reviews from you in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

