Graduation, B-Fest, and FINALLY a Book Haul!

Week in ReviewI don’t even think I should be allowed to call these posts “Week in Review” anymore. Maybe “Some Random Chunk of Time Every Few Months in Review” would be more accurate these days…


Guys, I graduated! Well, technically the ceremony is in a couple weeks but my last day of school was last Thursday, so I consider it official! Looking back I can’t believe how fast the time has flown, but I definitely ready to move on to my new life at RISD!

To kick off summer I went to Barnes & Noble’s B-Fest that started on Friday, June 10th. I participated in the trivia and won! I picked up lots of other cool freebies like stickers, exclusive excerpts, chapter samples, posters, and bookmarks. My favorite thing that I won had to be a postcard that I mailed in to the publisher that put me on Random House AND Penguin Teen’s ARC mailing list for a YEAR!13355522_145822879162952_1928306487_n

I also finally photographed (most) of the books that I’ve bought or received over the past couple of months! Yay for productivity!

13320251_1790051507947942_2086272020_n

Bought: Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan, Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw, Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood, Wild Swans by Jessica Spotswood, A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly, The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry and The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood.

From publishers: My Mad Fat Diary: A Memoir by Rae Earl, Every Exquisite Thing by Matthew Quick, The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas, Crow Mountain by Lucy Inglis, Literary Starbucks by Jill Poskanzer, Wilson Josephson, and Nora Katz, and A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess.

From the lovely Andye: Julia Vanishes by Catherine Egan and Fear My Mortality by Everly Frost.

eARCs from publishers: The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson, The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May, The Telling by Alexandra Sirowy, and The Lost and the Found by Cat Clarke.

As for reading, I’ve been getting out of my rut! I read Tell the Wind and Fire after the ROC Teen Book Fest (YES, I know I have to recap that still…lazy Emily). I then moved on to My Mad Fat Diary, which will be reviewed here tomorrow! Next up was Lies I Live By for my blog tour stop (there’s a tour-wide giveaway!). Now I’m currently reading Julia Vanishes, which I’m really liking so far! After that I’m planning on Fear My Mortality, The Unexpected Everything, and The Vanishing Throne.

Lately I’ve also been getting into a YA book podcast, YA Today. I really love listening to this one as it tackles lots of common YA subject matter in a really hilarious and fun way. The host, Kate has a natural “radio host voice” that you’ll get addicted to listening to. Just a note: it’s pretty explicit, so if you’re not comfortable with profanity, this may not be for you. Do you guys have any other podcast suggestions?

So that’s pretty much what’s been going on! I’m so looking forward to what my summer has in store for me. I don’t have a ton of plans as of yet, but I know that this summer before college will be great!

What have you guys been up to?

xo

12 thoughts on “Graduation, B-Fest, and FINALLY a Book Haul!

  1. Congratulations – that’s awesome! ❤ And ah, you look like you got some great books! I really want to read The Unexpected Everything! *_*

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

