TV Binge: THE FALL on BBC Two

thefallforweb_2559293b

This past weekend marked the unofficial start of my February break. Coming off of a work-heavy week in school, I wasn’t feeling much up to reading, so I turned to my other obsession, TV. I pulled up my videos app on my phone and was flipping through to notice that I had downloaded the first episode of THE FALL while it was available for free. I watched the first episode and was hooked. So, that’s the story of how I binge watched two seasons of the show in the span of two days.


The Details

A psychological thriller that examines the lives of two hunters. One is a serial killer who stalks his victims in and around Belfast and the other is a talented Detective Superintendent from the MET who is brought in to catch him.

Watch on: BBC Two (UK), iTunes (US)
Air Date: 2013-
Genres: Drama, Thriller
Rating: TV-MA
Starring: Gillian Anderson, Jamie Dornan

Website | IMDb


The show is really, really dark. I wasn’t expecting it to be as chilling as it was, but it makes for a crazy good psychological thriller. The way that it is filmed and edited was unusual for any of the crime shows that I have seen, and added to the intensity of the show. But the acting is what really did it for me. Gillian Anderson was fabulous, but the real star is Jamie Dornan. He plays the serial killer, Paul Spector, and man he did it well. Spector is also a father, so Dornan has to play many different roles in the show, and he did it so well. Spector was written to be such a dimensional character, but the way that Dornan portrayed his character was amazing. When Spector was with his children, he transformed into another person, completely the opposite of the serial killer facet of himself. When he was with the children, I actually was rooting for him to stop the killing and work it out with his family. But then he transforms to the killer and is chilling, creepy, and disturbing.

The first season is only 5 episodes, while the second is 6. That probably helped with my two-day binge. But even for the short length, I felt like I was watching a highly developed and well-made TV show. BBC never disappoints!

Between the incredible acting, intense plot, and unique filming, THE FALL is definitely a show I would recommend. But I warn you, it’s not for the faint of heart. While the blood and gore are at the minimum for a crime show, it’s a very disturbing concept. We follow not only Gibson (the investigator), but Spector closely. You see both of their lives play out, and Spector’s actions particularly will give you a chill. It basically completely surrounds adult themes (Spector targets only well-off, professional women), and there is some nudity of female corpses. But if you think you can handle that, I urge you to check the show out. It was so, so addicting! Oh, and there are hot guys too. I mean Jamie Dornan of course (but he’s a serial killer in the show so it kind of kills the mood), and Colin Morgan (who looks a lot hotter than his Merlin days…just saying…)!

The end of season two was such a cliff-hanger, but after some research, I found I started watching this show at the perfect time! Filming for the third and final season started in January of this year, and the season is set to air later in the year. Yay!

Have you watched THE FALL?

xo

2 thoughts on “TV Binge: THE FALL on BBC Two

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

