Review AKA a List of My Inner-Fangirl Thoughts Immediately After Reading: Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

Publisher: Spencer Hill Contemporary
Release Date: January 12th, 2016
Series: Ever After, #1
Pages: 350
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary. But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have a crush on her, she turns to her favorite books for advice. Phoebe overhauls her personality to become as awesome as her favorite heroines and win Dev’s heart. But if her plan fails, can she go back to her happy world of fictional boys after falling for the real thing?

my rambles

Special thanks to Spencer Hill Contemporary and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of the book for review!

BEWARE: EXTREME FANGIRLING AHEAD. PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

That gif emoji was me before, during, and after reading Bookishly Ever After:

  • From the moment I read the title I knew this book would be pretty much perfect.
  • Then I read the synopsis…
  • THEN I READ THE BOOK, GUYS!
  • It’s every book-loving, fangirl’s DREAM COME TRUE.
  • Know why? BECAUSE PHOEBE IS YOU. SHE IS ME. SHE IS US.
  • Phoebe reads tons of books and fangirls all the time. She met her favorite author and totally acted just like we do when we meet favorite authors. It’s just so accurate to the life of a real, true, fangirl.
  • Lots of fangirl slang included. I believe OTP was used more than once.
  • She has a crush on a guy that looks like one of her book boyfriends, okay? We all know this is a real problem for us. We must admit it.
  • But then her friend tries to set her up with a non-book-related person, AND IT’S SO CUTE!!!
  • Dev is so sweet and adorable, and their interactions are just CUTENESS OVERLOAD.
  • It’s also kind of a friend to more than a friend thing going on. I love those kinds of romances. Those are the best in my opinion, because they are already close they just have to realize their feelings for each other are romantic! *sighs*
  • So now I’m left pining for a romance like the one in this book therefore becoming MORE like Phoebe yet also less so…???
  • Oh, and speaking of fangirling, it’s a bit like Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell in a way in that there are little excerpts of fake books that Phoebe loves to read between the chapters.
  • But what makes that even better is: PHOEBE TAKES NOTES ABOUT THE ROMANCES IN A NOTEBOOK. AND HOW TO ACT LIKE THE MAIN CHARACTERS! TO TRY AND FLIRT BETTER WITH DEV! ❤ ❤ ❤
  • There’s also diversity and LGBT characters which is always great to see.
  • BASICALLY, EVERYTHING IS ADORABLE.
  • Some parts are cheesey, but I was expecting that.

IN MORE OF A COHERENT SUMMARY: If you consider yourself a fangirl in the least, this book is perfect for you. It will make you smile, and you’ll relate to Phoebe on extremely high levels, and it’s just a good feeling kind of book! Of course it has it’s flaws, but I rate books mainly based on enjoyment level, and Bookishly Ever After was VERY enjoyable. I think this a book you can’t help but like, if even you are hyper-aware of some of the problems. I’m sure I’ll read some mediocre reviews, but I think the things people will find problems with are things like predictability, characters, etc. I bet I’ll find in each review though, that they REALLY ENJOYED it, and that’s what matters.

8

xo

12 thoughts on “Review AKA a List of My Inner-Fangirl Thoughts Immediately After Reading: Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira

  1. OHGOD the summary sounds like the cutest thing ever! Why have I never read this before?! Must read this immediately. Loved the review as always 😀

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

