#Back2BasicsBlogging Chat & My 2016 Resolutions

2016 (1)

HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYONE!

It’s officially January 1st, 2016. I hope you all had a happy and safe New Year’s Eve, and are ready to start the new year off right! I know I am! 2016 will be a year of lots of new things for me: I’ll be heading off to college in the fall, living away from home for the first time, and all of the new that comes with that.

As always, the new year is the time we decide to make some changes to ourselves, and our lives. For my life resolution, in case you were wondering, is to help my mom more. She’s got a lot on her plate, and I felt like in 2015 I wasn’t doing the best to help her out. She compensated for me for the things I neglected to do all the time, and now, I want to give her the chance to have a break. Especially since this is the last chunk of time that I’ll be living with her. Okay, I can’t think that far ahead yet. I’m scaring myself.

But of course, I also have some blogging and reading resolutions that I want to hold myself to this year. On Christmas Eve, Jenna @ Bookiemoji started a Twitter chat with the hashtag #Back2BasicsBlogging. I encourage you, if you’re a blogger, to click that link if you were unaware of it before now. The chat was amazing, and it was helpful for me to recognize the things about my blog and reading that I want to change this year:

  • not worry about having a posting schedule
  • incorporate posts about my life, and in turn…
  • …let my personality shine through more
  • showcase some of my artwork
  • have more thoughtful discussions
  • recognize that I may have an audience that’s not just bloggers (more on that later)
  • don’t focus on the ARCs, and lastly…
  • …make this blog more uniquely ME!

And as for my reading:

  • read those backlist books I paid good money for!
  • request fewer books
  • don’t sign up for reading challenges or read-a-thons — they never, ever, work for me
  • except for the Goodreads Reading Challenge [I plan to read 60 books this year]

There’s quite a bit for me to do this year, but I think they’re easy changes. As my life got more chaotic this year, I saw myself starting to do them already. These changes seem like they’ll make blogging feel like less of a chore, more of a hobby, like it should be! I’m all for less stress. Plus, as I mentioned, I’ll be heading to college, and who know how much time I’ll have for reading. So, I think the addition of other things (like life and posts, and more bookish discussions) will allow me to keep blogging through it all! We’ll see how the whole blogging at college thing works out later, though…

I mentioned that I want to acknowledge that I may have a readership that includes people other than just bloggers. I never really thought about that before the #Back2BasicsBlogging chat. But now that I have, I decided that this would be a great chance to ask you readers to take my blog survey. It shouldn’t take you too long, and I’m hoping this will help me get a better idea of who reads my blog, and what you love to read about from me.

If you took the time to fill that out, THANKS A TON! YOU’RE THE BEST! That’s all for me today! I hope you all have a great New Year’s Day, and a great year ahead!

xo

10 thoughts on “#Back2BasicsBlogging Chat & My 2016 Resolutions

  1. HAPPY NEW YEAR!! ❤ I love the goals you set for yourself, because omg twins. I've set pretty much similar goals for myself. Stressing about a posting schedule is something that I do A LOT, and I don't do posts about myself very often, though I'm working on it, so that's something else we both want to do. Thoughtful discussion, artwork, I'd like to do it all. Lovely post, Emily ❤

  2. Happy New Year! ❤ These goals are amazing! One of my goals, however, is to have a blogging schedule because I think I get stressed if I don’t have one! Also, best of luck for when you go to college! That’s so exciting 🙂

  3. Happy New Year! You have some great goals for 2016. I’m going to work on reading my TBR pile books as well this year.

    Starting college in the fall is going to be so exciting! I hope you love it.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

