Double Review: Famous in Love + Truly, Madly, Famously by Rebecca Serle

Special thanks to Poppy for providing me with a copy of Famous in Love and an advance copy of Truly, Madly, Famously for review!

Famous in Love

Publisher: Poppy
Release Date: September 15th, 2015 (originally Oct. 21st, 2014)
Series: Famous in Love, #1
Pages: 309
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Paige doesn’t think she’s particularly special, but after getting the starring role in a massive film adaptation of the bestselling Locked trilogy, the rest of the world would disagree. Now she’s thrown into the spotlight, and into a world of gossip, rumour and deceit. The only people who know what she’s going through are her two male co-stars, and they can’t stand the sight of each other. Paige knows it’s a mistake to fall in love on the set of a movie, but days of on-screen romance and intensity start to change her mind. The question is, can she keep what happens behind the scenes a secret when the world is watching her every move?

my rambles

Famous in Love is the perfect book to pick up when you’re feeling down, and in need of a good, fast, cute read. It’s like reading reality TV.

What really interested me was that the movie the characters are starring in is a YA book-to-movie adaptation. Cool, right? Unfortunately we don’t get to learn too much about the book itself. The story pretty much revolves around the main character, Paige, getting plucked out of her normal life and shooting to superstardom as an up and coming actress. And of course, there’s the romance. LOVE TRIANGLE ALERT! If you’re anti-love triangle, I’d skip this one. There was something about the love triangle that just didn’t appeal to me. Maybe because one of the love interests was a bit older? It just seemed really unrealistic. But then again, like I said before, it was like reading reality TV, and what’s realistic about that, right?!

I don’t really have much to say about this one, other than it’s pure fun. Super light, full of romance, and hot actors. If that’s your thing, you’ll eat this book up! I really enjoyed Famous in Love as a light pick-me-up. I’m quite excited to read the next book!

3.5 hearts


Truly, Madly, Famously

My review will be spoiler-free but read the synopsis at your own risk!

Publisher: Poppy
Release Date: October 13th, 2015
Series: Famous in Love, #2 | Famous in Love
Pages: 352
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this romantic sequel to Famous in Love, new Hollywood “It Girl” Paige must navigate love with her co-stars, both on and off screen and all in the public eye.

Lights, camera, love!

After being plucked from obscurity, Hollywood’s newest starlet, Paige Townsen, has a hit film to her name and Rainer Devon on her arm. But being half of the world’s most famous couple comes with a price, and soon Paige finds herself dodging photographers; hiding her feelings for her other costar, Jordan Wilder; and navigating tabloid scandals that threaten to tear her and Rainer apart-and end her career as quickly as it began.

Rebecca Serle’s sequel to Famous in Love is filled with the kind of celebrity drama and swoon-worthy romance fit for the silver screen.

my rambles

I really, really liked Truly, Madly, Famously! I would without a doubt say that in comparison to Famous in Love, it’s a big step up. While it’s still filled with romance and drama, there’s more to the story now.

In this book, we get to see Paige’s development from the first movie to the second. I loved getting a look at how she deals with stardom, the tabloids, and just her new life in general. The story strongly follows Paige in her search for the “new Paige.” We get to watch her navigate life and begin to see her make her own decisions, and push for what she wants.

Of course the love triangle is still going strong. I liked it better in this book than the first as well. But I was really happy with how Truly, Madly, Famously made Paige make a true choice between the guys. And not one like in the previous book, where she still had feelings for the other. Paige went through a lot in this book, and I’m glad that she finally realized that her choices were forced before. I don’t know how this will work for the next book, but we’ll see what happens.

Overall, I found Truly, Madly, Famously to be a great sequel, and in my opinion even better than the first book. If you were wary of continuing on with this series, I’d recommend you give it another shot. It’s still filled with drama and romance, but there’s definitely more depth to this sequel!

7


In case you haven’t heard, FAMOUS IN LOVE is soon to be a TV show on ABC Family starring Bella Thorne! The main characters have been cast and table reads have started. Marlene King, known for Pretty Little Liars, is working on the project. I’m excited to see this brought to the small screen — it’s the perfect series for a TV show!

xo

2 thoughts on “Double Review: Famous in Love + Truly, Madly, Famously by Rebecca Serle

  1. I read Famous in Love this year, and I really enjoyed it, it was such a fun and light read ! Even if the love triangle was a little bit annoying, at times, I still had a great time reading it. I wasn’t decided on reading the sequel, but now that I know it’s going to be a tv show, and that you liked it, maybe I should try to read it anyway !! 😀 Great reviews 🙂

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

