Early Excitement: January 2016 (The I Can’t Believe it’s Almost 2016 Edition!)

Early Excitement

Holy cow! It’s been awhile since I’ve written one of these posts. I absolutely love highlighting the books I’m looking forward to in the coming month, so I can’t believe I’ve neglected this feature! But I’m back at it for the new year, and just in time, too. There are SO MANY books coming out that I just can’t wait to get my grabby hands on!

Check out this January 2016 YA Releases list on Goodreads to see (almost) all of the YA titles releasing this January!


Continue reading “Early Excitement: January 2016 (The I Can’t Believe it’s Almost 2016 Edition!)”

Advertisements

Review: Romancing the Dark in the City of Light by Ann Jacobus

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Release Date: October 6th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 288
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Contemporary, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

A troubled teen, living in Paris, is torn between two boys, one of whom encourages her to embrace life, while the other—dark, dangerous, and attractive—urges her to embrace her fatal flaws.

Haunting and beautifully written, with a sharp and distinctive voice that could belong only to this character, Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is an unforgettable young adult novel.

Summer Barnes just moved to Paris to repeat her senior year of high school. After being kicked out of four boarding schools, she has to get on the right track or she risks losing her hefty inheritance. Summer is convinced that meeting the right guy will solve everything. She meets two. Moony, a classmate, is recovering against all odds from a serious car accident, and he encourages Summer to embrace life despite how hard it can be to make it through even one day. But when Summer meets Kurt, a hot, mysterious older man who she just can’t shake, he leads her through the creepy underbelly of the city-and way out of her depth.

When Summer’s behavior manage to alienate everyone, even Moony, she’s forced to decide if a life so difficult is worth living. With an ending that’ll surprise even the most seasoned reader, Romancing the Dark in the City of Light is an unputdownable and utterly compelling novel.

my rambles

Special thanks to Thomas Dunne Books for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

Romancing the Dark in the City of Light was like no book I’ve ever read before. It tells the story of depression and suicide through a lense that is completely unique and beautifully written.

I’m trying to diversify my reading and tackle reading some tougher topics. This book is definitely one of the darkest contemporaries that I’ve read. But the way that Ann Jacobus writes made parts of the story seem almost like magical realism.

The title is extremely fitting as there is a huge juxtaposition between giving in to the dark or living in the light. I won’t say much about it, but by the end, the revelation about one of the boys was so interesting. You’ll probably get an inkling about one of them from the very beginning, but the development of the character continually gives subtle hints about who he really is.

I wasn’t a huge fan of Summer, but I did like the depth of Moony and Kurt. I felt like even though most books like this are character-driven, the story was driven not by Summer, but by the mental illness itself. I liked how there was almost more of a focus on the mental illness being personified as a character and its actions against Summer.

As I said before, Romancing the Dark in the City of Light was so different. If you love contemporary, and like reading darker books, this is the perfect choice for you!

7

xo

Review AKA Fangirling: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Release Date: May 5th, 2015
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1
Pages: 416
Format: Hardcover
Source: Bought
Genre(s): Fairy Tale Retelling, Fantasy, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

my rambles

WHY DIDN’T I READ THIS BOOK SOONER, PEOPLE?!? A Court of Thorns and Roses totally lived up to my expectations and the hype surrounding it. After reading and loving Sarah’s first two Throne of Glass books (Throne of Glass & Crown of Midnight), I was SO ready for more by her. I do have Heir of Fire sitting on my shelf, but something about ACOTAR was calling to me. Plus, pretty much everyone I trust when it comes to reviewing said I’d love it.

Little did I know that I wouldn’t be able to focus on pretty much ANYTHING else while I was in the middle of it. For a fairly large book (okay, large for the average reader), I was able to finish it in about a day. I basically became a speed-reader, because I just COULDN’T PUT IT DOWN!

First of all, like Celaena, Feyre is SUCH AN AWESOME MC. Super badass. From the very first page we get to see her hunting and being awesome. She’s confident with herself. I also liked how prior to the main storyline, she was in a simply physical, I’ll say, relationship with Isaac. In YA we get a lot of female MC’s who make sex a really climactic point in the storyline. Whereas with Feyre, it happens, and it’s not a big deal, which was refreshing.

Of course we can’t forget the world and FANTASY! I loved the conflict between the Fae and the mortals. But I also loved how there was an aspect of inner turmoil within Prythian and between Hybern. I like it when fantasy has bits of political intrigue within their rulers, too. The Fae creatures themselves were awesome. I can’t speak to them all (because there’s a lot — this world has lots of depth), but I will say their distinct abilities are COOL. The other creatures are really interesting, too. I liked the idea of their being less-human-like Fae that are dangerous to the other Fae, as well. Does that make sense? It gets hard to talk about specific aspects without spoiling…

There is romance, too. I know that it’s been kind of controversial regarding the idea that it’s an unhealthy relationship between Tamlin and Feyre. But, I didn’t really get that feeling myself. I can see how others would feel like she was being held against her will, and that at one point was almost taken advantage of. But I think Maas wrote their relationship and story well enough to let the reader know that Tamlin wasn’t doing anything bad when it came to keeping Feyre captive. He tells her multiple times she can leave him, just not the Fae Realm. And regarding the hallway scene: he wasn’t himself then, and was overtaken by magic, so…

I quite liked Feyre and Tamlin’s relationship. Especially when you learn more about how it came to be, I found it really sweet, actually. There are a number of steamy scenes, too, if that’s you’re thing. But, while I loved Tamlin, I still felt like there was a little something missing from him. He didn’t seem completely developed. He was a little dry when he wasn’t expressing his great affections for Feyre or filled with passion!

There’s tons of action, too. Those were some of my absolute favorite scenes. BECAUSE UM, MORE FEYRE BADASSERY!!

I liked the ending a lot, and had it not been for Feyre’s final conversation with Rhys (more on him later), I would have called it pretty finite. BUT, SHE HAS A MOMENT WITH HIM THAT MADE ME GO WHATTTT!?!??!?!? And basically, now I need A Court of Mist and Fury ASAP. I can definitely see a setup for a possible love triangle in the next book, which I’m unsure whether I want or not.

I LOVE RHYS. BUT I LOVE FEYRE AND TAMLIN AS A COUPLE. Rhys is the sexy bad boy that I love, but I just wish there had been MORE of him in the book because then I’d definitely be all: GREEN LIGHT ON THE LOVE TRIANGLE. And shipping Feyre and Rhys all the way to the moon. When they did have scenes together, the sexual tension was on OVERLOAD. But, alas he was not very prominent until the last bit of the book. So I think I will continue to ship Feyre and Tamlin, and just keep Rhys for myself. Sounds good to me!

So all in all, I REALLY liked ACOTAR. About just as much as I like the Throne of Glass series so far. I did have my minor problems with Tamlin being sort of lacking in personality when he wasn’t making out with Feyre, but that didn’t affect my love of the book too much, CLEARLY. I STILL LOVE TAMLIN TOO. ❤

8

xo

MERRY CHRISTMAS! & Top 10 of 2015 | Books I’m Looking Forward to in 2016

christmas

Hello everyone! I just wanted to wish you all a very Merry Christmas to all those that celebrate! If not, then Happy Holidays! I hope you all have a lovely day spent with family and friends and the perfect read. I was going to say by the warm fire, but where I am right now it’s about 60 degrees Fahrenheit, so, no fire needed! Also, I’m writing this post on Christmas Eve, but I’ll most likely take to Twitter sometime Christmas day to chat with everyone. So, now on to the final day of Top 10 of 2015! Continue reading “MERRY CHRISTMAS! & Top 10 of 2015 | Books I’m Looking Forward to in 2016”

Top 10 of 2015 | Best Book Boyfriends

top10_horizontal

It’s Christmas Eve! What better way to celebrate the holidays than with a list of hot, fictional boys? I know what (or should I say who) I’m wishing for under the tree tomorrow…

emmaswoon

All of my boyfriends on this list came into my life in 2015 when their books were released. They’ve endured through to the end of this year, beating out many possible competitors, for the very special place in my fangirl heart. Oh, and I can’t seem to find words to express my love for these men, therefore I’ve resorted to gifs. 

Best Book Boyfriends of 2015

Arin from The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

{source}

Khalid from The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

{source}

Continue reading “Top 10 of 2015 | Best Book Boyfriends”