Review: The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

18982137Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: December 8th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 272
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

It’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey…

With her trusty baton and six insanely organized clipboards, drum major Liza Sanders is about to take Destiny by storm—the boat, that is. When Liza discovered that her beloved band was losing funding, she found Destiny, a luxury cruise ship complete with pools, midnight chocolate buffets, and a $25,000 spring break talent show prize.

Liza can’t imagine senior year without the band, and nothing will distract her from achieving victory. She’s therefore not interested when her old camp crush, Lenny, shows up on board, looking shockingly hipster-hot. And she’s especially not interested in Russ, the probably-as-dumb-as-he-is-cute prankster jock whose ex, Demi, happens be Liza’s ex–best friend and leader of the Athenas, a show choir that’s the band’s greatest competition.

But it’s not going to be smooth sailing. After the Destiny breaks down, all of Liza’s best-laid plans start to go awry. Liza likes to think of herself as an expert at almost everything, but when it comes to love, she’s about to find herself lost at sea.

my rambles

Special thanks to Delacorte Press and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of this book for review!

I requested The Trouble with Destiny on NetGalley way back in the beginning of the year because I had recently read Lauren Morrill’s other book, Being Sloane Jacobs (pardon the old post formatting). I knew that at some point during the year I would be in need of a cute contemporary, and after really enjoying BSJ, I thought this was a good choice. While I didn’t love The Trouble with Destiny as much as BSJ, I still found it to be a sweet, quick, and fun book.

There are two main focuses to the story: the main character Liza’s school band, and her love life. I liked both aspects, but neither left me with a lasting sense of amazing after reading the book. There’s a lot of drama and cheese, which makes me feel like this would be a bigger hit with the younger end of the YA spectrum. There are tons of lines that you just can’t help but grinning because they’re so adorable. It’s a classic case of the girl having a crush on the wrong guy, finding out the guy she likes is a jerk, and then falling in love with the guy that’s been there all along but she’s neglected to notice. While I’ve seen the storyline before in tons of other contemporaries, I still just can’t help but enjoy them anyway!

The setting of a cruise ship did spice things up a bit, but again, I wasn’t awestruck by the story. It was fast-paced, but some of the scenes were a little too over dramatic. Liza acted young for a junior in high school, but her voice wasn’t too annoying to take away from the book.

Clearly this isn’t going to be the book you pick up for a heavy, emotional contemporary romance. But, give it a try if you’re looking for a book to, say, take on a cruise? It’s a bunch of fun and the ending is REALLY REALLY CUTE OKAY?

I say give this a try if you’re a younger YA reader. And even if you’re older you could still get enjoyment and a smile from The Trouble with Destiny!

3.5 hearts

xo

4 thoughts on “Review: The Trouble with Destiny by Lauren Morrill

  1. Nice review! I’m always open to these cute, light and fluffy contemporaries so I’ll definitely be picking this one up. 🙂 plus, I love how the main character is a drum major! (I’m aiming for that next year in marching band haha)
    Not a fan of love triangles, but this one seems cute so I don’t think I’d mind.

  2. This sounds really sweet! I’m okay with the not-so-intense romances – sometimes you need a break from those and read something fluffy. Funny it’s on a cruise – my family and I are thinking of going one (though it’s very unlikely anyway) but I’d be so nervous to go on cruise ships! I think I’ve watched too many disaster movies. But thanks for the lovely review – I’ll keep an eye out for this one if I ever feel like something sweet. ♥

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

