Review: The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Release Date: September 15th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Fantasy, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

The Palomas and the Corbeaus have long been rivals and enemies, locked in an escalating feud for more than a generation. Both families make their living as traveling performers in competing shows—the Palomas swimming in mermaid exhibitions, the Corbeaus, former tightrope walkers, performing in the tallest trees they can find.

Lace Paloma may be new to her family’s show, but she knows as well as anyone that the Corbeaus are pure magia negra, black magic from the devil himself. Simply touching one could mean death, and she’s been taught since birth to keep away. But when disaster strikes the small town where both families are performing, it’s a Corbeau boy, Cluck, who saves Lace’s life. And his touch immerses her in the world of the Corbeaus, where falling for him could turn his own family against him, and one misstep can be just as dangerous on the ground as it is in the trees.

Beautifully written, and richly imaginative, The Weight of Feathers is an utterly captivating young adult novel by a talented new voice.

my rambles

Special thanks to Thomas Dunne Books for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

I’m going to declare right now that The Weight of Feathers is one of my favorite books that I’ve read this year. This book and I go further back then when it landed on my doorstep, though. I can’t even remember when I first heard about the book, but the cover blew me away with its simplistic, magical beauty. And with a closer look, Sabaa Tahir’s (author of An Ember in the Ashes, which I still need to read), blurb made me request it from the publisher.

“A gripping, beautifully rendered story…and a fantastical world as captivating as that of The Night Circus.”

UM, YES PLEASE. For those of you that don’t know, The Night Circus is one of my all-time favorite books. So, as I mentioned, that book name dropped sealed the deal, and I eagerly requested it. It landed on my porch, I did a happy dance, and then life got in the way and kept me from reading it until now. OH MY GOSH, GUYS. THIS BOOK IS ALL THINGS BEAUTIFUL AND SENT ME ON AN EMOTIONAL ROLLERCOASTER. My eyes leaked throughout the book not only because of its beauty but also because THE FEELS.

It’s SO MAGICAL. There’s two feuding circus families, and fantastical elements that you can’t really tell if they’re just stories or if things are really happening. The Palomas are Spanish and they perform as mermaids, but they’re not really. The Corbeaus are French and they perform as birds, and they actually have feathers growing out of them underneath their hair. Enter the forbidden romance between Lace Paloma and Cluck Corbeau, and yup, there go my eyes leaking again at the beauty through which this story is told…

THE ENDING WAS JUST SO PERFECT, I WASN’T EXPECTING THIS PERFECT ENDING BUT I’M SO HAPPY I GOT IT. Everything just fell into the perfect place, and that all just added to the perfection that already was this book BEFORE I got to the ending!

I could go on forever telling you about just how beautiful this book is (let’s not count to see how many times I said beautiful in this review), but really you just have to read it for yourself. PLEASE. If you like fantasy books that are magical and *cough* beautiful *cough* then you MUST read this book. I will now read anything that Anna-Marie McLemore ever writes because MY GOODNESS THIS BOOK. THE FEELS. I JUST. NOPE. My eyes are almost leaking again just thinking about it.

Do yourself a favor and just read this book. You won’t regret reading one perfect page of it.

9

5 hearts isn’t really enough, to be honest. Infinite hearts to this book.

xo

4 thoughts on “Review: The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

