Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

Publisher: Poppy
Release Date: September 1st, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 256
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

On the night before they leave for college, Clare and Aidan only have one thing left to do: figure out whether they should stay together or break up. Over the course of twelve hours, they’ll retrace the steps of their relationship, trying to find something in their past that might help them decide what their future should be. The night will lead them to friends and family, familiar landmarks and unexpected places, hard truths and surprising revelations. But as the clock winds down and morning approaches, so does their inevitable goodbye. The question is, will it be goodbye for now or goodbye forever?

This new must-read novel from Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, explores the difficult choices that must be made when life and love lead in different directions.

my rambles

Special thanks to Poppy and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of the book for review.

Anyone who knows me, knows that Jennifer E. Smith is one of my favorite contemporary authors. When I heard that she was coming out with another cutesy contemp I knew that I HAD to pick it up. Unfortunately, Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between fell short of the charm that Jen normally brings.

HGaEiB was lacking the magic of the adorable falling in love romance that I can normally count on from all of Jennifer E. Smith’s books. Maybe it’s because the couple starts out the book as just that. No adorable scenes (except for flashbacks) of the couple actually falling in love. I wasn’t a fan of the characters, either. It seemed like Clare was just looking for problems between her and Aidan to give them a reason to break up.

My favorite part was the ending, which will definitely give you the feels. The “Prologue” that acts as an epilogue will definitely if the last chapters don’t. I also loved that it was told during one whole night — you’ll find that Jen is the queen of writing stories set in small time periods, random places, and almost unbelievable circumstances. But, HGaEiB is different in that it’s an all too real citation that I’m sure many will be able to relate to.

I still enjoyed the book, but it just didn’t live up to my extremely high expectations left by her past stories. As a small book, it’s an extremely short read, perfect to pick up on the trip to your first year of college, maybe?

xo

8 thoughts on “Review: Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. I haven’t read any of Jennifer E. Smith’s books, but I’ve been meaning to for aaages! It’s a shame that this one didn’t work out as well for you, what book would you suggest starting with?

    1. I loved The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight the most, so I’d start there. She also has another that is a little more different than her more recent titles, called You Are Here which is great as well. Even though the others weren’t AS good as those, I still think she’s a wonderful author! A lovely person, too! 😉

  2. Ugh, sorry you didn’t enjoy this! I think the whole breaking up before college thing has to be executed just right to be successful these days. I actually remember the day before I left for college, I drove while crying out to where my boyfriend at the time was getting on a bus for a sports event because it was the last time I’d see him for a while. Of course we didn’t last too long after that but the feels were so intense then. I wonder if I’d enjoy this?

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

