Review: The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur

Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books
Release Date: August 4th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Adult, Contemporary, Mystery
Synopsis from Goodreads:

A haunting story about the destructive power of secrets, this accomplished and gripping suspenseful women’s fiction debut is perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf

Jo has been hiding the truth about her role in her high school boyfriend’s drowning for sixteen years. Every summer, she drops her children off with her mother at the lakeside community where she spent summers growing up, but cannot bear to stay herself; everything about the lake reminds her of the guilt she feels. For her daughter Caroline, however, the lake is a precious world apart; its familiarity and sameness comforts her every year despite the changes in her life outside its bounds. At twelve years old and caught between childhood and adolescence, she longs to win her mother’s love and doesn’t understand why Jo keeps running away.

Then seven-year-old Sara Starr goes missing from the community beach. Rescue workers fail to uncover any sign of her—but instead dredge up the bones Jo hoped would never be discovered, shattering the quiet lakeside community’s tranquility. Caroline was one of the last people to see Sara alive on the beach, and feels responsible for her disappearance. She takes it upon herself to figure out what happened to the little girl. As Caroline searches for Sara, she uncovers the secrets her mother has been hiding, unraveling the very foundation of everything she knows about herself and her family. The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur is a riveting novel that is impossible to put down and hard to forget.

my rambles

Special thanks to Thomas Dunne Books for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

The Secrets of Lake Road is a book that I thoroughly enjoyed! Every summer I go to the lake with family and friends, so the setting and basis for the story was something familiar, which just added to my enjoyment.

I found The Secrets of Lake Road to be unique in that it follows characters that are all different ages: from a grandmother, to mothers, to teens, and children young and old. For this reason I would classify the book as one that anyone would enjoy (young adults to grandmothers — in fact I’ve recommended that my own mom pick it up!).

And then of course there is the plot of the book — a mystery surrounding a main character’s parents from the past — which is suspenseful and emotional all at once. There are kind of two stories happening that become intertwined, one with the parents and one with the children.

But underneath the mystery, it’s largely about family and friendship, being young, and growing up.

The ending was kind of open which I wasn’t really expecting, but I still found it to be satisfying. Both the first and the last lines of the book will leave an impression on you, but for different reasons. It’s a perfect alternative to the typical beachy summer read, and I’d highly recommend it!

xo

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Review: The Secrets of Lake Road by Karen Katchur

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s