Review: Adrift by Paul Griffin

Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: July 28th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Adventure, Contemporary
Synopsis from Goodreads:

From critically acclaimed writer Paul Griffin comes a fast-paced young adult novel about five very different teens lost at sea with no one to count on but each other.

Matt and John are best friends working out in Montauk for the summer. When Driana, JoJo and Stef invite the boys to their Hamptons mansion, Matt and John find themselves in a sticky situation where temptation rivals sensibility. The newfound friends head out into the Atlantic after midnight in a stolen boat. None of them come back whole, and not all of them come back.

my rambles

Special thanks to Scholastic Press for providing me with a copy of the book for review!

Okay, wow. So Adrift is a heavy book. Heavier than what I was expecting to say the least. Not only does it deal with the struggles of survival stranded out at sea, but also the internal and mental tensions that the characters are faced with from everyday life and their actions.

I really liked the storyline of Adrift, and that there was more than just the problem of a group of kids being stranded in the middle of the ocean. The story had depth, and other side stories that made the book very realistic, but also that much darker and emotional.

While I greatly enjoyed the story, I really didn’t care for the characters. Matt was the most tolerable out of all of them in my opinion, probably because we read from his point of view for the majority of the book. John was just so stoic, that although his true emotions are later revealed, I couldn’t change my opinion on him. He was just plain cold. Dri had to be my absolute least favorite…for some reason she just made me cringe. She was the typical pretty rich girl, that had brains behind her looks and all that jazz.

But the thing that I disliked the most was the romance, UGH. Insta-love, much?! From the moment Matt lays eyes on Dri he feels something new and different, and felt this connection… And when they finally get stranded on the boat it’s like they’ve known each other forever. It was noted in the book that being put in situations like theirs can bring people together quickly, but they declare their love for each other. That’s not okay for such a short amount of time.

As I’m writing this review I’m realizing that I didn’t really enjoy Adrift as much as I first thought, when I look back at the characters, relationships, etc. But I really did enjoy the story. It was an extremely fast read, and I kept turning pages wanting to know how the tensions would defuse, and if the kids would ever be rescued. [I hope this review doesn’t turn out to sound too negative, because I did like the book for the most part!]

If you’re looking for a book heavy on the action and adventure, Adrift may not be your book. It’s more equal parts psychological, suspense, and adventure rolled into one. It’s definitely a unique and different way to look at survival stories, and while I wasn’t a huge fan of certain parts, the story is definitely worth the read!

xo

One thought on “Review: Adrift by Paul Griffin

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

