Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books
Release Date: May 26th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Contemporary, Mystery
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Once upon a time, two best friends created a princess together. Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure.

Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her.

Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window.

Princess X?

When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There’s an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby’s story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenon – her best friend, Libby, who lives.

my rambles

Special thanks to Scholastic for providing me with an awesome finished copy of the book for review!

 I Am Princess X was such a cool and refreshing read that both middle grade and YA readers will love! At first I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this book. I’m not really a graphic novel reader, nor comic book reader, but I found the blend of comics and the real story was really awesome. The comic illustrations were beautiful and I loved how the comic wasn’t just another side story, but really melded with the main one.

The comic story greatly paralleled the main “real” story, and allowed for the pieces of the mystery to be put together in a cool way. Although I did find the story to be pretty predictable due to this fact, I still thought that it was such a unique and fun idea.

While I felt the story was geared more toward older middle grade readers, with the main focus of the story on friendship and the mystery, I Am Princess X could definitely appeal to YA readers. There was action and suspense, but I found it to be an extremely fast read with the interludes of the comic strips.

Based on the cover and the synopsis alone, I Am Princess X would probably have been a book that I passed over had I not been sent it by the publisher. I’m really glad that I gave it a shot, though, because it was a book that will surprise you in a good way! I’ll be looking out for my YA novels from Cherie Priest!

xo

4 thoughts on “Review: I Am Princess X by Cherie Priest

  1. I’ve never heard of this book, but it actually sounds really interesting. I think I may have to check it out, especially after your review. It sounds interesting and like it may be a really interesting read, so thank you for reviewing!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

