Review: An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund

Publisher: Zonderkidz-Books
Release Date: March 3rd, 2015
Series: An Uncertain Choice, #1
Pages: 256
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre(s): Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Due to her parents’ promise at her birth, Lady Rosemarie has been prepared to become a nun on the day she turns eighteen. Then, a month before her birthday, a friend of her father’s enters the kingdom and proclaims her parents’ will left a second choice. If Rosemarie can marry before the eve of her eighteenth year, she will be exempt from the ancient vow.

Before long, Rosemarie is presented with the three most handsome and brave knights in the land. But when the competition for her heart seemingly results in a knight playing foul, she begins to wonder if the cloister is the best place after all. If only one of the knights the one who appears the most guilty had not already captured her heart.

DNFDNF’ed at 45%

my rambles

I was really upset when I finally made the decision to mark this book as “DNF” because I really wanted to love this book, but I could tell exactly where everything was going. It was to the point where I could guess how the dialogue and exchanges would go.

From the very first scene I was able to guess the main love interest, and sure enough, I was correct. Predictability isn’t always a bad thing, but when a book is so predictable it becomes dull to read. Not only was the predictability aspect something that I didn’t like, but the exchanges between Rosemarie and the knight seemed forced and unrealistic.

The idea for the storyline to me was very much like a mix of The Selection by Kiera Cass and Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers but for a much younger audience, looking for an innocent and clean read.

Not that innocent and clean are bad things — there aren’t enough books that are suitable for younger YA readers. But this book just wasn’t for me. I think the predictability aspects make it better suited to younger readers. I’d definitely recommend this to pre-teens and younger YA readers who are looking for a cute romance that is clean in ways that some other YA romances are lacking.

Although I did not finish An Uncertain Choice, I don’t think that this book is bad. It’s just better suited for a younger audience and that’s the reason why I chose not to continue on with the book and give it a low star rating. It doesn’t deserve a low star rating from what I read, just the right audience!

*There are also some religious undertones to the book, as this was published by a Christian publishing company. This did not at all affect my opinion on this particular book, though.

xo

4 thoughts on “Review: An Uncertain Choice by Jody Hedlund

  1. Oh dear, I don’t think I’d want to pick this one up then! I cannot deal with predictable books–I get bored way too easily.

  2. I read the synopsis, and it definitely sounded promising, but who in the world wants to read a predictable book?! It sucks having to DNF a book, but hey, sometimes it must be done lol

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

