Review: Volition by Lily Paradis

Publisher: Empire Books
Release Date: February 9th, 2015
Series: N/A
Pages: 309
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Genre(s): Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
Synopsis from Goodreads:

You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at first, and all at once shreds every fiber of your being?

It’s because you’re contradicting the universe.

Everything lines up so perfectly that you couldn’t have imagined it to work out better, but then you have to go and do everything humanly possible to ruin it because you can’t stand to have it go right?

That’s what I did.

I did it because there’s a darkness that surrounds me, and I think I want it there.

My name is Tate McKenna, and my soul is blacker than my heart.

my rambles

Special thanks to Empire Books for providing me with an advance copy of the book for review!

I want to start this review by saying this: my review will be pretty vague in that it’s just one of those books you can’t really talk about, but have to read it for yourself to really understand. I also know that both the author and the publisher wanted everyone that decided to pick up Volition to go in pretty blind, so for those two reasons, this review will most likely be me telling you to go and read this book NOW.

I know author’s notes don’t really count as a part of the story, but I urge you to read the note from Lily Paradis to us, her readers, at the beginning of Volition. She sets you up for what’s to come, and I think it really affected my reading of the story.

So, Volition. It’s twisted, emotional, different, and will tear your soul out. It’s extremely addicting, and I put it down for only necessary functions such as eating and sleep. When I wasn’t reading this book it was consuming my thoughts. Not only is the story a beautiful one of love, soul-mates, relationships, and self-discovery, but the writing is darkly poetic.

I’ll say this flat out before I say any more: This isn’t a book for everyone. There’s a love triangle, but not your typical one. Everything about Volition is so much in the gray areas you just have to read it for yourself.

Being inside Tate’s mind is like being inside no other character I’ve ever read before. She’s not a character that you fall in love with because of her personality. She’s dark and negative, but being that Volition is written for the most part from her perspective you understand why she’s this way. You better understand the love triangle, and if you’re like me, you’ll be okay with it. (Not going to lie I was rooting for the other guy to be with Tate, though).

All in all, Volition was like no other book I had experienced before. It was so different and intense and I hurt while I was reading it. As Tate would say, my soul ached.

(I give this book all the stars in the world.)

xo

14 thoughts on “Review: Volition by Lily Paradis

  1. I have Ignite on my kindle and I am so excited to read it and then jump right away on to this book. Wow, this sounds so amazing the way you put it. Ooooh, me want to be inside Tate’s heaaaad! Let’s see. Let’s see. Great review, Emily! 😀

  2. Eep, I’m so intrigued! Though this doesn’t sound like the kind of book I’d run out and buy immediately, it has captured my interest. I think I’m even more intrigued that we didn’t get any real sort of plot summary, because it sounds like the characters and tone might be even more important. I haven’t read any NA before, so this would be my first one. This sounds like the kind of book that would test so apart and give you a really bad book hangover, haha. But if you really loved it…

    1. Yeah I wasn’t sure what to expect at first either. I probably wouldn’t pick up a book like this had I not been asked to review it because it’s a bit out of my comfort zone. But as you could tell from my review I’m so happy I read it! 🙂

  3. I’m glad you liked it, Emily. I enjoyed Lily Paradis’ first novel but didn’t love it. I still want to give this one a go. It sounds so different to Ignite, though, and I am super intrigued by the vagueness of it all. Thank you for not giving anything away, I just needed someone to tell me that this is a good book and that it’s worth reading. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

