Mini Movie Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Director: Francis Lawrence
Release Date: November 21st, 2014
Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth
Genre(s): Adventure, Sci-fi
Rating: PG-13
About the Film:

When Katniss destroys the games, she goes to District 13 after District 12 is destroyed. She meets President Coin who convinces her to be the symbol of rebellion, while trying to save Peeta from the Capitol.

*All information about the film above taken from IMDb.com

my rambles

How did I not see this movie until just now? I had heard it was amazing and everyone that said so was 100% correct. I wasn’t a fan of the book, but this movie was great!

Jennifer Lawrence is such a great actor, and she makes these films what they are. I was completely immersed in the world and story, and gosh was it so emotional! The song, the deaths, everything about it was like a stab at my heart, even though I already knew what was going to happen.

Can I just take a moment and talk about the cat? Yeah I love that cat…

While I was watching I kept thinking how the movie seemed so much longer than two hours. But that wasn’t a bad thing at all. This is one of the times where I was really happy that they decided to split the film into two parts. Clearly, they knew what they were doing and did an extremely good job doing it!

I was nervous about seeing this movie, but it definitely surpassed my expectations, and dare I say that it was better than the book? Not sure how Part 2 will go (well mostly because I hated how the story went), but I’m hopeful!

4.5

xo

7 thoughts on “Mini Movie Review: The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

  1. Yes I feel the same way about the second movie – I really am not sure how well I’ll handle that one. I know they kept to the books mostly for the first three movies, and now I hope they completely change part II!

  2. I haven’t watched it yet either for some reason (well, actually 2 reasons — finals and the fact that I went to see Interstellar twice, haha) so by now I wasn’t sure if I would see it in theaters. But I’m so happy to know that splitting the book worked out so well! If you were so immersed in it even knowing what was going to happen (because of the book) I think that must be a sure sign that it’s really good.

    1. Yes, I think the movie adaptations of these books are taking over the actual books. Having read more books since I read THG trilogy what feels like a million years ago, I’ve realized there’s better writing out there. And while I believe the storyline is extremely relevant and important, the writing dragged the book down. So, I’m a fan of these movies better now, I guess! :O

  3. I haven’t been too sure about watching this movie because in my opinion, the book Mockingjay was plain boring and I disliked it the most of the trilogy >< But then again, Catching Fire was one of my favourite book to film adaptions ever. So, maybe this one will be good and I should go watch it now!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

