What I Use to Make My Blog Graphics

Canva

Recently I’ve gotten some comments and compliments (thank you!) on my blog graphics and banners, and people have been wondering what site I use to make them. I wanted to share with you Canva, the website, and talk about the reasons I love it, and what it offers!

I discovered Canva right when I started blogging by Googling about free graphic design websites. I am very familiar with Adobe PhotoshopΒ from taking an advertising and graphic design course at my school, but I don’t own it for myself as it is outrageously expensive! I’m not very handy at drawing and creating art on the computer either, so premade clipart isΒ a godsend! I’ve found Canva to be a wonderful alternative when it comes to making blog graphics. The user interface is very simplistic, and everything is so easy to use. It’s great for both experienced designers that want to make quick and easy graphics, but also newbies that have never designed before! I particularly like their Design School which offers a bunch of quick tutorials for creating graphics with Canva.

Here are a few of my favorite things that Canva offers!

  • The site gives you the opportunity to choose from preset graphic options such as Β Social Media button, Facebook Covers and Posts, Instagram posts, Blog Graphics, Twitter Post, Business Cards, etc.! But you can also use custom dimensions (in pixels, millimeters, or inches) to create things like blog banners so that your graphic will fit perfectly with your site or whatever else you want to use it for!
  • There are tons of free clip art and shapes that are available for use. And if there is something you want to use that is paid, it costs only $1.00. (Every graphic that I’ve made with Canva has been all free elements or my own images, or clip art that I’ve found online for free.)
  • That brings me to another great feature: you can upload any of your own images (like vectors, pictures, etc.) to use in your projects.
  • There are so many different fonts you can use for text, and they keep adding more!
  • For those of you that don’t want to work too hard with your design: there are templates that you can use and customize to fit your needs, but you still have the basics already done for you!
  • When you’re all finished it gives you the option to download your graphic as either an image (png) or a PDF file. I’ve done both and they download just as clear and beautiful as on the site.

Those are just a few of the reasons why I LOVE Canva, but I’m sure if you check it out yourself you’ll find many more reasons to love it too!

What program or site do you use to make blog graphics?

xo

40 thoughts on “What I Use to Make My Blog Graphics

  1. I’ve always wondered what everyone else used! I’ve been using PicMonkey for the longest time but they are limited in the vectors and images that they have. I’ve been looking for a new graphics editor recently, so thank you for this post πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve been looking for a good site to make graphics for ages! This site looks really good, thank you. πŸ™‚

  3. Ooh I’ve never heard of Canva before but it sounds amazing! Thanks so much for sharing this to everyone, girl πŸ™‚

  4. I still use PicMonkey for my graphics even though there are tons of fantastic options out there like this. thank you bringing Canva to the forefront! The selection of fonts sounds amazing. I love having fun fonts in my graphics. It sounds really interesting so I’ll give it a try the next time I’m in need of a new graphic!

  5. I saw you mention Canva in a comment on your blog the other day and I went to the website and it’s amazing! I used to mainly use Picmonkey but you have to pay for a lot of the features now, so it’s not as easy to use it anymore. Thanks for letting us know about this! ❀

  6. I’ve never hear of Canva, but it looks like a useful resource! I use PowerPoint for everything on my blog, from my header to my book review templates. I’ve had very little problems so far and it lets me use all of my favorite fonts, which is most important to me! πŸ™‚ What a fun discussion to start.

  7. I use Canva, and I’m definitely satisfied with what they offer! I’m one of those people who struggles with creating graphics because I’m no good with color combos/mixing fonts/using negative space/knowing when too many elements is too much, and Canva is really teaching me a lot! I’m a huge fan of their design school and their templates!

  8. I’m so glad I’ve seen this post! I hate Photoshop, so it’s great to know that there is a free alternative to use. ( You may be wondering who is this strange person suddenly commenting on my blog – I saw the link over at Oh, the Books :-D)

  9. I’m pretty sure I’ve heard of Canva before but I’m not sure if I actually checked it out – off to fix that now! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  10. Honestly I’ve never heard of Canva before, but you obviously know how to use it well! I love your new banner!! I personally switch between GIMP and Photoshop. I also have Illustrator but I don’t know how to use it very well. :/

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

