2015 Blogging Resolutions

2015 blogging resolutions

February 7th of this year was the first day that I ever started blogging. I wrote and published my first post on that day, and looking back I can happily and proudly say that I’ve improved since. So since I’ve almost been blogging for a year, I’m reflecting on my almost year of blogging just in time for New Year’s resolutions! Here are the things I hope to achieve and work at during the upcoming year of 2015!!


1. Cut back my blogging schedule, but write better quality posts.

At the moment, my current blogging schedule consists of a post every Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday. WHAT WAS I THINKING?! I have a real life, too! I have to have TIME to READ the books, too! I went gung-ho over the summer and for some reason thought I could keep up with that schedule. Well, obviously I can’t as you can see from the lack of posts I’ve been writing for the last few months. I’m not sure if I’ll have a blogging schedule next year or not, but I know I want to cut it down to 3 posts a week (review, meme, wrap-up/haul post), and throw in either an extra review or discussion post WHEN I HAVE TIME. Remember that little bit I wrote on my About page where I said I bite off more than I can chew? That old blog schedule was exactly that. With a smaller number of posts, I hope to be able to write better content for the posts and spend more time writing reviews!

2. Break out of the book blogging “mold”

There are SO MANY book bloggers out there. And reflecting on my blog I can honestly say that there isn’t really much that sets me apart from every other one. So next year I want to show more personality, diversify the blog, and become more unique. I’m not sure what exactly this entails (maybe more personal posts, lots more discussions, etc.) but I know that it’s a must. I want you guys to get to know me a little better!

3. Become a better commenter

I wrote a post a little while ago about how I’m a horrible commenter. Since then, I’ve caught up with all of those backlogged comments and replied to almost every one of them! But I still want to make sure that I stick to this and keep myself accountable. I am going to try and reply to the comments as they come in on my phone, and if not, then I am devoting a time of day to respond to comments. This also means I have to keep my end of the bargain commenting BACK. I have to also devote a time of day to READING other blogs and commenting on them!

4. Make blogging a part of my routine

Like I want to devote specific times to commenting and reading blogs, I also want to devote a chunk of time to writing posts and making sure they’re the best I can make them. I think this will have to be either a time during the weekend or a Friday afternoon, when I won’t have the bother of school and homework hanging over my head!

5. Let people know I blog

My parents still don’t know I have a book blog. This is mainly because I pitched the idea a few years ago when I was younger and they were against it for safety reasons. I want this to change. I want them to know I have a blog and what I do. Not only do I want to share the blog with my parents but also my friends. I’ve shown some but not all. And lastly share it with authors I meet at book events, just to start a relationship and friendship!

Those are the things I’m hoping to improve with myself and blogging next year! What resolutions are you making for blogging in 2015?

xo

26 thoughts on “2015 Blogging Resolutions

  1. I feel the same way about making my blog more unique and different from the average book blog. I’ve got some ideas, but I think it’ll take a bit of time. I really like your blog, and I’ve enjoyed reading all of your posts these past few months. Best of luck with all of your goals! 🙂

  2. Yes for uniqueness! That’s a great way of putting it. I love memes and the fact that they make a wonderful schedule filler, but I also want to make my blog stand out and share things about myself more often.
    I also put more interaction on my TTT today (http://ofdragonsandhearts.com/2014/12/top-ten-tuesday-2015-book-resolutions/) because I feel like one of the best aspects of blogging is belonging to the community.
    Happy New Year and good luck with your resolutions! 🙂

  3. I definitely think quality over quantity. Not that just because you’re posting a lot means that your posts aren’t good – there are definitely some bloggers who consistently churn out fantastic content and it’s like HOW?? HOW DO YOU DO THIS?? – but sometimes it does get hard to manage! Which is why I don’t have a schedule any more (probably isn’t good for organization purposes though) and just do whatever I want… Can’t say if it’s working well but it’s definitely less stress which is good I suppose?

    And #2 is something I think about a lot. There are a lot of blogs out there now so it’s like what do I have to offer? Like why should people read my blog over the ten thousand others out there? What makes me special and unique? And I… still haven’t figured that out yet but it’s good to think about it if you’re planning on really building a brand.

    Anyway fantastic goals! I think they’re all ones that I’d like to work on this coming year too. Good luck Emily! 🙂

  4. These are really great goals! Seriously, you can tell that you took a lot of time and preparation into coming up with them. I’m actually working on my list of goals right now and one is going to be dedicated to blogging. I love book blogging but it’s an over saturated market nowadays and I want to keep doing it, but it’s a lot (and I know you know this) A LOT of work. That being said, I think it just comes down to better organization and sometimes that’s the hardest thing of all.

    PS I also think you should be as loud about your blog as you can be – it’s a community and you’ll definitely be welcomed into it right away. Oh and when it comes to your parents, just tell them. Chances are, they’ll say “oh that’s neat” and not necessarily understand it, besides knowing that it happens on the internet. I remember my Dad asked me what the definition of a blog was when I told them about it LOL

  5. I totally understand the struggle of trying to balance posting a lot, but then posting so much you can’t keep up with reading the actual books! (Which is the basis of blogging for us book bloggers!) I’d like to be able to balance the amount of reviews I do with tags, memes, etc. Good luck with your resolutions!

  6. You have some really great goals! I recently just posted my goals for the year too! My biggest change is for sure quality over quantity too! I spent so much time focused on posting that I had trouble feeling great about all of my posts and I went on hiatus because of it!
    Best of luck with reaching all of the goals you’ve set for yourself!

  7. Sound like five great goals! I also started blogging this year (although much more recently than you). I hadn’t really thought about New Year’s Resolutions in terms of my blog (except, of course, to keep at it) but your goals are exactly what I need. I also want to improve the quality of my posts and try to put a unique spin on what I’m writing. Thanks for the inspiration!

    I look forward to getting to know you better – this looks like a fascinating blog! (And I love the Harry Potter quote.)

  8. These were some great and unique resolutions / goals Emily! I literally want to add all of them to my list as well. Loved this so much, can’t wait to get to know you more! xx

  9. You’ve got some awesome resolutions here! I know that I have a blog schedule with only three posts a week, usually two of those are reviews and something else happens on the Saturday. (Which is my way of diversifying!) Commenting is also really important to me as well, and I try to keep up with it. I hope you are able to achieve these in the new year!

  10. Granted, I just started my blog at the beginning of January, so I’m still working on making it exactly what I want it to be like, but I have also only shared the link with two of my closest friends. I’m nervous about sharing it with others and it’s comforting to know that another blogger has done the same thing, especially when it’s a blog I think is really well done, like yours.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

