2014 End of Year Book Survey!

To celebrate my (almost) first full year of blogging I decided to do the 2014 End of Year Book Survey created by Jamie @ The Perpetual Page-Turner!

*I’m posting this now, but there are still some questions toward the end that I have yet to answer. I will be updating them very soon!


Reading Stats

# of Books Read: 66
# of Re-Reads: 1
Most Read Genre: Contemporary & Contemporary Romance

I re-read Harry Potter and the Sorcer’s Stone, but for the first time in French! It was really difficult and took me forever, but it was amazing experiencing the story in another language. I learned a lot of magical vocabulary because of it, too!

I surprised myself this year by really diving into the contemporary genre. I used to not at all consider myself one who enjoyed a lot of contemporary, but this year was a winner for me with lots of adorable contemporary romances, and even some darker stories.

Best in Books

Best Book I Read This Year
Tiger Lily
by Jodi Lynn Anderson
After going through all of the books that I read this year and gave 5 hearts to, I decided on Tiger Lily. I give many different kinds of books a 5 heart rating but for many different reasons. And I think as bloggers we all have different levels of a rating for a book, like a high 5 or a low 5, etc., just in our heads. But with Tiger Lily there wasn’t a doubt in my mind that it was worth the highest possible rating I could ever give it.

The Book I Was Excited About and Thought I Was Going to LOVE, but Didn’t
The Here and Now
by Ann Brashares
I still enjoyed this book, but I guess the hype surrounding the author, and the awesome synopsis gave me very high expectations that just couldn’t be met with this book.

The Most Surprising Books I Read This Year
GOOD: The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter
This was an adult fantasy that I hadn’t heard much about at all, and I took a risk reading it. Sometimes adult fantasy can be long and difficult to get into and say absorbed, but something about The Midnight Queen had me entranced and enchanted. Definitely a pleasant surprise!

Book I Pushed the Most People to Read (and they did!) This Year
The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
Every single one of my friends was recommended this book by me, because it is literal perfection. That is all.

Best Series I Started, Sequel, and Series Ender I Read This Year
SERIES STARTED: The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski
See above! ^^^

SEQUEL: A tie between Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers and Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Both of these books were absolutely amazing, not a sign of the second book syndrome in sight. If you’ve read either of the first books in these series, you must continue!

SERIES ENDER: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
Although this isn’t technically a series, the end of this book gave such an amazing conclusion to the three of these companion novels. I was very very very VERY happy. 🙂

Favorite New Author I Discovered This Year
Kate Brauning
author of How We Fall & Michelle Madow author of The Secret Diamond Sisters
I
 picked these two authors not only based on their books but also their personality. I’ve chatted a bit with Kate Brauning on Twitter and she is super nice, and I had the lovely opportunity to meet Michelle Madow and she is so sweet! Not only do I love their books but they’re awesome people, too!

Best Book From a Genre I Don’t Typically Read & Was Out of My Comfort Zone
Stolen 
by Lucy Christopher
I can honestly say I’ve never read a book this intense and emotional ever before in my life, and it took me on a rollercoaster of emotions that I have yet to experience from any other book.

The Most Unputdownable Book I Read This Year
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
If you’ve read the book, you’ll understand my need to know who’s who. I was completely shocked when I got my answer, and my day of sitting on the couch reading was well-worth the ending!

Book That I Read THIS Year That I’ll Most Likely Re-Read NEXT Year
Any of the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
It’s bound to happen again.

Favorite Cover of a Book That I Read This Year

It’s just so beautiful!

Most Memorable Character of 2014
Wolf
from Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
*heart eyes*

The Most Beautifully Written Book I Read This Year
A three-way tie between Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn AndersonWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart, and The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter
Each of these books are very different, but in all three of them the authors have one thing in common: their beautiful and unique writing styles. Each of their styles fit perfectly for each book, and they made me love the books for more than just their stories!

The Most Thought-Provoking or Life-Changing Book I Read This Year
This Star Won’t Go Out
by Esther Earl
I just had to choose this book. I had never read a book like this before but it was completely life-changing and made me think so much about myself and my actions, and others’ lives.

The Book I Can’t Believe I Waited Until 2014 to Read
Tiger Lily
by Jodi Lynn Anderson
YES this book again. I’d had it on my Nook for SUCH a long time and JUST got to reading it this year and man, was I missing out.

Favorite Quote From A Book I Read This Year

“Sometimes I think that maybe we are just stories. Like we may as well just be words on a page, because we’re only what we’ve done and what we are going to do.”
Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

(or every single word from that book)

The Shortest and Longest Book I Read This Year
SHORTEST: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
LONGEST: The Diviners by Libba Bray

The Book That Shocked Me the Most
The Kiss of Deception
by Mary E. Pearson
Like I mentioned above, the ending of this one was CRAZY. The reveal shocked me, even though I thought I had it all figured out.

OTP Of the Year
Anna & Etienne
from Anna and the French Kiss, Lola and the Boy Next Door, and Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
Okay, so *maybe* I didn’t read Anna this year, but I read the last two books in this series where they made an appearance SOOOO, they totally count. No but really, they are the most adorable and amazing couple.

Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship of the Year
Cinder & Thorne
from The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
Their friendship just makes me so happy. I love both of the characters so much!  I can’t wait to see how their relationship develops when I *finally* read Cress.

Favorite Book That I Read This Year From a Previously Read Author
In A Handful of Dust
by Mindy McGinnis
I
 read the companion novel to this one, Not A Drop to Drink last year, and fell in love with the world and the characters. They are SO intense and raw, but also filled with action and badass female characters!

Best Book I Read This Year That I Read SOLELY Because of a Recommendation
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore
by Robin Sloan
My mom’s good friend is a really bookish person and recommended that I read this book (along with 10 billion other people), and I fell in love with the nerdiness and bookishness of the story. So glad I took everyone’s recommendation and finally read it!

Newest Fictional Crush From a Book That I Read This Year
Noah Shaw, Wolf, ARIN… The list goes on and on!
I really couldn’t choose, but these perfect men are my top three (in no particular order).

Best 2014 Debut I Read This Year
A Little Something Different
by Sandy Hall
It was so unique and unlike anything I’ve ever read before while being completely adorable and filled with cuteness at the same time!

Best Worldbuilding or Setting
Trial by Fire 
by Josephine Angelini
The alternate worlds and NUMBER of worlds in this book was awesome! I loved how Angelini crafted them!

Book That Put A Smile On My Face or Was the Most Fun To Read
Since You’ve Been Gone
by Morgan Matson and On the Fence by Kasie West
Both of these books are the epitome of all things fun and smiley. I adored both of them was right there along for the ride with both of these books!

Book That Made Me Cry or Nearly Cry This Year
Stolen by Lucy Christopher and How We Fall by Kate Brauning
These books are both just so emotionally intense and with Stolen is was pretty much crying throughout and with How We Fall I was emotionally a mess throughout the entire time but the tears slipped out here and there.

Hidden Gem of the Year
Fiendish
by Brenna Yovanoff
I still haven’t heard much about this book at all, but there was something about the book that just stuck with me. It was different and unique and entertaining and I think it deserves more love!

Book That Crushed My Soul
Stolen by Lucy Christopher and How We Fall by Kate Brauning
For the same reasons as the book that made me cry. They crushed my soul, too.

Most Unique Book I Read This Year
A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall
I mean, it was told in 14 different perspectives. If that’s not unique, I don’t know what is. Plus it was totally cute which was an added bonus!

The Book That Made Me the Most Mad
Into the Grey by Celine Kiernan
I was really looking forward to reading this one, but what I got was something that wasn’t tasteful at all, in my opinion. So yeah, it made me mad that I didn’t like it like I wanted to.


My Blogging/Bookish Life

New Favorite Book Blog I Discovered This Year
I can’t do this one…There are truly so many of you that I consider “favorite” blogs. I’m not just saying that either. The book blogging community is huge and I’ve only touched the surface when it comes to the number of blogs I read.

Favorite Review That I Wrote This Year
I have two: Tiger Lily and The Midnight Queen
I agree with those of you that find writing a review of a book you enjoyed is much more difficult than writing a review of one you hated. So for that reason, I was really proud of these two reviews that I wrote as I loved both of them so much. I really took my time with them and made sure they were the perfect explanation of my thoughts!

Best Discussion/Non-Review Post That I Wrote This Year
I have two again…How Book Blogging + High School Have Prepared Me for the “Real World” AND Enough is Enough!
The first post I really liked in that by writing down the great things that have come out of my blogging experience (so far) I was motivated again in both my school work AND blogging. I also liked seeing how others “real lives” have been enhanced by blogging. As for the second post, that was the first really gutsy and somewhat controversial post I’ve ever written on the blog (besides a negative review), and I was nervous posting it. But I was happy I did, because man! did it spark a conversation, which was the goal, I guess. I think it’s important in the future to be open about everything when blogging because it makes the blog more personal, and you get to know ME a little bit better than just the clone book blogger out there. 🙂

Best Event That I Participated in This Year
TBF Live 2014
This is the only book festival that I have the opportunity to go to each year, so I cherish it. This year’s authors were AMAZING and I had a blast!

Best Moment of Bookish/Blogging Life in 2014
Besides meeting the authors from the above event, I’d have to say getting accepted for PHYSICAL ARCs from publishers (and eARCs, too). That was a sign of success for me that my blog was growing and I was “making it” in the blogging world. But also, becoming a member of The Secret Diamond Sisters Street Team for Michelle Madow and having my name in the acknowledgements of book 2, and joining “The Family” for Victoria Scott’s V Mafia!

Most Popular Post on the Blog This Year
The Taylor Swift Book Tag

Post You Wished Got a Little More Love
Book Covers & the People that Design Them

Best Bookish Discovery
Uppercase Box
I have yet to get a subscription but it looks amazing. I seriously NEED this in my life each month!

Completed Reading Challenges
Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge


Looking Ahead

One Book That I Didn’t Get to in 2014 But is My #1 Priority Next Year

Non-debut That I’m Most-Anticipating Next Year
  
(but really just everything that’s coming out next year EVER)

Debut I’m Most-Anticipating

Series Ending/Sequel I’m Most-Anticipating

One Thing I Hope to Accomplish in My Reading/Blogging Life Next Year
I guess I want to become a more unique blog in the book blogging community. I feel like I’m not really a stand-out blog right now. I want to change that!

A 2015 Release I’ve Already Read and Recommend to Everyone
None yet!


Those are my answers to the 2014 Book Survey! I’d love to hear how my answers compare to yours!

xo

8 thoughts on “2014 End of Year Book Survey!

  1. I read Mr. Penumbra and This Star Won’t Go Out this year as well. TSWGO completely wrecked me, I wasn’t expecting to be captured by it as much as I was. I started Here and Now for book club but never finished it. It seemed to have a strong start, but I had to take it back to the library

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

