Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: December 9th, 2014
Series: ?
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance
Pages: 368
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Mysterious. Magnificent. Creepy. Welcome to Rockford Manor.

“There’s something hidden in the Maze.” Seventeen-year-old Imogen has never forgotten the last words her father said to her seven years ago, before the blazing fire that consumed him, her mother, and the gardens of her family’s English country manor.

Haunted by her parents’ deaths, Imogen moves to New York City with her new guardians. But when a letter arrives with the news of her cousin’s untimely death, revealing that Imogen is now the only heir left to run the estate, she returns to England and warily accepts her role as duchess.

All is not as it seems at Rockford, and Imogen quickly learns that dark secrets lurk behind the mansion’s aristocratic exterior, hinting that the spate of deaths in her family were no accident. And at the center of the mystery is Imogen herself–and Sebastian, the childhood friend she has secretly loved for years. Just what has Imogen walked into?

Combining a fresh twist on the classic REBECCA with a spine-tingling mystery and powerful romance, SUSPICION is an action-packed thrill ride.

my rambles
Special thanks to Delacorte Press and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy for review!

I devoured Suspicion, reading it in practically one sitting! But while it was a quick and fun read for me, I still had some problems with aspects of the book. Although for the most part, the good and entertaining parts outweighed the bad!

Not only did the synopsis for the book initially intrigue me, but Jessica Brody’s (another great author I love, by the way) blurb put me over the edge with excitement:

“If Alfred Hitchcock had directed Downton Abbey, the result would have been this book.”

Other comparisons to The Princess Diaries definitely had me interested, and I wasn’t let down by the fun of Suspicion. The story was entertaining and engaging. The way Alexandra Monir combined the paranormal happenings with the otherwise normal storyline was wonderful, keeping me intrigued and guessing up to the very end. I never expected it to end how it did!

Suspicion has a very historical feeling to it although it’s set during present day. I loved how when Imogen travels to Rockford Manor it’s almost like the reader is brought back in time to the past, and where the secrets are still haunting her.

The one problem that I had with this book was that the romance, a somewhat large portion of the story, seemed rushed for me. Although Imogen and Sebastian were friends from childhood, they were separated for such a long time, and I found they picked up where they left off quite quickly. The revelation and resolution regarding their relationship seemed too good to be true, and was pretty predictable.

Alexandra Monir will really wow you with her mystery and paranormal revelations toward the end of the book, though. Everything really started coming together and the final puzzle pieces were being placed.

All in all, I found Suspicion to be a really fun and entertaining read! It’s not too deep and dark, but has the perfect amount of paranormal and mystery to keep the reader engulfed in the story. I felt the ending to be a little rushed, and if maybe there was one more chapter I would have been just that much more satisfied. But I’d definitely recommend this one to fans of lighter paranormal books with a sweet romance!

xo

4 thoughts on “Review: Suspicion by Alexandra Monir

  1. Looks like you enjoyed Suspicion a bit more than I did. I flew through the book, but when I sat down to write the review, I couldn’t shake off the flaws. I needed more character development, the romance felt off, and I wanted more fantasy elements in the plot.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

