DNF Review: The Beginning is the End by Cara Davis

Publisher: Big Moon Press
Release Date: October 20th, 2014
Pages: 159
Format: eBook
Source: Publisher
Series: Reset, #1
Genre(s): Post-Apocalyptic
Synopsis from Goodreads:

Jack Sunshine’s life is chaos. She’s seventeen and the head of her household following the death of her mother and the disappearance of her stepfather. Having to balance work and home at her age gets further complicated with her forays into dating. And to top it all off, the dead are returning to life.

Jack now has the added responsibility of ensuring her family and friends are safe and sound during this outbreak. It’s almost doable until the tiny enigma of a girl named O comes along. It becomes a question of whether the sick will kill them or they’ll kill each other.

DNFDNF’ed at 14%

my rambles

This is the first time I have ever not finished a book during the time I’ve been blogging, and this fact is making me sad. More and more bloggers have been writing posts about how it’s okay to DNF a book, so I’ve decided to start changing my tune when it comes to forcing myself to read a book that I’m strongly disliking.

But the truth is, I just didn’t like The End is the Beginning, or where it was heading. Granted, 14% isn’t very far into a book. BUT, this book was also only 159 pages and I could guess at how it was going to continue.

The End is the Beginning was a book where two things really got to me:

  1. The writing
  2. The characters

Both of those two aspects of the book were just bad. Now I can’t comment on how either of those developed throughout the course of the book because I didn’t finish, but I wasn’t so devoted to the promise of the synopsis to see for myself either.

Basically, the beginning of the book just got on my nerves. From what I could gather from the synopsis this is a post-apocalyptic/zombie kind of book, but what I got from what I did read was a cringe-worthy contemporary. Sure, a lot of books of those genres start out in a normal world, but the characters were so annoying and just rubbed me the wrong way that I didn’t want to stick around to see what came next.

There were small glimpses to a disease of some sort, but other than that — complete bad contemporary book from what I read.

So, yeah, unfortunately this just wasn’t my cup of tea.

xo

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: The Beginning is the End by Cara Davis

  1. Oohh 14%… ouch. I often find I can tell by then whether or not I’ll hate something, but usually give it to 50%, which is far longer than some books deserve! There’s no point forcing yourself through a terrible book.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

