Week in Review: October 5th

Week in Review


***I’m revamping Week in Review, keeping it simple with 3 sections!***

In Life

Well, I wrote one post for all of last week, needless to say I was busy with everything BUT blogging, unfortunately. School is, well, school and the workload is way more than I could have ever expected, but I’m pushing through because I don’t really have a choice! Whenever I have a free moment I wish I could say I spend it picking up a book but I am so tired by the time I finish school and homework that I only feel like watching TV or sleeping, so basically doing brainless activity, which of course reading a book is NOT.

So what TV shows am I watching during my brainless after school hours instead of reading like I really want to, you ask? Well, a bunch.

  • The Blacklist – This show is just so well-written and I love every actor that’s in it. The one “crime” show that I do watch, and I’m obsessed with it. James Spader is a genius. I can’t even explain my love for Reddington!
  • Red Band Society – This show is so sweet and not depressing at all, despite the overall theme of kids living in a hospital. I’m a fan, and these new up and coming actors are awesome!
  • How to Get Away With Murder – I’m not gonna lie, I watch this show for Alfie Enoch (Dean Thomas from Harry Potter), but the show really is fantastic and mind-bending. Definitely recommend you check it out if you’re into that kind of thing.
  • Once Upon A Time – I’m sad, guys. The premiere episode was really lackluster for me. Probably because I (still) haven’t seen Disney’s Frozen. But I’m just not loving this show as much as I did last season… 😦

That’s my lame excuse for lack of reading, and in turn, lack of blog posts for last week. I feel like I keep making excuses but I REFUSE to stop blogging even through all of the business. I love books and blogging too much to so! πŸ˜‰


In Books

I am so excited to show you guys all the wonderful and amazing books that I got in these past two weeks. EEEE!!!

Rush by Eve Silver (Thanks to YA Bound Book Tours and Eve Silver!)
The Walls Around UsΒ by Nova Ren Suma (Thanks to Algonquin YR!)
Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (Thanks, Grandma!)
Unforgotten by Jessica Brody (Thanks, Grandma!)
In A Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis (Bought)

Portraits of Celina by Sue Whiting (Thanks to Switch Press and NetGalley)

I cannot express my excitement for all of these books, especially combined! Rush has been on my TBR forever and I haven’t read a sci-fi book in the longest time, so I’m definitely planning on picking that one up soon. The Walls Around Us comes out in March of next year, so that one is a little further down on my TBR pile but I CAN’T wait to read it. I think I may end up picking it up sooner than anticipated. I’ve been meaning to buy Throne of Glass and Unforgotten for the longest time so thanks Grandma for the belated birthday gift! And of course I just HAD to purchase In A Handful of Dust the week that it came out because I am still obsessed with Drop, since I read it way back in August 2013! Last but not least I had to request an eARC of Portraits of Celina because it looks really creepy and awesome to read sometime this month with Halloween approaching faster than I want to even think about!

~

I’m currently reading Love and Other Unknown Variables by Shannon Lee Alexander, and while I am loving the frequent Harry Potter series references, I’m not a huge fan of the main character Charlie (yet). I’m only a little ways in, though, so we shall see how I turn out liking it in my review that will be up next week!


In Blogging

I’m finally getting caught up on reading a bunch of other blog posts, as well as commenting, etc. So here are a few of the posts that stood out to me while scrolling through my Bloglovin’ feed.

Β Anya @ On Starships and Dragonwings discussed how to get her to comment on your blog.
Asma @ IceyBooks shared her bookish pet peeves through a gif post!
Laura @ Laura Plus Books talks about categories in blog post titles.
Rachel @ Paper Cuts discusses email subscriptions to blogs.

~

As for my blog this Β past week, it’s been pretty silent.

On Friday I posted my fangirl-y, not-so-review of Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins.

I also want to acknowledge everyone that has nominated me for various blog awards over the past couple of months. Thank you all so, so much! It really means the world to me and warms my heart to know that people like what I post. If I had endless amounts of time I would write a post in response to each and every one of you lovely bloggers that have nominated me, but as I’ve mentioned numerous times, my life is crazy right now. But I want you all to know how much it means to me to be nominated by such wonderful people as yourselves. Thank you all so much! ❀ xx


xo

16 thoughts on “Week in Review: October 5th

  1. OMG THE WALLS AROUND US IS ONE OF MY MOST ANTICIPATED 2015 RELEASES. Actually, who do I kid, I want everything coming out 2015 now. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! AND TV SHOWS COMING BACK IS SERIOUSLY MESSING WITH MY SLEEP. I’m with you on the Blacklist and How to Get Away with Murder–they’re amazing! I hope you have a good upcoming week!

    1. RIGHT?!? Pretty much every book that is coming out next year I’m freaking out about! I’m really looking forward to this one too so we shall see… and YES. TV shows are now being added to my list of things to do/read/watch/etc and it’s not good but I love TV so I make time!

  2. Welcome back! It’s always a rough go when you’ve not been on line for a while. But hey, school is always priority. πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to reading The Walls Around Us.

    Have a great week!

  3. I like the blog posts that caught your eyes, especially the one about categories, very interesting!
    You also got lots of great books, I still need to read Throne of Glass, I’ve been putting it off for too long but now that I have the Novella bindup I can’t make excuses anymore!
    Hope you have a great week and Enjoy all your new reads πŸ™‚

  4. OUAT is only starting! I think you just need to give it some time πŸ˜€ I really loved it, but perhaps because I’ve seen the movie and I really liked the concept. I bet it just takes some time to get used to it ^^ Happy reading!

  5. I just started the Throne of Glass series (so naturally I’m already on the third book) and just be prepared for an onslaught of feels, badassery, and just..everything.
    I’m officially obsessed, so if you have actual stuff to get done maybe hold off on that one..

    Also, How to Get Away With Murder is SUPER intense. I love it. The fact that Dean Thomas AND Paris from Gilmore Girls is in it just ups the greatness.

  6. I can totally understand being too tired to read. That’s just sad. I love the Blacklist! and I’m not a crime person either. Red rocks! I’ve been watching How to Get Away with Murder with my mom (sounds like a while different show) and I didn’t notice that was Dean Thomas! I’m behind on Once Upon a Time by a half season, so I haven’t seen it yet, I’m excited to see Elso though and I hear Rumple is back too! Oh you have to see Frozen! It’s great, possibly the best Disney ever and that’s saying something! I so need to read Throne of Glass!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

