Movie Review: The Maze Runner

Information about the movie can be found at IMDB.com, here.

Synopsis from IMDB:

Thomas is deposited in a community of boys after his memory is erased, soon learning they’re all trapped in a maze that will require him to join forces with fellow “runners” for a shot at escape.

My review of The Maze Runner book by James Dashner can be found here! Read the book first!

my rambles

I was a bad fan, and completely forgot to pre-order tickets to see this movie, therefore, I just got to see it this past Friday. But man, was it worth my wait! I recently just read the book of the same name in anticipation for seeing the film, and I think this may be one of those cases where the movie and the book were at about the same level for me.

There were very minor changes from the book, but they didn’t affect the main storyline, and therefore I wasn’t upset at all. I actually think the changes were for the better as they simplified things a little bit to make them easier to understand and more doable for a movie. The pace of the movie was definitely sped up from what I thought when I read the book. But I loved it!

The stand-out part of this movie would have had to have been the actors in my opinion though. I knew that I was going to love Dylan O’brien because, well, come on he’s Dylan O’brien — not just that pretty face, but he has some amazing acting skills that’s for sure. But I felt like each actor really was the character. When I read the book I totally envisioned them to look and act like these actors portrayed them. I couldn’t help but love all of the characters, even Gally in the movie!

Another thing that blew me away was the CGI of the maze and the grievers. It was just so cool and again, just as I imagined them!

So all in all, I think this movie is one of the most faithful adaptations to a book that I have seen. It was awesome, and verging on almost better than the book, dare I say it?! There weren’t slow parts like I found in the book, it was pure action and adventure! If you’ve read the book, see this movie. If you haven’t, see it anyway because I went with a friend who hasn’t and she loved it, and now wants to read the book too!

4.5

Did you see this movie? How did you think it compared to the book?

xo

18 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Maze Runner

  1. I can’t wait to see it now after reading your review! I was worried that it would be totally different from the book and end up like another Percy Jackson movie. I’m so happy it’s good! 🙂

  2. I haven’t seen this yet, but I so need to! Everyone’s commented on how good the acting was, I never watched Teen Wolf, but I’m glad he did a good job. I thought this could be better than the book! 🙂 Nice review.

  3. Eeep! I just reviewed the movie as well, and I also loved it!

    All the actors were superb, and I feel like Dylan O’Brien did a great job of portraying Thomas: extremely curious and also extremely (stupid?) brave. Haha there were so many parts when I just wanted to scream at Thomas WHAT ARE YOU DOING? DON’T LOOK BEHIND YOU, RUN!!

    It was so suspenseful and action packed, I pretty much had my hands covering my mouth the whole time. In a good way.

    And I have to agree with everything you said about how it compared to the book. None of the changes hurt the film in any way, and the ending was simplified in a way that all movie-goers would be able to understand. It’s been a while since I read the book, and I think this only added to my enjoyment of the film — I didn’t have to nit-pick everything that was different because I barely remembered.

    Great review!

  4. Oh yes I totally agree! This movie was quite amazing! I didn’t like the book all that much but the movie totally swept me off my feet–the casting was so perfect.

    Fab review <33

  5. I just watched this last night and really liked it compared to the book. I felt like the book was a bit slow! I agree with you, the actors were all great. Watching it makes me want to read the second book, which I may do in the middle of the year before The Scorch Trials comes out!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

