Mini Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Release Date: July 15th, 2014
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
Source: Borrowed
Series: N/A
Genre(s): Graphic Novel, Horror, Short Stories
Synopsis from Goodreads:

‘It came from the woods. Most strange things do.’

Five mysterious, spine-tingling stories follow journeys into (and out of?) the eerie abyss.

These chilling tales spring from the macabre imagination of acclaimed and award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll.

Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…

my rambles

I wanted to love Through the Woods, but unfortunately I just didn’t fall in love with the stories as I did the illustrations. I partly blame my dislike on that it wasn’t at all what I was expecting. I went into it thinking it to be a creepy take on fairy tales, but that is not the case. Instead this book consists of five short stories that are truly horrifying and definitely creepy. I was feeling both horrified and creeped out after finishing, so clearly the author got what she had hope, but because it wasn’t what I was expecting, I wasn’t in the mood for these stories, and therefore didn’t enjoy them as many have.

The illustrations were definitely my favorite part of the book. The colors used are so vibrant and contrasting with the black and white, and the quick jagged lines create eerie and scary images that coincide nicely with the story. As an artist myself I very much enjoyed looking at the images, and will most likely refer to this book’s illustrations when researching for other projects.

Overall, I didn’t enjoy the stories as much as I’d hoped, but the illustrations are outstanding and like nothing I’ve ever seen before. Emily Carroll is clearly a very talented artist and storyteller, and perhaps I’ll pick this book up again when I am in the mood and expecting a truly horrifying read.

xo

4 thoughts on “Mini Review: Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

