Week in Review: September 7th A.K.A the Crazy Back-to-School Edition!

Week in Review


What I Did:

Tuesday marked the very first day back to school after a way too short summer. I will say that everything went smoothly and I am loving my classes so far! This past Friday was my first 2 hour block AP Chem class and I am really enjoying it! My teacher has pictures of Benedict Cumberbatch on her wall. I’m not in love with him like some but I think Sherlock is pretty cool so I fangirled a little, I admit!Β I’m also dabbling in a different kind of art than I normally do: sculpture! I was hoping to get in ceramics, but it wouldn’t fit, so I’m in sculpture but I think it will be such a fun class. And I can’t forget the class that I’ve been meaning to take for years but could never fit: Advertising and Graphic Design!! I am so lucky/happy/excited that my school offers a course for the field of work that I actually want to go into and my teacher already started talking about typography *faints* I’m so going to love this class… And one more school notable thing to mention: my AP Language teacher like sniffing books. We are going to be friends, I can tell! πŸ˜›

Also on a completely random note, I’ve been loving the song Ugly Heart by G.R.L. It’s so catchy and I am OBSESSED.

Links I Loved:

Not gonna lie I didn’t read many posts this week because who knew going back to school could be so tiring?!

Books I Added to My Shelves:

[pictures to be added when it stops raining so I can have good light!]

Bought:

Sever by Lauren DeStefano – The third and final book in The Chemical Garden trilogy. I recently bought book #2 and wanted to have the last one so I could binge read them together!

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin –Β I seriously can’t believe I just picked this up…

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas –Β EVERYONE has been talking about this book this summer, so naturally I want to see what it’s all about!

Lola and the Boy Next DoorΒ by Stephanie Perkins –Β FINALLY! I’m doing this as a read-a-long with Lillie andΒ Genesis.

For Review:

Suspicion by Alexandra Monir (Random House/NetGalley – Thank you!) –Β I read the synopsis and I knew that I had to read this one! I requested this a while back and never got accepted until just yesterday so this was a very pleasant surprise!Β 

Recently Finished and Currently Reading:

My most recent read was The Winter People by Rebekah L. Purdy which was quite disappointing. But I’m hoping to have better luck with Wildlife by Fiona Wood, my current read!

On My Blog:

I hope you all had a wonderful week! I’d love to chat with you all about it!

xo

 

30 thoughts on “Week in Review: September 7th A.K.A the Crazy Back-to-School Edition!

  1. I love the sound of your classes, especially the graphic design one. I know very little in this area and it will carry over so well into your blog life as well.
    I loved Dangerous Girls and really liked Lola. You got some great books, enjoy πŸ™‚
    And thanks for linking my post!

    1. Yes! I’m really excited to learn all of these new things that could help enhance the blog too! Plus since Photoshop is so expensive I have a way to have access to it now!

      I’ve heard Dangerous Girls is phenomenal so I am VERY excited to read it! πŸ™‚

  2. AP Chem, girl your rocking it! I can’t do anything science related to save my life, but love some genetics. That’s my dream. To be a genetics master without actually having to work for the knowledge :b

    The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Dangerous Girls are both some of my all time favourite reads. Especially the former. Omg, I can’t wait to hear what you think! πŸ˜€

    1. I am scared out of my wits about it and keep asking myself what I’ve gotten myself into…but hopefully it will pay off in the long run! Genetics would be an awesome field to work in!

      I can’t wait to read both of those too! I was in a mystery/thriller mood when I bought them! πŸ˜€

  3. That’s so cool that your teacher likes Benedict Cumberbatch! Last year my AP United States history teacher watched Sherlock, and we had some awesome talks with him about it! I like most of my teachers this year, so that’s good. And I’m absolutely loving being a senior! πŸ™‚

  4. WHAT I JUST SAW MY NAME. Thank you. πŸ™‚
    Also hashtag the jealousy YOUR GRAPHIC DESIGN AND ADVERTISING CLASS SOUNDS AMAZING. ❀
    I started college on Friday and it was the first time I have EVER been to school as I had previously been home-schooled all my life and I didn't really like it so now I'm stressed for tomorrow. :(((

    1. YOU’RE WELCOME! πŸ™‚
      We haven’t done much in it YET as we’re learning all of the ins and outs of Photoshop, but the work my teacher has shown us from past years looks AWESOME and I can’t wait to get started!
      I’m getting back to your comment late but, I hope you had a great first day of college! πŸ˜€ I have two friends that are homeschooled but they’re a year younger, so I kind of know what you mean. πŸ˜‰

    1. Yeah we’re lucky. I’m thankful that I get to take Graphic Design in high school since that’s the field I’m hoping to go into. It’s nice to get a taste of it before college. And I can’t wait to read Suspicion – it looks right up my alley! Thanks and happy reading to you too! πŸ™‚

  5. Glad that your first week of school went well! You have some really awesome classes and your teachers sound so cool!

    And The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, Dangerous Girls and Lola & the Boy Next Door are all SO good. Hopefully, you like them!

    Have a good week & happy reading! πŸ™‚

  6. That’s awesome that your teacher is a fan of Sherlock! My history teacher for the past couple of years would fangirl with us about Game of Thrones and Downton Abbey every lesson. πŸ™‚

    I hope you like Mara Dyer, because it’s awesome! It’s one of my favourite paranormal sort of books, and it’s kind of creepy too. Dangerous Girls is meant to be really good, so I hope you enjoy it!

    1. My history teacher last year loved Downton Abbey too! And my French teacher loves GoT! It’s fun to talk to teachers about things other than school sometimes…

      I’ve heard Mara Dyer is amazing and the same with Dangerous Girls. I’m really looking forward to reading them! πŸ™‚

  7. Hahaha this post is awesome – glad you’ve got some awesome teachers, that makes all the difference with classes!! πŸ™‚ And advertising and graphic design class sounds awesome, I would love to do that! I’m about to graduate university now with a bachelors in business and French, but advertising and graphic design would have definitely been my alternative choice! Perhaps I will do a masters in that… Meh, who knows! XD

    1. It seems to me like you don’t need a graphic design class – your blog is BEAUTIFUL! And business and French are both really useful. I’m not sure whether I want to continue on with French since I’m not very good at it. But I’ve always wanted to travel to Europe…haha πŸ™‚

  8. I plan on reading Wildlife this week as well! I hope you like(d) it – I’m kind of concerned and wondering what the heck was in my head when I requested it. I’m not even in an contemporary mood right now! Curse my past self.

    You’re teachers sound fabulous, by the way πŸ˜€ That’s awesome that you’re doing the graphic design class! I’d swoon over typography too πŸ˜‰

  9. I’m so happy for you that you got the classes you want and you find them really interesting and enjoyable. Can I just say that I really appreciate that you include links to posts you love. πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by my Sunday Post and have a great week ahead! πŸ™‚

  10. Summer does always seem to go by too quickly! But it sounds like you’ll have a great year in school, so that helps. πŸ™‚ Lolaaa! It’s so wonderfully cute! I hope you love it!! I need to read Wildlife soon, too–I looove the sound of it!

    I hope you have a great week!! πŸ˜€

  11. Your classes and teachers all sound terrific! Any teacher that likes Sherlock has already won points with me. And have a blast with your sculpture and graphic design courses! Those both sound awesome. Learning about typography? LOVE! I really like my teachers too; my English teacher provides extra credit for writing book reviews on books read outside of school. I was like can I just hand in my blog?! Haha πŸ™‚

    Everyone has been talking about Dangerous Girls – I want to see what the hype is all about. Your other novels sound like great reads as well. Happy reading! πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

