Review: Ignite by Lily Paradis

A Quick Update:

Hi everyone! I want to apologize in this post in addition to my Tweet about the lack of posts this week. It was my first week of school this week and I am just trying to get back in the swing of things for the year, so bear with me while I do so! I am currently about halfway through a book and I hope to have my review of it up for you guys on Monday, which is later than I had hoped, but so it is. I also hope to take this bit of time that I have to myself to schedule some posts, catch up on comments, and get some reading done now while I can. So, sorry again for the lack of posts…This may happen more often but the only posts you may not see around as much are TTT posts and WoW posts as they’re not very original. I do have some totally original discussions written up in a notebook, but I just have to find time to type ’em up and schedule ’em! 

Publisher: Empire Books
Release Date: August 26th, 2014
Pages: 249
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Series: Ignite, #1
Genre(s): Contemporary Romance, New Adult
Synopsis from Goodreads:

After her father’s untimely demise in a mining accident and her mother’s abandonment, Lauren Lindsay is no stranger to loss. She’s used to living life for one person: herself. That is, until another family tragedy thrusts three children into her care and uproots her life in ways she could never imagine.

Lauren’s first instinct is to run, until she meets their striking, mysterious neighbor Dean Powell. Their immediate chemistry and his connection with her late father just might be enough to keep her in town long enough to uncover pieces of her past that she never had answers to. Dean’s shady past and her reluctance to trust him could cost her the life she’s always been searching for, but will she run back to her old life?

Or will she choose to stay and live the life her father always imagined for her?

my rambles
Special thanks to Empire Books and Lily Paradis for providing me with an advance copy for review!

Ignite was just what I was in the mood for after reading a bunch of fantasy books! I’m not going to lie, I devoured the majority of this book in the wee hours of the morning when I couldn’t sleep the night before my birthday, and I really enjoyed it!

One thing that I thought Lily Paradis did a wonderful job with was writing this young adult categorized book, but with new adult aged characters! I am definitely that girl that has steered away from the new adult genre because of it being notorious for having excessive sex and unrelatable characters for me who’s still in high school. So I give Lily Paradis props for writing this book the way she did, and I loved that part about the book.

Another thing that I liked was how there was the romance, which obviously is a large part of the story, but there was also a sidestory going on that was more serious. Some family secrets and drama never hurt a story! Seeing Lauren deal with the situations in the book definitely gave her character more depth and made the story seem less cheesy than the direction it could have gone.

Now, of course I must mention the ROMANCE! Ahhhh can I just have a Dean for myself, please and thanks?! Talk about a swoony boy…Dean Powell has now been added to my list of about a million book boyfriends. He and Lauren were such an entertaining pair, not just during the romance-y scenes, but also the bantering and just conversations in general.

The reason I knocked off a star was for just two reasons: pointless fighting and a little bit of cheese. A bunch of times in the book Lauren seems to just get angry and upset for the slightest reasons. While it wasn’t a huge deal to me, I just didn’t really understand why she got upset to the level she did over things so…small. And yes, I mentioned before that this wasn’t as cheesy as it could have been, but it was still a bit cheesy…but in that guilty pleasure, adorable, giggly kind of way.

But overall, I really really enjoyed Ignite! If you’re in the mood for a cute contemporary with a little older characters, but minus the new adult notoriousness, this is the book for you! I am definitely looking forward to reading the sequel/companion to this one Archlight, which tells the same story from Dean’s POV. I’ve never read two separate books that are the same story told from different POVs before, so I can’t wait to see what’s in store!

xo

6 thoughts on “Review: Ignite by Lily Paradis

  1. This seems like a really great book! I can understand what you mean about trying to stay away from the NA – I feel the same, being also in high school myself. And I can completely understand with how reviews might take a little longer in coming, it’s only understandable with so much school going on as well. This seems like a lovely book to read and right up my street~

    http://olivia-savannah.blogspot.nl/2014/09/bridge-of-deaths-blog-tour-giveaway.html

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

