Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.


I have a few non-blogger friends of mine that are book-pushers like no others. They pretty much read solely adult fantasy books, so there will be a TON on here from that genre.

1. A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4) by George R.R. Martin

One of my non-blogger friends got me into this series about three years ago and ever since I finished book 3 around Christmas of last year, she’s been bugging me to buy this book and read it! Now, my other friend started the series earlier this year and she’s already about to start book 4…clearly I need to stay ahead of her and read this one very soon. I mean, I must know what happens before her!

2. Prince of Thorns (The Broken Empire, #1) by Mark Lawrence

Same friend I mentioned above keeps telling me that I have no excuse not to read this one because 1) it’s really short, and 2) it has a main character that is worse than Joffery that I will love to hate even more than Joffery. Really, I don’t know why I haven’t started this series yet.

3. The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)  by Patrick Rothfus

I have this one to add thanks to my same adult fantasy pushing friend! But not only her, I’ve heard amazing things about it from people on BookTube and around the blogosphere.

4. Mistborn (Mistborn, #1) by Brandon Sanderson

Another one that I’ve seen around BookTube and everyone that has read has basically told everyone to go out and buy it this instant. So, clearly I’m missing out on something big here.

5. The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1) by Brandon Sanderson

Another one my friend has been telling me to read for quite a long time. Brandon Sanderson is supposed to be an amazing fantasy author so I’m really eager to check both of these two by him out!

6. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I haven’t read this one. And everyone tells me to read this and I feel ashamed that I haven’t. I tried reading it, I really did. It just didn’t engage me early on, and I lost patience.

7, 8, & 9. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien

Nope, haven’t read this one either. After I tried The Hobbit I’m now scared that these books will be the same way… :O

10. Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1) by Kristin Cashore

Everyone says that Kristin Cashore’s books are amazing, and I OWN this one and Fire, but I still haven’t read them. I’m nervous because they’ve been recommended so much, but I hope when I do get to them I won’t be let down!


What books have you been told you MUST read?

53 thoughts on “Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling Me I MUST Read

  1. Ha, I’ve read all of the books on your list except #2 and #4 (and I’ve started #4 but just didn’t feel like continuing). If I was you, I’d read The Hobbit first to get into the fantasy mood, then continue with The Name of the Wind and finish with Graceling for something a bit lighter 🙂
    Great choices, by the way.

      1. I’m very much the same, I don’t really have a great desire to read them at this point, which is why I’ve put the thought away for now. So many others to read that do have my attention!

  2. I love The Lord of the Rings! It is slow and hard to get into but definitely dive in, it’s worth it! I thought I loved The Name of the Wind for the first 150 pages but I gave up on it… So bogged down and I didn’t care about it at all. I was glad to find my friend agreed with me because all I’ve heard are good things, I thought it must be just me!

      1. Yes same! I persevered up to the halfway mark but just couldn’t keep going- my best friend felt the same and we didn’t even know the other was reading it!

  3. I cannot get into The Hobbit no matter how many times I’ve tried. On the other hand I love the Lord of the Rings trilogy. It’s slow to start, and incredibly dense, but if you stick with it–it’s such a beautiful series.

    My TTT

  4. Mistborn! ❤ I'm almost halfway to the end of the third book, but can't seem to find the motivation to finish, because I love the world so much. Selfish of me, I know.

    I don't think I've had a friend who've read Graceling and Fire and hated them. But you never know. Fire was my favorite of the two, but Graceling is a whole lot of "wow" as well.

      1. So the Hobbit is kind of like a stand alone in the LOTR world? If so, I should read it. Like the Beedle Bard and Hogwarts Textbooks published by J.K Rowling. I’ve realized, almost everything I write book related (comments, tags, reviews) refer back to Harry Potter. It is, childhood after all.

  5. The Hobbit is one of my favorite books! You really need to read it! Although I admit that I haven’t read the LOTR trilogy either… But I’m going to by the end of the year 🙂

  6. I haven’t read ANY of these books, so I can’t push them at you. 😛 A lot of people gush about Graceling, though, and that might be one I try in the future. Good luck with these! 🙂

  7. >.> Am I secretly your recommending friend and I don’t know it?? If not, she has excellent taste and you should listen to her 100% and I honestly can’t even decide which Sanderson or Rothfuss to recommend you read first!

  8. Most of the books listed here are the one on my TBR too. Well, except The Hobbit and LOTR. I gave up reading them years ago. I watched the movie so I guess it’s enough (I didn’t like the movie either).

    Graceling is great too. I hope you read it soon and like it.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

