Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon Wrap Up!

Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon Graphic1

Yesterday, August 15th, was the final day of the Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon! It was a total fail for me, but I’m so happy to hear that a lot of you read a crazy amount of books! So, congrats to all of you that completed the challenges, read all the books on your TBR, and were just reading machines in general – you’re awesome! πŸ˜‰

Here are the books that I completed and started during the read-a-thon:

  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner (REVIEW)
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (REVIEW)
  • Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (REVIEW)
  • [In Progress] The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

I think the main problem was that I was short on time these past two weeks. I had art camp and homework that I had to finish which took out a chunk of time from my reading. I’m a bad planner, I should have known this would have happened!

But like I said before, I know a lot of you did amazing jobs, and I think that (with better planning), I’m going to do the read-a-thon again some time! Probably over a school break, and possibly again next summer. I will have all of the details regarding that when I actually decide on dates, etc.

Some things I hope to improve upon for next time:

  • Actually keep track of my page counts πŸ˜›
  • Interact more with read-a-thon participants
  • Read more books!

I’d love it if you’d comment with some constructive criticism regarding the read-a-thon. As this was my first time really participating AND hosting one, I went into it pretty blindly! But I gave it a try and with your help I hope to improve for prospective future read-a-thons!

Thanks again to everyone for being so supportive, and to all of those that signed up! It means a ton to me! πŸ™‚ ❀

xo, emily

12 thoughts on “Dusting off the Shelf Read-A-Thon Wrap Up!

  1. Ugh, I’ve just gotten the time to read now, since exams just ended! That’s a whole week without books. ;( Great job with 3 1/2 books nonetheless, Emily! I usually end up failing all reading challenges I try to participate in. xD

  2. I think you did a great job hosting this read-a-thon! I really liked the twitter hashtag that you created, because that way we could find other people on twitter who were also participating. πŸ™‚

  3. I wanted to read every day during this read-a-thon but the timing was really bad because so many homeworks and tests! I did update for three days :(( Thanks for hosting this read-a-thon (and I am sorry if I was a bad reader LOL)! ❀

  4. You still did an awesome job! And you were able to write reviews for all the books you read. I need to work on mine, but I feel like they are going to be pushed aside for awhile 😦

  5. I’m so impressed by all of you that can do a read-a-thon. I so can’t. With life, plus the fact that I read so slowly, it would be more stressful than enjoyable for me. 😦 So great job!! Consider me impressed!! πŸ™‚

  6. You did great! I only read one book towards the read a thon and I technically read it the week before. haha! I love the dusting off the shelf idea though, you should do it again next summer. πŸ™‚ Maybe next time there can be more categories and the participants can pick 2 or 3 of them. (Says she who doesn’t like classics.)

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

