Book to Movie Adaptations: In theaters, In production, In my dreams.

Book to movie adaptations have become a hugely talked about topic among the world of YA readers. So, I thought it only right to share my thoughts on what’s happening now, what’s happening soon, and what will probably never happen, but I’d love it if it did!


In theaters now / in the near future

The Giver

I read the book when I was in elementary school, and while I haven’t reread it since, this trailer is a very poor depiction of the book I remember reading. In my opinion of course. I was happy to hear that they decided to edit it in black and white, but the choice of actors I wasn’t very happy with. Brenton Thwaites is like 25, who is playing an (aged up) 12-year-old character. Oh, and Taylor Swift is in this. While I’m a Swiftie, I’m also a hardcore book person (obviously), and the two just don’t mix. When she appears on screen I’ll immediately start singing one of her songs in my head and asking myself why her lips aren’t red and she’s not with her cats. I still plan to see the movie, but I don’t expect much.

If I Stay

I haven’t read this book, and I’m not sure I plan to. I mentioned before in a different post my disapproval of Chloë Grace Moretz, but also I’m just not sure what to feel about the movie. Seeing as I haven’t read the book this isn’t surprising, but I haven’t rushed out and read the book in order to go see the movie like I did with The Maze Runner, which I’ll talk about next. So, yeah, just meh feelings on this one. Will I see it? Probably not.

The Maze Runner

It’s not often that a movie trailer made me want to read a book. It’s also very unlikely that I want to read a book for the sole reason that there is an actor I especially like in the movie. Except for this one. Dylan O’brien, I owe you one. I recently read the book (REVIEW HERE) in order to prepare myself for the movie. My excitement just keeps growing, and it’s not because I’ll get to see 2 hours straight of Dylan’s perfect face. Okay, well, maybe a little. Anyway… This trailer was freaking awesome, and it was the sole reason I read this book when I did.

Mockingjay, Pt. 1

I’m still a little iffy on why they decided to split this one into two parts, but I must admit, the trailer looks great! I’m really excited to see this one. Although I didn’t like the book, I do want to see how the movie is.


In production / optioned

The 5th Wave

I really enjoyed this book (although I thought it was overhyped), but I don’t know about it being a movie. And I’m not a fan of the cast so far at all. Ugh. Chloë Grace Moretz again. She’s becoming the next Shailene Woodley, but Shailene is awesome and I love her.

Fallen

Image from Page to Premiere

In short: why is this even happening? This was a book that I read a long time ago and I loved it at the time. And looking back now I don’t even like to admit that I loved it. What was my problem? There’s not a single reviewer that I know that has read and enjoyed this book, and I totally get why. What I don’t get is why this is being made into a movie…?

Paper Towns

I haven’t read this book yet, but I know that if it’s anywhere as popular as TFiOS, this movie will be a hit with me, and everyone else!

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

As the book is already so visual, I think this movie will be a huge success. I read this one recently and I cannot wait to learn more about the movie and it’s cast. I think Tim Burton is directing so if that’s indicating the level of amazing for this movie at all, I don’t know what is!

The Night Circus

I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. I think that with the right people this book will make a masterpiece on the big screen and will be absolutely magical.

In my dreams

Stolen

I really loved this book when I read it earlier this summer and I could totally see this as being a lifetime movie or something of the sorts.

The Selection

I know what happened. I read that hideous god-awful script of the pilot that was to air on The CW. I was horrified. BUT I do still this that this would make an amazing TV show if the right people did it and kept it to the book. But, with so many failed attempts I don’t think it will ever get a chance.

So, let’s discuss! I want to hear your thoughts on book to movie adaptations. What books do you think would make good movies?

xo, emily

14 thoughts on “Book to Movie Adaptations: In theaters, In production, In my dreams.

  1. I can’t speak for many of these, but I saw an advanced screening of The Giver about a week ago. I finished the book just before I watched the movie and I absolutely loved the movie. Yes, T-Swift is in it (a bit awkward), but she’s only in the movie for about 5-6 minutes max. Brenton Thwaites IS supposed to be a twelve-year-old kid in the movie, but the movie treats him more like a “younger adult” and I thought his acting was spot-on! Of course, there are scenes that are shaped Hollywood-style and made more dramatic for cinematic audiences (i.e. the escape scene) and some details that are tweaked a bit, but, otherwise, I thought that the movie captured the main themes of The Giver well. While it sounds like you don’t like the casting, I’d definitely give it a shot! 🙂

  2. I am SO excited for Mockingjay! I’m in love with the other two adaptations and I have high hopes for this one 🙂 I might see If I stay, although I haven’t read the book. I never read The maze runner either, but the trailer makes me curious.

  3. I hadn’t heard peregrins and night circus were becoming movies. I’ll have to move them up on my to read list. (Along with 5th wave) I didn’t like the giver, so I think I’ll pass on that, but the maze runner looks amazing!

  4. I wasn’t too impressed with what Chloe Grace Moretz said either but you definitely shouldn’t let her prejudice you against reading If I Stay. It’s an amazing book and definitely worth the read.

    I really hope they make the Night Circus into a movie! If they did it right it would be stunning!

  5. Wow, great post! I thought I was up to date on all the book-to-movie productions, but I wasn’t even close! Thanks for all the updates.

    The Giver: I have to agree with everything you said. They are trying to make it into a romance and to appeal more to teens, but just NO.

    If I Stay: I read the book and enjoyed it, but I think it wasn’t as good as everyone was saying, or at least it didn’t hit me that hard. Buuut even though I am not a Chloe fan either, I think that the movie looks like it will be REALLY good, dare I say BETTER than the book…?

    The Maze Runner: Umm, same. Really psyched to stare at Dylan O’Brien for 2 hours.

    Mockingjay Pt. 1: I also don’t like that they split it, but there’s nothing to be done about it except watch them!

    The 5th Wave: While I really did enjoy the book, I feel like this might make an extremely violent movie. Aaaand Chloe again.

    Fallen: Can’t say I liked this book either, and that picture….yeah NO.

    Paper Towns: Haven’t read it either, but will no doubt be good.

    Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: Haven’t read yet, but loved your review! A movie sounds cool.

    The Selection: I had NO idea they were optioning it for TV! But if the pilot was so horrible, I’m really glad they didn’t go ahead with it. The whole Delirium thing for TV didn’t go over so well….

    1. Thank you and glad I could help updating you! 🙂

      I’ve actually heard really good things about The Giver movie as of late, so I plan to give it a try, just don’t know when.

      YES DYLAN! 2 HOURS OF DYLAN!

      Yeah I agree about The 5th Wave I do hope that they do a better job than with The Host movie, as the stories are kind of similar.

      As for The Selection, I can still dream about it becoming a reality, but deep down I known that it most likely will never happen. :/ But yeah, I really liked the Delirium pilot, but it had been FOREVER ago when I read the book so I have basically no idea whether it was accurate or not.

  6. I’m not so excited about the whole Maze Runner thing, because I didn’t love the book, but I’m REALLY excited about those other ones that are coming to/already in theaters 😀 I haven’t read If I Stay yet, but I really need to so I can go ahead and watch the movie!

    Oh my gosh, I had no idea that they were turning Fallen into a movie!! I haven’t read it, but I’ve heard all about it, and it just seems so weird. Like, aren’t we done with that kind of stuff?

    I think you’re right about The Selection…it would be great for a CW show. IF they could figure out how to do it right. But it’ll probably never happen :/ Ugh.

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

