Top [Seven] Books I Want to Read But Have Gotten Mixed Reviews

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.


With all of the books releasing this September there are a bunch that I was really anticipating. But the reviews are coming in, and now I’m starting to rethink them…

  

1. The Jewel by Amy Ewing

2. Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine

3. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

   

3. Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

4. Salt and Storm by Kendall Kulper

5. Trial by Fire by Josephine Angelini

6. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

What books were you anticipating but are now getting mixed reviews, making you unsure?

xo, emily

22 thoughts on “Top [Seven] Books I Want to Read But Have Gotten Mixed Reviews

  1. Interesting, the only thing I’ve heard about Of metal and wishes so far is that everyone around me loves it! The Jewel has been getting mixed reviews indeed. I loved The queen of the Tearling 🙂 I have a copy from A thousand pieces of you (the cover is gorgeous) and I’m not interested in Trial by fire anymore. Salt & Storm sounds great though.

    click here

  2. I’ve really only heard good things about A Thousand Pieces of You, Salt and Storm and Trial by Fire. I’ve heard good things about The Queen of the Tearling too, but it never really interested me anyways. I have heard a lot of bad things about Afterworlds though, which is disappointing, but I haven’t read any of these so I can’t really advise you!

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/top-ten-tuesday-books-that-give-me-indecisive-syndrome/

  3. I was honestly so apprehensive about Salt and Storm, but now that I’m reading it, I’ve got to say, it’s really quite mesmerising. The writing is brilliantly poetic! The Queen of Tearling was on my radar, but has since fallen right off, mainly because of all those hilariously bad reviews that it gets. I’m looking at the Jewel, despising seeing terrible reviews for it…

  4. I just bought Queen of Tearling but the book is daunting. I’m worried that the hype will cost me. I’m pretty bummed about Of Metal and Wishes. I was dying to read that book until…I read it. And it was just…anyway.

  5. Oh no. I’m really looking forward to A Thousand Pieces of You and Afterworlds. That’s disappointing. Hopefully they are still good.
    I’ve heard the same thing about Queen of the Tearling though, which is sad because Emma Watson has backed it like crazy and I love her. Hmmm.

  6. I haven’t read any of these but I do have Queen of the Tearling on my bedside from the library right now, so I will have a review of it within the next couple of weeks. Salt & Storm is just so pretty I want to read it. Trial by Fire is on my radar but I’m not sure about it either.

  7. The Queen of Tearling does sound interesting, so I might watch out for that when I get the chance. Scott Westerfeld won me over with his Leviathan trilogy, and the various short stories I’ve read of his were pretty decent. I do feel his YA stuff is more towards lukewarm waters for me. I liked the Uglies series but haven’t really gotten into Midnighters all that well. Afterworlds sounds interesting, but I read the reviews as well and am not sure if I want to read it.

  8. Afterworlds looks so good though! Yeah I’ve heard mixed reviews about several of these books. I hope you give some of them a shot. (So I can read your review and know if they’re good. 😉

  9. Wow, all of these books I’ve also been dying to read! In particular I’ve been waiting for A Thousand Pieces of You because the synopsis makes it sound like a ‘me’ book. I hope it’s good! (I probably won’t be deterred by any negative reviews and will have to read it myself.)

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

