Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: June 7, 2011
Pages: 352
Format: Paperback
Source: Bought
Series: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, #1
Genre(s): Fantasy, Paranormal
Synopsis from Goodreads:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was not at all what I was expecting, but it was different in a whole other wonderful way. I guess I was expecting it to be a horror book, with all of those creepy pictures. I never really read the full synopsis, which is why I was a little mislead. While these images are creepy alone, reading Ransom Rigg’s amazing story compiled along with the images will make you look at them in a new way.

The story is definitely peculiar – unlike anything else I’ve read before. It was magical, tragic, eerie, and exciting all at once. The paranormal aspects of the story were written perfectly, and like I said before, the images enhanced my vision for what Ransom Riggs was seeing when he wrote the book.

This is the second book in a row that I’ve read that has a male as the sole POV, and I really loved Jacob. He has that dry humor, but is still soft and emotional. I kind of wanted to give him a hug!

The other characters were fun, too. My favorite side character would have to be Emma. She was one of the only other side characters whose past was talked about in more detail. The blossoming romance between Jacob and Emma was definitely cute, but I’m still weirded out a little (you’ll know what I mean if you read the book)…

I liked how the end of the book gave me some closure that should be enough to hold me over until I can read the second book in the series! Overall, Miss Peregrine’s was a book that transported me away to the island with these strange children and took me on an adventure that I cannot wait to continue!

26 thoughts on “Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. I definitely had the same feeling for Jacob and Emma’s romance. However the book was really enjoyable and I loved it! I have yet to read the sequel and I hope you’ll enjoy it 🙂

  2. I just received this book as a gift, and I was kind of scared of it because I thought it was horror too! I’m glad it’s not though 😀 I’ll definitely be reading it soon; I’m really excited for the male POV. I read so many girl MCs that I’m ready for a change O_O

  3. I thought this was horror too! I kept seeing this book everywhere so I was going to request it at the library anyway. I hope the ebook comes with the pictures. I really want to read this now!

  4. I definitely thought it was horror too. I got this book as a gift but it’s sat on my shelf for over a year because I was a bit intimidated to read it! (The creepy pictures made me a bit afraid, haha…) I’m less wary of it now after your review!

  5. I kind of assumed this book was horror, but I’m a lot more tempted to read it now. It sounds really good, and I’m intrigued about these creepy pictures!

  6. Wow, I’ve always passed by this book because, well ya know, the cover is pretty strange. I’ll admit to my cover judging. But the synopsis is definitely different that what I would’ve thought it! This sounds great, really. And Jacob sounds like a great narrator.

  7. So glad you liked the book! I read it and loved it and I do agree with the whole Emma and Jacob thing, it’s so cute but it feels so wrong. Have you read Hollow City?

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

