Waiting on…In A Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we share a book that we are eagerly anticipating!


Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Release Date: September 23, 2014

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The only thing bigger than the world is fear.

Lucy’s life by the pond has always been full. She has water and friends, laughter and the love of her adoptive mother, Lynn, who has made sure that Lucy’s childhood was very different from her own. Yet it seems Lucy’s future is settled already—a house, a man, children, and a water source—and anything beyond their life by the pond is beyond reach.

When disease burns through their community, the once life-saving water of the pond might be the source of what’s killing them now. Rumors of desalinization plants in California have lingered in Lynn’s mind, and the prospect of a “normal” life for Lucy sets the two of them on an epic journey west to face new dangers: hunger, mountains, deserts, betrayal, and the perils of a world so vast that Lucy fears she could be lost forever, only to disappear in a handful of dust.

In this companion to Not a Drop to Drink, Mindy McGinnis thrillingly combines the heart-swelling hope of a journey, the challenges of establishing your own place in the world, and the gripping physical danger of nature in a futuristic frontier.

why i can't wait

*hyperventilates*

*flails*

*faints*

When I heard there was going to be a companion to Not A Drop to Drink I actually got up and danced around the house for a little bit. That book was one that I read in one sitting and I closed the book and went “WOAH.” Everything about it was just so amazing and it gave me a MAJOR book hangover.

So, obviously when I heard about In A Handful of Dust I went crazy. AND on top of that it follows the story of one of the characters from Drop, but she’s all grown up now.

I just can’t put into words the level of excitement I have regarding this book.

Have you read Not A Drop to Drink? Did you love it as much as I did? Are you excited for In A Handful of Dust, too? Let’s talk!

xo, emily

14 thoughts on “Waiting on…In A Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis

  1. RIGHT? I really loved Not a Drop to Drink – especially the atmosphere and characters. I was actually a bit wary when I heard there would be a sequel bc I found book 1 stood great alone, but a companion novel is different and I’m actually really excited for it now!!

I'd love to hear what you have to say!

